We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money for the rate I paid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China (Sai Wan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #188 of 696 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value for money for the rate I paid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I got this hotel on sale via Expedia.sg and only paid for HKD1,000 nett for triple occupancy. The rooms are big for HK hotel standards even with an extra bed in the room, there was still some room for you to walk around.

To summarize my feedback:

Pros:
Hotel Rate
Room & bathroom size
Internet - WIFI complimentary (can connect unlimited device)
Was allowed early check in at 11:45am (I guess based on availability)
Free Shuttle - need to reserve in advance
4 Elevators - all are working, didn't have to wait unlike previous 3 star hotels i stayed in
Starbucks & 7-11 is just across the road

Cons:
Location - a bit off, but that depends on what you need to do in HK
Some of the furnishings needs a bit of updating
Beds - a bit firm, for me it works but for others it might not

Overall, it was good value for money as we had a comfortable stay. We had no issues and even was allowed to check in early which was something we needed as we arrived on an early morning flight.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I've spent one night in this hotel (if we can say it is a hotel) on 2nd Jan'14. it's very expensive comared to the services provided:
Reception personnel is very not kind, even not polite (while waiter in restaurant are very pleasant)!
Rooms which are supposed to be suite are small, smelling cigarette (at floor as well)! it seems the overall hotel smells cigarette.
Not beds for kids while we have asked them! We have to sleep 4 (2 adults and 2 kids) on the same double bed!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thierry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I really didn't enjoy my stay at this hotel. The bed was uncomfortable, I didn't sleep well at all. The room was smelly. The building is old and staff unfriendly. I wouldn't recommend! The only positive note was the fact that it is close to the centre.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank emakaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Remember i stayed in Ramada hotel in downtown HK. Perfect location for anybody working near Central. Very comfortable bed and clean rooms a posh setting in a crowded city. Only downside is space but cant help because in HK space is at a premium

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sathishvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Brasil
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Went on business to HK.
The location is good, it can be reached from HKIA via the Airport Express and a 5-min taxi (I wouldn't recommend using tram or buses with luggage as it is smaller than conventional).
But for moving around, you can use trams and buses which stop at the front of the hotel - no walking necessary...

Regarding the hotel, the staff is ok, were nice to me and do not have nothing to complain.

Regarding the room, although the bathroom has quite good, the bed disappointed me. Very short for me (I have 185cm and had my feet off the bed) and very hard bed, like sleeping on a rock!
I guess Chinese like this kind of bed, but Westerners also go to HK. Asked for a replacement, they said that this was the hotel's standard. I did not left only because my booking was prepaid.
I wouldn't stay here again, next time I'll search a hotel who cares about my back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zembruski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The good news is that the rate is quite reasonable. The bad news is that it does not have a parking bay in front of the hotel lobby. Arriving at 1:30 am, the taxi had to drop me on the street beside the hotel and I had to carry all my luggage to the lobby.
Since it was 1:30 am, the check-in staff was quite nice to allocate me a small suite. That's the good news. The bad news is that the room has smell of smoking when it is supposed to be non-smoking.
The hotel should have a policy, like some hotels, where it would impose a hefty fine for smoking in a non-smoking room.
The location of the hotel is convenient for traveling in HK. The tram and bus stops are all steps away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 739318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View
#241 of 696 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Sheung Wan
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#96 of 696 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#69 of 696 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 2,629 reviews
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#71 of 696 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,327 reviews
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#136 of 696 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 696 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Notice on Hotel Rebranding: Ramada Hong Kong Hotel will be renamed as BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong effective from 1 September 2015. This will be the first hotel in Hong Kong carrying “PLUS”, a superior brand of the BEST WESTERN HOTEL GROUP. The rebranding renders a hotel name change; while the ownership, the management & the entire workforce will stay the same. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ramada
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing