We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Panorama by Rhombus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Panorama by Rhombus to your Saves list
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8A Hart Avenue, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chandler, AZ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Panorama by Rhombus in Hong Kong for 3 nights in March. The hotel is well situated on the Kowloon side of the Harbor. We had reserved a Deluxe Gold category of room because these have unobstructed harbor views. We paid $135USD/night including daily breakfast. We also purchased airport pick up for an additional $17.50/person. The airport service is arranged through a travel agency and you will be picked up by a bus and transported with other clients to several hotels- although we were the first stop. Upon arrival we were upgraded to Platinum which simply meant that the room had more amenities. This hotel was recently opened and as such was in very good condition. The rooms themselves are quite small by American standards – about 15 x 20 feet. There is a fairly small bathroom with a shower stall. The room contains a whopping flat panel television on the desk (too big for the space) a mini-fridge, robes and slippers, data port, docking station, safe, good air-conditioning and lots of other knick-knacks. In fact there was too much “stuff” sitting around and we ended up putting most of it away. Closet space is quite limited. The breakfast featured a good variety of foods- fruit, cereal, breads, yogurt, eggs and meats and was open from 6-10am. We also enjoyed dinner at the hotel lobby restaurant one night (there are 2 restaurants, the lobby restaurant is Asian and the other is Italian). The Chinese food was very good and the service was excellent. The best thing about this hotel is the views- they are spectacular! We could see all of the Hong Kong skyline from our room (or we could if it had not been so foggy). There is also an open deck on the 40th floor where you can go to enjoy views of the city and practice putting (really)- it is only open to guests and they don’t mention it to you when you check in. We went up in the evenings to have a drink and relax in a quiet atmosphere. From the hotel it is also a 5 minute walk to the “avenue of the stars” and the harbor promenade where you can watch the light show each night a 8pm, this is also a fun place to hang out. It is close to Nathan Road for shopping and 10 minutes by taxi to the Jade Market and the Temple Street Night Market. There is no pool at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    739
    194
    53
    27
See reviews for
333
601
122
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
honeybee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

My fiance and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights during February. We both love this hotel. It's clean, great location and staffs are very helpful and friendly. Only one negative about this hotel is the size of the room and the bathroom. We booked the Superior Platium with full view of Victoria Harbor. However, when we walk in the room. It was suprise us that the size is a bit petit and mini. Anyway, we really have great time to stay in this hotel. We'll come back to it when we visit Hong Kong again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

Hotel Panorama, as of date, February 09, is one of the newest hotels in the Tsim Sha Tsui area. That being said, it has newer, more modern rooms, well-thought out lay-outs and a generally efficient demeanor that says well-researched and tastefully concocted in that subdued 'beige' way. There are no big surprises from this hotel--everything is spic and span, from the efficient business like lobby, to the simple and hard working rooms.

There is not much glitz, glamour or drama in this hotel--but perhaps that is it's greatest strength: you get what you pay for in this 4 star establishment:

1) efficient staff who are willing to help and please but not obsequiously so. They will not bend over backwards for anything over and above the ordinary, but a nice request for a change of room can be accommodated. The breakfast staff will bustle you through your meal but then it's a rather small cafe so maybe you're better off in the peace of your own room.

2) location is in a rather new part of Tsim Sha Tsui so it is still quite a bit of a walk from Panorama, to say, the Ocean Terminal or the main line of the train. Being a new hotel also makes it unfamiliar to taxi cabs so make sure you bring the hotel card when you saunter off. The streets to the hotel are rather bewildering, but it is a quiet one and felt safe at night.

3) There are no frills to the no-nonsense rooms. Sofas are covered in hard to destruct leatherette as with the headboards; these were made to suffer spills and crashes so there isn't much by way of lounging and curling down for a cozy look at the view. The television has very few selections of channels, but that seems to be par for course in a 4 star. There are no artworks on the walls, nothing to distract you from installing your own personality. Bland bland bland--but at least clean, safe and serviceable. Night time is welcomed by a tiny snack of tea and cakes. Charming and yes, thoughtful. Perhaps its the only touch of personality I found.

So yes, the Panorama passes muster most certainly. Everything is in order--efficiency rules the day. But there is not much magic, fascination or romance that travellers might wish for or deserve. Most certainly, stay here for a business trip, not for a honeymoon.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

