We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complimentary = $$$ extra charges!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Xi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Xi Hotel to your Saves list
Xi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7 Minden Avenue, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly The Minden Hotel) (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #167 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Complimentary = $$$ extra charges!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Booked a double room with child as showed under 12 was complimentary. Surprise ... they charged $60 for the sheets for the sofa bed in the room!
Front desk person agreed child under 12 was free but that providing sheets & pillows for pull out couch cost extra which worked out to 1/2 room rate (really!!!).
They could do something about very musty smell in the room.
Wrote a letter to their customer service but never received the curtesy of a response. Further shows their very poor customer service:(
The location was practical so would have been ok for the price as they included breakfast & Wifi.

So what could have been an ok experience turned out not so great :(
In the end worked it out directly with great customer service from hotels.com!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear valued guest

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at Xi Hotel for your recent trip to Hong Kong.

Here is our hotel policy. "Children below 12 years stay complimentary in the room with the parents without any charges." . However, we have extra bed charge if the guest request to arrange the extra bed in the room. Please understand.

On behalf of the management, we were delighted to receive your comment. In regards of the negative feelings that have brought to our attention, we have shared the comments amongst our departments and immediate action was taken and made all necessary improvements.

Once again, please accept our wholehearted apology for any negative feelings that had experienced. We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Xi Hotel in the near future.

Thank you,

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    131
    51
    13
    7
See reviews for
34
69
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was a great base for exploring the city, walking distance from a number of places, easy access on the metro to others and great bus links too. Given that hotel prices are so high in the city, it's pretty well priced. Rooms are small, but to be expected in a city where space comes with a price tag! We had a large suitcase and backpack each and some diving kit and managed fine. Rooms were exactly what you needed, clean, comfortable and quiet.
The service was very efficient, which at times felt lacking in customer service. We passed through Hong Kong at the beginning and end of our trip and stayed here for 1 night each time. We arrived early on the second trip and asked if we could check in early which we couldn't. I understand that they are probably full most nights given the price point and location, but it could have been handled with a little more understanding/empathy and a smile wouldn't go amiss either! But they did let us get changed and store our luggage, so all in all a minor point for a good hotel for what it is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at Xi Hotel for your recent trip to Hong Kong.

On behalf of the management, we were delighted to receive your comment, and were especially pleased to read your kind words about our hotel. In regards of the negative feelings that have brought to our attention, we have shared the comments among our departments and immediate action was taken and made all necessary improvements.

Please notify us when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong and we will try our best to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.


Thank you,

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete, French Polynesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hotel is just off Nathan road in walking distance to Tsim Sha Tsui MTR. 20 minute walk to Museums and Star Ferry. As others have said rooms are good size for HKG. Front desk staff very polite and helpful with adivce on all the things tourist ask. Provided converter for my electrical gadgets and upgraded me to a deluxe room just because they wanted to.
The inclusive breakfast was great, consisting of pizza, pasteries, hard and soft boiled eggs, yogurt, cereals, fruits, coffee and tea plus one of those expensive fully automatic capachino/expresso machines.
People complain about noise from the bars across the street, I didn't hear any. People complain about the hot water in the shower, mine worked fine. People complain about the cleaning staff, I had no problems. My only complaint is unfortunatly for some reason there are a lot of Indian, Middle Eastern, and African males hanging around the street the property is on and my girlfriend was harrased everytime we walked to and from the hotel. It was annoying and disrepectful for me but scarey for her. The harrasment consisted of staring, whistling, grunting and moaning. By the second day I almost said something but decided it wasn't worth it since we were only there 3 days.
Anyway the property was great, room great, staff great, location very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at Xi Hotel for your recent trip to Hong Kong.

On behalf of the management, we were delighted to receive your comment, and were especially pleased to read your kind words about our hotel.

We are eager to provide the comfortable stay and pleasant experience to our guests, your valuable words would be the key to drive us sustainable and success.

Please notify us when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong and we will try our best to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Thank you,

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel reminds me more like a boutique hotel. For a Hong kong hotel, room is adequately spacious with modern decor, wardrobe, working table, hairdryer, complementary tea/coffee facilities and clean bathroom. Have not experienced any problem with hot water.We asked for an iron, was promptly given complete with ironing board & it stayed in our room throughout our 5 days stay, which is nice. The dining area for breakfast was small yet cosy, with outdoors seatings option. The breakfast selection was simple, limited choice western breakfast. The selections were the same everyday & can be a bit boring for longer staying patrons. Howevr WIFI is free & reception is good everywhere including room. Hotel staff are also pleasant, helpful, polite & serves you with smiles everytime.

