We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only saving grace is the location” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Panorama by Rhombus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Panorama by Rhombus to your Saves list
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8A Hart Avenue, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Monterey, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Only saving grace is the location”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed in the Harborview club room for 3 nights in Jan 2013. Service was bad - staff were all conveniently ignorant of us waiting at the check-in queue. When we finally managed to get someone's attention, the service rendered was condenscending and rude. Rooms were small, and nothing to shout about. Yes, there's a harborview but we were not in the room that much to really enjoy it anyway. Breakfast selection was pathetic, and don't get me started on the non-existent selection of canapes for the evening cocktails that we had paid extra for....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin F, General Manager at Hotel Panorama by Rhombus, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Zoey C,

Thank you for taking the time to post comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your comments are very valuable to us.

I am very concerned to hear of the disappointment you experienced with the service at check in counter and breakfast selection.

I have personally addressed the issues mentioned with the concerned departments and assure your experience is not an example of our usual high standard of service. Please accept my sincere apologies for all inconveniences caused to you.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hotel Panorama by Rhombus in the near future and I have the chance to meet you. In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me via email at gm_hp@rhombusinternational.com for any assistance.

Yours sincerely
Benjamin Fung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    739
    194
    53
    27
See reviews for
333
601
122
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for five nights. The location is good, with plenty to do within walking distance and the MTR is just outside the hotel for excursions to other places. The room was adequate, a little on the small side but perhaps that's just Hong Kong in general. The room wasn't available at check-in time so had to sit and wait, with no refreshment or apology to keep my spirits up. But what really let the hotel down were some of the staff. Some were friendly and considerate but others were polar opposite, being downright rude. I was there over New Year so I expect staff were busy, but a little courtesy goes a long way in making a stay pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin F, General Manager at Hotel Panorama by Rhombus, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear lilsde,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Panorama by Rhombus as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were very disappointed to read your review and would like to extend our sincere apologies for your disappointment and inconvenience casued.

We truly appreciate your valuable feedback on the service provided by our staff. I have personally addressed this issue with our service team to avoid recurrence. We will make every effort to seek continuous improvement in serving our customers satisfactory.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to be of service to you in the near future.

Benjamin Fung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We received a warmth welcome by the bell boy when we arrived. The check in was smooth and I asked for a highest floor and corner room for my gold room but I didn't get the corner room and the sound proof was bad though I got on the 22nd floor. The room was small but facilities are great. The pillows are very comfortable. Views not so bad, can see the harbour from the side window. The location are great, mostly within walking distance. The only down things is why a four star rated hotel no wifi in all rooms? However, it was still a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had stayed in this hotel previously for business and was keen to return again when we visit Hong Kong this year. I had stayed in a Gold room previously and loved the location but was let down by the lousy views. That was fine as it was for business. This time round, I'll be bringing my family and had written in to the hotel asking for an upgrade for a harbour view as this trip was a wedding anniversary trip. Sadly, the hotel did not bother to reply my email.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin F, General Manager at Hotel Panorama by Rhombus, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear RadsRads,

Thank for for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to learn that your email was not replied, particularly, this was about the room arrangement for your wedding anniversary. Whilst we cannot bring back what should have been a delightful stay. We are very keen to make amend if you are able to afford us this opportunity at anytime in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me via gm_hp@rhombusinternational.com should I be of any assistance to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Panorama by Rhombus

Best regards
Benjamin Fung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Rhombus in November 2012 during our holiday in HK and Hainan. The hotel location was ideal for us: In the middle of real local living, everywhere we wanted to go within walking distance or easy access to MTR. Also taxis cheap and plenty. We had booked a gold room, but there were none ready, when we arrived at 4 pm. We accepted their proposal for upgrading the room to one on the 37 floor with harbor view (suppose it was a club room) . However, we had to wait another 2,5 hours to get in. In spite of a bit uncomfortable feeling (we had been travelling all the way through from Helsinki and our clothing was a bit too warm for HKs 27 degree temperature, it was worth it. The hotel staff, especially in the concierge, was very friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom were good and spotless. Magnificent scenery. In all, the hotel was excellent value for money (were made an early booking and found out that the "last minute" price would have been nearly double).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The views of Victoria HarbourView from the upper club floors was amazing. The convenience of an express elevator to the upper club floors was great. But the Rhombus Club was disappointing. I had hoped to have business meetings there, but it had a Happy Hour feel with bad food in Costco style warmers and a very touristy crowd. Our first room, 33 floor, most Western room -- had an ok view, a very awkward layout and the smell of smoke and curry. They accommodated a move the 2nd day to the 32 floor, most Eastern room and WOW what a difference. View was much better. The room smelled better and was laid-out a bit better, but the hotel says all the rooms are irregularly shaped.

