We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but cosy and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Xi Hotel to your Saves list
Xi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7 Minden Avenue, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly The Minden Hotel) (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #172 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 208 Reviews
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Small but cosy and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Customer Service:
The hotel has excellent customer service. Prior to my stay, I emailed the hotel numerous times asking about transport and other information. They were very patience and answered all my enquries within two or three days. They also accommodated to my room requests. The staff were courteous and always smile. Check-in and check-out were fast. However, they do not provide porter services. As I was travelling with two kids, it was a hassle to bring our luggage to our room. I hope that the management considers having porter services.

Location:
The hotel is located next to a mall, K11, which is connected to the MTR. It is less than 2 minutes walk. There are two Halal restaurant near the hotel but prices are not that cheap. We paid about SGD$10-$15 per person for a simple meal. 7-11 is also around the corner. There's a bar opposite the hotel and there's commotion EVERY night up till 4 to 5 am. Even though we stayed on the 13th floor, we could still hear people shouting. The noise didn't bother us or my infant. So if you are a light sleeper, either request for higher floors or request for a room facing away from Minden Avenue.

Room:
Most hotel rooms in Hong Kong are small. Although the room is small, it could fit an additional bed, 3 big luggage and a pram. But it can be quite cramped at times as there were four of us in the room. The bed is comfortable, no bed bugs but the pillows are too soft. I didn't ask the hotel if they have other types of pillows. The toilet is average but clean. I'm quite particular when it comes to toilets so having a clean one was definitely a plus point. The room has a portable heater and dehumidifier as well.

In general, I like staying at the hotel. I'm not the type of traveller who stays in the room to relax and enjoy all the room services or hotel amenities. So if you are looking for a place just to rest, then Xi Hotel is the place for you. If you want luxury, then look for other hotels.

Room Tip: Request for high floors and rooms facing away from Minden Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Xi Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to receive your review, and especially pleased to read your kind words about our hotel service and location. We also have noted your constructive feedback on porter service. We will make every effort to seek continuous improvement in serving our customers satisfactorily.

We are eager to provide the comfortable stay and pleasant experience to our guests, your valuable words would be the key to drive us sustainable and success.

Please notify us when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong and we will try our best to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Thank you,

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    116
    48
    13
    7
See reviews for
30
61
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Location is very Good. very near to MTR.
Very clam & Neat.
Breakfast is very baisc, almost every day is same basic breakfast. it inlcude on room rate.
I will recomand to family.
We are very happy with room & services.
Internet is free

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Xi Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to receive your review, and especially pleased to read your kind words about our hotel service and location. We truly appreciate your valuable feedback on the breakfast issues related to our hotel so that we can do whatever possible to make improvements for our guests. We have taken immediate action to ensure our breakfast service is consistently maintained in good standard for our customers.

We are eager to provide the comfortable stay and pleasant experience to our guests, your valuable words would be the key to drive us sustainable and success.

Please notify us when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong and we will try our best to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Thank you,

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovigo
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We spent new year's eve in this hotel and we didn't have a great experience. First of all the hotel room was overpriced. The hotel is small with no real reception, just a desk and our bedroom was basic. There's a night club right next to the hotel and we could hear the noise coming from the club until very late. It was annoying. If you are willing to pay a lot of money to spend new year's eve in Hong Kong and stay in a nice and comfortable hotel, go somewhere else. But if you want to be very close to the harbor then this is a good place to stay. The hotel location is great - very close to the Tsim Tsa Tsui promenade and Nathan Rd and two minutes walk to the Tsim Tsa Tsui metro stop. Breakfast was ok: fruit, fruit juice, pastries, cereals, coffee, tea. There's a good cafe' next door where they serve an excellent brunch.

Room Tip: Be aware of noisy night club next to hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Xi Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay for your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to post your feedback with us. We at the Xi Hotel Hong Kong were disappointed to read your review and would like to extend our sincere apologies to your disappointment and the inconvenience caused.

We appreciate your valuable feedback about the noise in the room. We truly understand and share the feeling of bearing such annoyance.

We will make every effort to seek continuous improvement in serving our customers satisfactorily. We are studying on the improvement work could be done to the existing windows in reducing the nuisance.

Once again, please accept our wholehearted apology for any negative feelings that had experienced. We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Xi Hotel in the near future.

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The XI Hotel is a mid range hotel in a great location, the rooms are small (but average by Hong Kong standards) amenities are what you would expect for the price. The room was clean and comfortable but the noise from the night club across the road was unbearable.
If you stay here and have a room facing the front of the building you can expect to have no sleep between the hours of 02:00am until 05:00am, the constant yelling and screaming from the patrons leaving the nightclub is awful.
This hotel is for insomniacs only !!!!

Room Tip: Don't get a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Xi Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We sincerely thank for your commendation on our location and our staff service. However, we are very disappointed to read your review and would like to extend our sincere apologies for your disappointment and the inconvenience caused.

We appreciate your valuable feedback about the noise in the room. We truly understand and share the feeling of bearing such annoyance.

We will make every effort to seek continuous improvement in serving our customers satisfactorily. We are studying on the improvement work could be done to the existing windows in reducing the nuisance

Once again, please accept our wholehearted apology for any negative feelings that had experienced. We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Xi Hotel in the near future.

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We're happy to have discovered Xi Hotel. We got it for a discounted price through Agoda and it was good value for our money, especially since most hotels in TST are usually small and yet very expensive.

I was actually surprised to come across one recent review concerning the maintenance that was done in our room. We were the guests at Rm 1603 from Nov 23-26. It was a coincidence to read the negative review because I was actually preparing my own review and making a mental note to thank the management for acting quickly on the problem with the dripping aircon eventhough we haven't reported it yet. They probably noticed the slight wetness in the carpet during housekeeping. On our rush to leave the next day for our trip to Macau, we forgot to drop by Frontdesk to report it. By the time we got back late in the evening, we already had a brand new airconditioning in the room! i'm sorry to hear though that it caused some inconvenience to the guests in the room beside ours but apart from that, as far as we're concerned, it was very good customer service!

The room itself was very clean and comfortable. Furniture, beddings and appliances were all well maintained so you won't feel like it's an old hotel. The location is ideal for us because its not in a busy, crowded street, just a short walk from Nathan Rd. There are bars/clubs in the opposite side of the road but we didn't hear any noise coming from outside at night. Breakfast is also included in the package and although they serve almost the same stuff everyday we were there, I'd still choose to eat breakfast in the hotel instead of McDonalds.

In summary, we were happy customers. We'll definitely recommend it to others and we'll stay there again when we go back to HK!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Xi Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to receive your review, and especially pleased to read your kind words about our hotel service and location.

We are eager to provide the comfortable stay and pleasant experience to our guests, your valuable words would be the key to drive us sustainable and success.

Please notify us when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong and we will try our best to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Thank you,

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel itself is nice - fantastic location, lovely clean rooms, breakfast was pretty good... However... The hotel is opposite a very noisy bar/nightclub and we hardly got any sleep during our 2 nights there. And don't expect the noise to stop at the usual 1-2am - it went on til 5.30am! And then the noise of early morning traffic started at 7ish! This isn't the hotel's fault, but maybe some investment in double glazed windows would be worth considering?!
If it wasn't for the noise, I would probably give this hotel 4stars but our whole stay in HK was ruined by it so I would advise you chose another hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Xi Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We sincerely thank for your commendation on our location and our staff service. However, we are very disappointed to read your review and would like to extend our sincere apologies for your disappointment and the inconvenience caused.

We appreciate your valuable feedback about the noise in the room. We truly understand and share the feeling of bearing such annoyance.

We will make every effort to seek continuous improvement in serving our customers satisfactorily. We are studying on the improvement work could be done to the existing windows in reducing the nuisance.

Once again, please accept our wholehearted apology for any negative feelings that had experienced. We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Xi Hotel in the near future.

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

When we checked-in today, the room next door 1603 was doing maintenance works as they strewn their equipments right outside our room door 1604. And guessed what? An hour later, those clowns were drilling and hammering away merrily without even the basic courtesy of informing us beforehand of the noisy works.

And it lasted for a good 40 mins. I didn't pay good money for this nuisance. How's that for customer service? To top it off, the desk staff who first attended to us was so cold and did not make us feel welcomed. We checked-in at 2pm and was informed our rooms were still not ready!

I would think this is the first and last time I will stay at this hotel for its basic lack of good customer service.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Xi Hotel as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We have noted your valuable feedback on the noise and courtesy of our Front Desk staff. Please understand there is an emergency maintenance in Rm1603. We truly understand and share the feeling of bearing such annoyance.

In regard to the courtesy of our Front Desk staff, we will certainly enhance the customer service skills and language ability of our staff through training to ensure our services is consistently maintained in high standard. We will make every effort to seek continuous improvement in serving our customers satisfactorily.

We will make every effort to seek continuous improvement in serving our customers satisfactorily. Normally, we will inform the guest if there is a maintenance work.

Once again, please accept our wholehearted apology for any negative feelings that had experienced. We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Xi Hotel in the near future.


Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi Hotel

Address: No.7 Minden Avenue, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly The Minden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Xi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xi Hotel offers guests an embodiment of style, luxury and convenience while serving visitors at a more coveted level of quality in service and accommodation. Located at an area which occupies the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui, Xi Hotel will revive the fine art of hospitality.With an emphasis on artistic flair, Xi is perfectly located for shopping and leisure and art appreciation . Xi is also popular among business travelers with all rooms fully equipped to meet various business needs. Either you want a night out in the vibrant city or to stay in and relax in one of its chic, contemporary rooms, Xi can offer it all.Xi perfectly reflects its Chinese characters - heart and happiness - in its service and amenities. From classically-appointed furniture to contemporary art, every corner of Xi radiates an asian flair while staff enthusiastically caters to every wish the guests may have. Your pleasure in staying in this stylish boutique hotel is the hotel's honour as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Xi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minden Hotel Hong Kong
Minden Hong Kong
Xi Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.