We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah Shan Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ah Shan Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ah Shan Hostel to your Saves list
Ah Shan Hostel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Room 1406, 14/F, Sincere House, 83 Argyle Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Mong Kok)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #18 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 210 Reviews
Klang
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ah Shan Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Highly recommended place to stay. Friendly staff. Further to that, the place its very clean and its very convenient to MTR. A lot of food and shopping malls around. And opposite of the hostel is ladies market. Nearby there is 7-11 and McDonalds. The place is very strategic. I will definitely stay there again for my trip to HongKong. Most importantly the rates are reasonable.Jesmine (Malaysia)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    95
    42
    13
    11
See reviews for
43
49
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Ah Shan Hostel and A Inn (both are owned by the same owner and situated in the same building with only 1 reception counter) are very good hostels. Cleanliness is good, room and bathroom facilities are good, staff are very friendly and the location is excellent. 7-11 is just across the road, McDonalds about 1 minute walk, MTR (subway) about 3 mins walk, money changers just around the corner, with a lot of street foods and affordable restaurants within the block. Cheap shopping (ladies market) is just across the road, electronics and hobby shops about 5 mins walk.

Take note though, if you are looking for high end shopping, this is not the place for you. Get a hotel or a hostel in the Central area, but the prices are double for what you pay here. Bus from the airport stops about 5 mins from the building. Take note however, it may be quite difficult to find the building if you dont pay attention to the street signs (and building numbers).

The owner (Fiona) speaks good english and the Filipina staff (Yoli) speaks good english as well. They are all very good people.

If you are comfortable with a hostel accomodation, book either Ah Shan or A Inn and you won't go wrong.

BOOK ONLINE as rates are much lower than walk-in bookings.

Room Tip: Request for a room with windows. It will be quite difficult to tell it's morning when waking up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engelberg, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stayed diffent places in Hong Kong. Causeway Bay, Central, Tsim Tsa Tsui. I am visiting HK oftenly because of my business and I spent really big money at other places. I stayed Ah Shan Hostel 3 weeks. It was quite cheap, great location and helpful staff, clean bed and towels. It depends on what you are waiting for staying cheap and clean place, if you are on vacation you will not spend your all time at your room, so rooms are little small but it was not big deal for me. I will going to stay same place on March again. So I meet great people there specially Yolanda! she is very friendly and helpful staff!
Believe me, this place very reasonable, very close to mtr, night market and central place in Mong Kok. Greetings All stuff and Family Ah Shan!
Aydan

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

There were 4 girls on a trip to shop and this was a great selection, it was central to street markets, shops and malls. Our room on the 14th floor was clean daily, we had clean towels everyday (we had to ask for them on arrival and they even helped us with our laundry. We had hot water every time for showers, the air-con was great (not noisy at all) and while the toilet/shower was tiny, we managed. It was an experience (first time in a hostel) and none the worst for it. Loads of eating places and the 7/11 shops on both sides of the building was great. I would recommend to friends and family and would stay here again. The hostel selling us tickets to places like Disneyland etc were convenient and small savings.

Room Tip: Apartment 1410, Room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Basically, this is a flat converted into a hostel. The room was small, one single bed and one bunk bed to fit three people. There is hot water and aircon, which was nice. Free water outside the room. Located at the busy streets of mongkok, easy access to good food and arglye centre and mtr. It's good for budget travellers who don't spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I recently stayed in Ah Shan guest house and was not at all pleased with their level of service and cleanliness of the place. Beds had bugs in them, their air conditioning facility was very noisy (it sounded as if a motor was left running) and their gas system for a shower was not operating correctly. I subsequently spoke to their Filipino member of staff and the Owner of the guest house regarding the safety of their shower system and their response was less than pleasing. Their attitude was merely a ‘like it of lump it’ manner and disregarded my concerns completely. You cannot reason with them and they would rather not do your business than deal with my concerns or even suggest offering an alternative room.

Following this experience, my recommendation is that if you are looking for budget accommodation, you are better off getting a 3* hotel, as I found that there was not much of a price difference and you get the level of service one would expect. Unfortunately, I only realised this towards the end of my trip……

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

This is my third time visited HK and I decided to stay in ah Shan hostel it is a different experience from my past stay-(in hotel). I get to experience the HK living standard-(such as small unit, small toilet, old dirty look building, rustic window, plenty panel of advertisement broad and etc). When you see this post were u afraid of staying here ? I can ensure you this hostel had maintained clean and tidy and the building had management to manage.

Therefore the hostel situated in Mongkok few minutes walk to subway-(Mongkok station Exit D2). It is a ease for me as a traveler who wanted time efficient where the subway is so near I can hope on the MTR train anytime I wanted. Basically to catch my planned activities.

In the first place how I book my room i selected ah Shan hostel website you' ll get direct response and confirmation upon payment. The hostel office in level 14 and yet i was given the key to stay at 8 level and my room facing ladies street. Every nite I got to see people functioning their business and many people walking around and lastly you don't have to worry about food some shop operate 24hrs, there is a macdonald downstair and beside is a 24hr HK cafe selling ghost, soya bean drink, porridge and etc. There is two entrance to the hostel one entrance u'll see people selling meat ball, smelly tofu and etc on the other side entrance u'll see a eye clinic.

How do I reach to ah Shan hostel ? When I reach the airport i search for the bus terminal and I broad Bus A21 is HK33 for a person. Please alight at the 6th bus stop where u'll see a bank of communication.

Lastly if I travel HK again I'll come back to this place, because ah Shan people are friendly and even the morning shift old security guard always greet people with a warm smile. : )

See u soon : )

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ah Shan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ah Shan Hostel

Address: Room 1406, 14/F, Sincere House, 83 Argyle Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Ah Shan Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ah Shan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ah Shan Hotel Hong Kong
Ah Shan Hostel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ah Shan Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.