My wife & I had a superior gold room on the 19th floor, for 9 nights in early February. This was our 4th visit to Hong Kong & the smallest hotel room we'd experienced - only one person at a time could move in comfort in both the room & bathroom. There were also some minor maintenance issues: one wardrobe door wouldn't close completely, the shower leaked & there was grout missing from some of the tiles in the bathroom, while there were small areas where the grout was badly discoloured. Our harbour view - especially the view to Central/Admiralty/Wanchai - was blocked by a taller building, although we could see most of the western end of the harbour without interruption. Lighting in the room was substandard & it was difficult to read in bed, due to the placement of the fittings & strength of the globes. If you need to use a telephone, I'd suggest not using those in-room, as 5 local calls cost me $HK205 On the positive side of things, the staff were friendly & helpful at all times & the hotel is only a 5-10 walk to TST East, with it's range of restaurants & almost total absence of people wanting to sell you a suit, shirt, copy watch, handbag etc. It is also takes about the same time to walk to Nathan Road. The free shuttle bus to Kowloon Station stops alongside the hotel entrance & there's an entrance to the TST & TST East MTR stations less than 2 minutes walk from the Hotels main door.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

Stayed at Hotel Panorama for a week Feb10th-17th. Room 1913 was an end room which meant that we didn't hear any people traffic from the elevators (the hallways are quite narrow so noisy guest could be an issue. Our room contained 2 double beds, and yes HK rooms are small compared to others, but we found the room worked well for us. Beds were comfortable, light blocking curtains (a must for me). Our bathroom being a corner one had magnificent views over Victoria Harbour. The Hotels location can be a bit tricky, however a local map of the area is all thats needed. Mtr station at the corner so, no problems getting around, Take the Airport express train then shuttle bus (all included in the priceHK$140 for 2 one way, Dont bother with a taxi,

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

Lovely, Clean hotel with Outstanding Views across Hong Kong harbour. Knowledgeable, friendly staff who were a pleasure to deal with.

The journey from the airport to the hotel couldn't have been easier as the hotel has its own shuttle bus which is free.

Its within easy walking distance of the Star Ferry across to Hong Kong Island.

Great place for a stopover or a couple of nights on a city break.

  • Liked — Beautiful Views
  • Disliked — Difficult to find at first
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

I am always amazed by reviewers who write more about the breakfast at hotels, than the location or service. As if you are going to Hong Kong to stay at the hotel eating breakfast!

I stayed at Hotel Panorama twice last year, in April and in October.

Good Location:
between TST and TST East. The MTR TST station is a 5-6 minute walk. The Avenue of Stars about a 10-minute walk. And Harbour City, Canton Road, and the Star Ferry to Central is about a 20-minute walk. So if you need to be close to the ferries, it's close enough but definitely not next door.

Views:
Good views, but it's hit or miss. The first time I had a Superior Platinum room on the 33 floor with great views. The second time I stayed at a Deluxe Gold on the 21 floor with so-so views. Tip: Rooms numbered 01 to 05 have a better view.

Service:
Excellent. The Executive Lounge Guest Relations officers go the extra mile. Front desk efficient, both times check-in/check-out was no more than 5-6 minutes. No surprises at check-out.

Rooms:
ok, here's the one downside. You'll NOT entertain guests in your room! Both Deluxe and Superior rooms are about 21-22 square meters including the bathroom. With a king-size bed in it, you can figure out how much room is left!

Food:
Breakfast at the Executive Lounge was good, not great. But the view from there and the free internet more than made up for it! I also tried the Cafe Express, good selection, great service, good overall, but a little over-priced.

  • Liked — Views, Location
  • Disliked — Size of rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Panorama by Rhombus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panorama by Rhombus

Address: 8A Hart Avenue, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Panorama by Rhombus 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus is located in the heart of Tsimshatsui and only 1-minute walk from Tsimshatsui MTR station. Each of the 324 guestrooms and suites has a contemporary design with floor-to-ceiling windows offering panoramic harbour and city view. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping centres, boutiques, museums, restaurants, bars and entertainment centres. Our prime location allows you to access all parts of Hong Kong via Mass Transit Railway (MTR), Airport Express, Buses, Taxis and Ferries. Santa Lucia Restaurant & Sky Bar, located on the 38th floor of the hotel, delivers Modern Cuisine, magical ambience, magnificent harbour-view and a truly unforgettable dining experience. Café Express located on the lobby level, is an informal all-day restaurant provides a casual breakfast, brunch, light lunch or a deluxe dinner. Our other unique facilities include our Sky Garden, Fitness Centre, Rhombus Club Executive Lounge and Business Centre. Our Sky Garden, Putting Green are located on the 40th floor where you can unwind and relax while taking in some of the most spectacular and idyllic scenery on earth. Rhombus Club Executive Lounge on our 39th floor offers state-of-the-art meeting facilities, personalized business and concierge services; it is an exclusive retreat for conducting business or simply relaxing and enjoying a soothing cocktail after a long day. Our Business Centre on our lobby level offers a wide range of personalized administrative and internet services catering to your diverse business needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Panorama by Rhombus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama By Rhombus Hotel
Panorama Hotel Hong Kong
Panorama By Rhombus Hong Kong
Hotel Panorama Hong Kong
Hotel Panorama By Rhombus Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Panorama by Rhombus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.