Room Tip: Stay on the East side of the hotel. The most Eastern room shower/bath features windows overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin F, General Manager at Hotel Panorama by Rhombus, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear JOYnFAITH,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review at TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to learn that the service you encountered at Front Desk and Concierge were not to your satisfaction. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this may have caused. Rest assured that I have personally addressed this issue with my Front Office Manager to avoid recurrence.

I hope you will give us another chance that next time you are in Hong Kong. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Panorama by Rhombus.

Best regards
Benjamin Fung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay in the Executive Club room for 2 nights and Club room for 3 nights during our visit. Check in and out on both visits at the Club lounge was a breeze and the staff there were always helpful and accommodating. Only issue we had with the Club lounge was the variety of food they had to offer. During the days that we were there, there was not much variety of cakes and hot food on offer and the variety was nearly the same everyday. It got a bit boring after awhile.

Location wise was great, less than a minute walk to the MTR station, few minutes walk to Nathan Road and all the other shopping spots. We also did not have any issues with taxi drivers not being able to locate the hotel. There are also some great eateries and dessert places near the hotel and the laundry place in front of the hotel is really cheap and fast.

The views we got from our room was lovely and we were able to see the new years fireworks and the light show from the comfort of our own room. The room size was good for a hotel in HK, the bed was huge and comfortable but the bathrooms were a bit on the small size. We had an issue with the in room wifi during our second visit and this was fixed with the staff restarting the access point in our room.

The main real grouch we had was breakfast at AVA. We went there for breakfast on our first morning on new year's day and never came back again for breakfast after that. Breakfast service was horrible, there was not enough staff to cater to guests. Guests were seated before tables were made. I saw staff wiping tables straight to the floor in front of seated guests, tables were left uncleaned even after guests had left and new guests seated and cutlery and plates were taken from other tables for new guests. The food range available was quite basic. They had the usual breakfast dishes like bacon, beans, scrambled eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms, pancakes, waffles, assortment of breads and cereals, asian dishes, cold dishes, etc. Some of the dishes just did not look so fresh and appetising after its been sitting in the bain-marie or the serving table after awhile. Would have been nice to see a live egg station where guests can choose how their eggs are cooked cause not everyone likes scrambled eggs. I also had trouble trying to get our tea and coffee topped up from the staff there which i have seen other reviewers complain about also. It took me over 15 minutes and 3 staff to finally get our drinks topped up which is quite unacceptable.

Besides the issues we have with the breakfast, we would still consider coming back here for future visits because of the excellent location, overall service and lovely views. Would be great to see breakfast service and range at AVA and the variety of food provided in the Club lounge to improve when we visit again. If it wasn't for this, would give them a rating of 5.

Room Tip: The club rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin F, General Manager at Hotel Panorama by Rhombus, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear lly-llyas,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your feedback on breakfast service at Ava Restaurant Slash Bar and selection of food at Club Lounge. We are sorry for the inconenience caused and rest assured these issues have been addressed with our Food and Beverage team to ensure that our usual high standards are met in the future. It is encouraging to learn that you are satisfied with the overall service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Panorama by Rhombus in the future.

Best regards
Benjamin Fung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Panorama by Rhombus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panorama by Rhombus

Address: 8A Hart Avenue, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#62 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Panorama by Rhombus 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus is located in the heart of Tsimshatsui and only 1-minute walk from Tsimshatsui MTR station. Each of the 324 guestrooms and suites has a contemporary design with floor-to-ceiling windows offering panoramic harbour and city view. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping centres, boutiques, museums, restaurants, bars and entertainment centres. Our prime location allows you to access all parts of Hong Kong via Mass Transit Railway (MTR), Airport Express, Buses, Taxis and Ferries. Santa Lucia Restaurant & Sky Bar, located on the 38th floor of the hotel, delivers Modern Cuisine, magical ambience, magnificent harbour-view and a truly unforgettable dining experience. Café Express located on the lobby level, is an informal all-day restaurant provides a casual breakfast, brunch, light lunch or a deluxe dinner. Our other unique facilities include our Sky Garden, Fitness Centre, Rhombus Club Executive Lounge and Business Centre. Our Sky Garden, Putting Green are located on the 40th floor where you can unwind and relax while taking in some of the most spectacular and idyllic scenery on earth. Rhombus Club Executive Lounge on our 39th floor offers state-of-the-art meeting facilities, personalized business and concierge services; it is an exclusive retreat for conducting business or simply relaxing and enjoying a soothing cocktail after a long day. Our Business Centre on our lobby level offers a wide range of personalized administrative and internet services catering to your diverse business needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Panorama by Rhombus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama By Rhombus Hotel
Panorama Hotel Hong Kong
Panorama By Rhombus Hong Kong
Hotel Panorama Hong Kong
Hotel Panorama By Rhombus Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Panorama by Rhombus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.