We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, if you get a special offer. Check the room layout!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China (Sai Wan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #188 of 696 Hotels in Hong Kong
Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value, if you get a special offer. Check the room layout!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice one. Okay, fair enough - location is 20 minutes walk from next metro, but that's alright. Plenty of shops around. Service is very "local" (means:sucks), better ignore the breakfast, but if you get the right room, you'll be sweet. I posted a floor layout, so watch & request the right room number. I stayed in ..o11, great size. Bathroom amenities okay, all you need. Mini bar, coffee facilities. Gymn is not even worth mentioning it. Overall, if you need a comfy place to stay, this is pretty much alright. For the evening, stroll 10 minutes to "Sum Yat Sen Memorial Park" (check on Google maps) great views there!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brisbane
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

While the beds needed a topper to be comfortable for a foreigner(but they put on at no cost and immediately on request. The service was fabulous inlcuding allowing us to have a very late checkout at no extra cost. The shuttle service to the Macau ferry terminal and airport express were very convenient. Breakfast was more chinese than western but edible. There is also a good breakfast restaurant just down the street towards the harbour.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is good value for money, staff were pretty ok but expected much more from Ramada. It was a bit away from the airport as I used it for my transit. There are buses going right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanami1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Ramada is one of the many Hotels in Hong Kong but it has nothing that made it stand out as special. Rooms were clean, as they should be in a hotel and the staff were friendly. The included breakfast was not very good for western customers and the staff did not make you feel as though we were welcome, it was more you are in our way feeling from the staff. Would not suit wheel chair access as the dining room was down a flight of stairs and it would be a hassle to get to with a wheel chair. For the money we paid I would have thought the hotel would be better. If the price was $50 a night it would be good value up to $70 would still be ok, but for what I paid I would not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StueyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Place is roomy and service is decent. Biggest issue is I killed 3 cockroaches in my room. But this is HK and like NYC where I live I feel this is just common especially around the neighborhood surrounding it. $100 a night USD I expected a little better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank criff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This has become a regular haunt on my visits to Hong Kong. It is well situated with the tram outside the door and close to the airport express and ferries. Overall the rooms are well laid out and if a bit dated, clean and functional. Since they introduced free wifi a year or so ago any objection to using them has gone and there is a convenience store and a Starbucks next door.

Its worth walking to the hotel from Central, if only to smell and see the dried sea food markets

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSnowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel exterior was nothing to shout about and I was apprehensive at my choice. The reception had seen a better day. But the staff work very very hard and they catered to my every request.

Service is superb front desk sorted out reservation issues, engineering speedily fixed my internet. House keeping was prompt, efficient and kept the room spotless.

But top management is lousy.

I slept my first evening only to be woken by a warm swerage smell coming into the room. But I was not sure. It was 3 am and I just shrug it off. The second night it hit again but this time stronger forcing me to open the windows and run the air con blower full blast. I still could not figure the stench. On my last nite I found the source at 5 am. By this time I had caught a sore throat from the inhalation of these foul fumes. It was coming from the toilet and it was evident that a sewer line was busted or backing up. Towels to the toilet door gaps made things bearable.

I told the staff and they were profusely apologetic. I even sent an email with incriminating pictures of towels used the night before. But not a squeak, and not an offer of discount or remorse from their CEO of the group whom I had sent my email to.

Next time stay at SOFITEL. The price is almost the same and rest assuredly they would take their service seriously.

Yours sincerely.

M Williams

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mightymo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View
#241 of 696 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Sheung Wan
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#96 of 696 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#69 of 696 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 2,629 reviews
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#71 of 696 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,328 reviews
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#136 of 696 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 696 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Notice on Hotel Rebranding: Ramada Hong Kong Hotel will be renamed as BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong effective from 1 September 2015. This will be the first hotel in Hong Kong carrying “PLUS”, a superior brand of the BEST WESTERN HOTEL GROUP. The rebranding renders a hotel name change; while the ownership, the management & the entire workforce will stay the same. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ramada
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing