We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in Kowloon and good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Xi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Xi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7 Minden Avenue, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly The Minden Hotel) (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hotel Website-20% OFF
Ranked #167 of 613 hotels in Hong Kong
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great spot in Kowloon and good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

In a great spot in Kowloon just 2 mins walk from nearest metro behind a very call mall called the Art Mall or K11.
Depending on what end of the street you approach, the street can feel really dodgy but its not.

At night the street transforms and there is 6 bars or more that open. They arent noisy though.
We had breakfast included in our which was a nice mix of standard western comforts and asian bakery food. We also got a free upgrade.
Rooms air conditioning was great, fridge and large bathroom.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul L, Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Xi Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to receive your review, and especially pleased to read your kind words about our hotel location and breakfast.

We are eager to provide the comfortable stay and pleasant experience to our guests, your valuable words would be the key to drive us sustainable and success.

Please notify us when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong and we will try our best to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.


Best Regards,
Paul Lam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    109
    45
    14
    8
See reviews for
27
59
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a great hotel: well located, friendly, and good value for money vs local competition. It has a small footprint, but is around 20 floors, with four rooms per floor. We booked a standard room through Agoda, and as someone else has mentioned, the representation there about room size was inflated compared to reality. Also, we were booked into a room that smelled of mold; upon asking to be given another room, we found that one and also a third all smelled of mold. They all happened to be located in one section of the hotel, the same location on each different floor in the mid-levels of the building (believe the room numbers were all xxx3); it seems they have a mold problem in that section of the building. The receptionist was very considerate, friendly and helpful (I believe her name was Wendy), and we were eventually given the last room available, which happened to be a top floor (xxx1) and a superior room. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was well-lit, clean and the shower was (surprisingly) fantastically powered and hot. Mold was absent. We could see a sliver of the bay, which was a bonus. The breakfast buffet (in the lounge bar, and can be taken to the outside terrace) is plentiful, with good coffee, and a nice selection of pastries (can be heated), toast and jams, fruit and yoghurt. On our last day we were flying late; after checking-out, there was no problem leaving our bags locked away on a rack in their office for the whole day whilst we continued sightseeing. The hotel is very conveniently located for the Tsim Tsa Tsui & East stations. We would return to Xi Hotel.

Room Tip: Try to secure a room above, perhaps, the 6th floor in order to avoid potential noise from bars oppos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Xi Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to receive your review, and especially pleased to read your kind words about our hotel service and location.

We are eager to provide the comfortable stay and pleasant experience to our guests, your valuable words would be the key to drive us sustainable and success.

Please notify us when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong and we will try our best to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Thank you,

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 8 nights based on reviews on Trip Advisor. Advantage is that it is a 2 minute walk to MTR and Nathan Road. For Kowloon it is very quiet. The room gets serviced every day with water, tea & coffee. The size of the room is fine for 2 people. The breakfast will not win any awards but then you do not choose a hotel for the breakfast, do you? It is the same every morning - pastries, boilt eggs, cerial, fruit & yogurt. There is free wi-fi in the room. If I come back to Hong Kong I will stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Xi Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We sincerely thank for your commendation on our location and room.

We have noted your valuable feedback on the breakfast. We have noted your constructive feedback on variety of breakfast. We will make every effort to seek continuous improvement in serving our customers satisfactorily.

We are eager to provide the comfortable stay and pleasant experience to our guests, your valuable words would be the key to drive us sustainable and success.

Please notify us when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong and we will try our best to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Thank you,

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We took a standard room during our recent visit in mid August, stayed for 4 nights. Location is strategic just off Nathan road, there is a MTR link just about 200 metres away. Room was cleaned daily, only setback is same breakfast was served daily, we got a little bored eating the same stuff everyday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Xi Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to receive your review, and especially pleased to read your kind words about our hotel room and location.

We have noted your constructive feedback on variety of breakfast. We will make every effort to seek continuous improvement in serving our customers satisfactorily.

We are eager to provide the comfortable stay and pleasant experience to our guests, your valuable words would be the key to drive us sustainable and success.