The location is perfect! Its very near the N5 exit to the TST MTR. The airport free shuttle bus that takes you to Kow Loon MTR for transfer to airport is just around the hotel corner ie. Holiday inn Golden Mile stop. Very near causeway bay, shoppings & restaurants.

I will certainly return here again for my future trip to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Xi Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to receive your review, and especially pleased to read your kind words about our hotel service and location.

We have noted your valuable feedback on our breakfast, your valuable words would be the key to drive us sustainable and success.

Please notify us when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong and we will try our best to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Thank you,

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were there during the May Day holidays, stayed for 4 nights, we had a double room + an extra bed. The room size is acceptable for 3 adults and has sufficient spaces for us to pack our shoppings. The location is very convenient in a not crowded area and easy accessible, Airport Bus A21 (HK$33) or Airport Express + MTR (HK$60). We were surprised by the size of the lobby but the receptionist speaks good English, and the staffs are friendly and helpful. If you're expecting the HK Style breakfast spread, you would be disappointed; the variety is not much but the quality is pretty good. The Pubs across the street are quite happening during the weekends but are fine in the weekdays. The minus point is the water heater, we had some trouble controlling the temperature of the water. Hope the management would resolve this issue soon. Overall, we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Request for a high floor room not facing the Pubs. If taking the Airport Express + MTR, take exit N3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Xi Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to receive your review, and especially pleased to read your kind words about our hotel service and location.

We have noted your constructive feedback on hot water supply and appropriate actions have been taken by our Engineering Department to check water heater in all guest rooms. Actually we are sourcing the different type of instantaneous water heater to seek improvement on hot water supply.

We are eager to provide the comfortable stay and pleasant experience to our guests, your valuable words would be the key to drive us sustainable and success.

Please notify us when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong and we will try our best to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Thank you,

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Room was small but that was expected of all Hong Kong hotel rooms. The room and bathroom was clean but my main issue was the hot water issue. As many reviewers had mentioned, the water turned from hot to very cold then to very hot again and every bath was frustrating. It seems that the hotel still can't do anything about it after so many reviewers had feedback about this.

The best thing about this hotel is the location which is super near a Tsim Sha Tsui MTR exit. Whether or not I will return to this hotel for my next trip depends on reviews closer to date if they have fixed the hot water issue.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Xi Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to receive your review, and especially pleased to read your kind words about our hotel location.

We have noted your constructive feedback on hot water supply and appropriate actions have been taken by our Engineering Department to replace water heater in all guest rooms. We also replaced 2 water heaters for Standard Double room. We will make every effort to seek continuous improvement in serving our customers satisfactorily.

We are eager to provide the comfortable stay and pleasant experience to our guests, your valuable words would be the key to drive us sustainable and success.

Please notify us when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong and we will try our best to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Thank you,

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

First time there. I stayed for 6 nights and booked 10 nights for my customers.
Location is really excellent, 2mn walk to Nathan Rd and MTR station, very near to TK3 AE shuttle bus from airport. Totally convenient for any traveller.
The hotel is nice, room size better than HK standard, comfortable bed, simple and fresh breakfast, free Wifi.
The staff were excellent, customer service-orientated, offering umbrellas when needed and providing great information about TST area.
Top of that, reasonable price! Would stay then again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Xi Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to receive your review, and especially pleased to read your kind words about our hotel service and location.

We are eager to provide the comfortable stay and pleasant experience to our guests, your valuable words would be the key to drive us sustainable and success.

Please notify us when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong and we will try our best to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Thank you,

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi Hotel

Address: No.7 Minden Avenue, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly The Minden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Xi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xi Hotel offers guests an embodiment of style, luxury and convenience while serving visitors at a more coveted level of quality in service and accommodation. Located at an area which occupies the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui, Xi Hotel will revive the fine art of hospitality.With an emphasis on artistic flair, Xi is perfectly located for shopping and leisure and art appreciation . Xi is also popular among business travelers with all rooms fully equipped to meet various business needs. Either you want a night out in the vibrant city or to stay in and relax in one of its chic, contemporary rooms, Xi can offer it all.Xi perfectly reflects its Chinese characters - heart and happiness - in its service and amenities. From classically-appointed furniture to contemporary art, every corner of Xi radiates an asian flair while staff enthusiastically caters to every wish the guests may have. Your pleasure in staying in this stylish boutique hotel is the hotel's honour as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your Xi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minden Hotel Hong Kong
Minden Hong Kong
Xi Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.