Please notify us when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong and we will try our best to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Thank you,

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Booked this room through Agoda as they had listed the room as 29 sq m.
The room actually measured 3.3 x 3.5. So only about 14 inc bathroom (1.5 x 2)
The hotel is well located close to Nathan road and is within walking distance to most of the shopping and entertainment venues. The tran and train systems are only a street away. The room was clean and tidy and quite comfortable. But very claustrophobic, staff nice and friendly, the wine bar operate a very strange policy, my wife popped in for a couple of drinks and was informed immediately that the bar had a minimum spend policy of 120 Hong Kong dollars, (roughly £11) so in effect you have to have a minimum 2 drinks or have 1 and pay double.
Overall I would say that if you expect your room this size it's an ok place to stay, my only disappointment was with agoda's description. I would stay here again if it was a short trip.

Room Tip: Remember that this is Hong Kong and rooms are generally small. Buy an octopus card if your going to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Xi Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to receive your review, and especially pleased to read your kind words about our hotel service and location.

We are eager to provide the comfortable stay and pleasant experience to our guests, your valuable words would be the key to drive us sustainable and success.

Please notify us when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong and we will try our best to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.


Best Regards,
Paul Lam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Xi Hotel last year, September 2012, with our then 9 month old boy for 4 days and 3 nights. I only have good words to say about the place...the staff are very friendly, accommodating and polite. After check in we went out for late lunch on a near by mall, K11, when we returned the cot for our baby was ready for use with sheets and pillows. :) The room was big enough for us, clean and properly furnished ...they have ipod dock, fridge, electric pot, safe, cable tv, study table and free broadband. The restroom is clean and well maintained. Breakfast is ok...they have what we usually have for breakfast...fruits, bread, pastries, yoghurt, eggs, cereals, coffee, juice. It's very near the thrift stores, malls, bus and mrt station. The girl and old man at the reception never fails to greet and play with our baby every time we pass by...so is the girl at the breakfast bar. We have a late flight on our last day but we were allowed to stay on our room for a few more hours and they stored our lugages for safe keeping when we went out for last minute shopping. :)

Over all, we had a great stay at this hotel and it's conveniently located to the places that we want to go...so yeah, we will definitely stay at this place when we go back to Hongkong.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Xi Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to receive your review, and especially pleased to read your kind words about our hotel service and location.

We are eager to provide the comfortable stay and pleasant experience to our guests, your valuable words would be the key to drive us sustainable and success.

Please notify us when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong and we will try our best to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Thank you,

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Booked a double room with child as showed under 12 was complimentary. Surprise ... they charged $60 for the sheets for the sofa bed in the room!
Front desk person agreed child under 12 was free but that providing sheets & pillows for pull out couch cost extra which worked out to 1/2 room rate (really!!!).
They could do something about very musty smell in the room.
Wrote a letter to their customer service but never received the curtesy of a response. Further shows their very poor customer service:(
The location was practical so would have been ok for the price as they included breakfast & Wifi.

So what could have been an ok experience turned out not so great :(
In the end worked it out directly with great customer service from hotels.com!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear valued guest

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at Xi Hotel for your recent trip to Hong Kong.

Here is our hotel policy. "Children below 12 years stay complimentary in the room with the parents without any charges." . However, we have extra bed charge if the guest request to arrange the extra bed in the room. Please understand.

On behalf of the management, we were delighted to receive your comment. In regards of the negative feelings that have brought to our attention, we have shared the comments amongst our departments and immediate action was taken and made all necessary improvements.

Once again, please accept our wholehearted apology for any negative feelings that had experienced. We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Xi Hotel in the near future.

Thank you,

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi Hotel

Address: No.7 Minden Avenue, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly The Minden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 613 hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Xi Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xi Hotel offers guests an embodiment of style, luxury and convenience while serving visitors at a more coveted level of quality in service and accommodation. Located at an area which occupies the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui, Xi Hotel will revive the fine art of hospitality.With an emphasis on artistic flair, Xi is perfectly located for shopping and leisure and art appreciation . Xi is also popular among business travelers with all rooms fully equipped to meet various business needs. Either you want a night out in the vibrant city or to stay in and relax in one of its chic, contemporary rooms, Xi can offer it all.Xi perfectly reflects its Chinese characters - heart and happiness - in its service and amenities. From classically-appointed furniture to contemporary art, every corner of Xi radiates an asian flair while staff enthusiastically caters to every wish the guests may have. Your pleasure in staying in this stylish boutique hotel is the hotel's honour as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Xi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minden Hotel Hong Kong
Minden Hong Kong
Xi Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.