We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad stay, nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Hong Kong to your Saves list
Ramada Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China (Sai Wan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #178 of 693 Hotels in Hong Kong
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a bad stay, nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Ramada is one of the many Hotels in Hong Kong but it has nothing that made it stand out as special. Rooms were clean, as they should be in a hotel and the staff were friendly. The included breakfast was not very good for western customers and the staff did not make you feel as though we were welcome, it was more you are in our way feeling from the staff. Would not suit wheel chair access as the dining room was down a flight of stairs and it would be a hassle to get to with a wheel chair. For the money we paid I would have thought the hotel would be better. If the price was $50 a night it would be good value up to $70 would still be ok, but for what I paid I would not stay again.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have a view that you would like so it doesn't matter which room you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    320
    183
    49
    33
See reviews for
94
137
91
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NJ USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Place is roomy and service is decent. Biggest issue is I killed 3 cockroaches in my room. But this is HK and like NYC where I live I feel this is just common especially around the neighborhood surrounding it. $100 a night USD I expected a little better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This has become a regular haunt on my visits to Hong Kong. It is well situated with the tram outside the door and close to the airport express and ferries. Overall the rooms are well laid out and if a bit dated, clean and functional. Since they introduced free wifi a year or so ago any objection to using them has gone and there is a convenience store and a Starbucks next door.

Its worth walking to the hotel from Central, if only to smell and see the dried sea food markets

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel exterior was nothing to shout about and I was apprehensive at my choice. The reception had seen a better day. But the staff work very very hard and they catered to my every request.

Service is superb front desk sorted out reservation issues, engineering speedily fixed my internet. House keeping was prompt, efficient and kept the room spotless.

But top management is lousy.

I slept my first evening only to be woken by a warm swerage smell coming into the room. But I was not sure. It was 3 am and I just shrug it off. The second night it hit again but this time stronger forcing me to open the windows and run the air con blower full blast. I still could not figure the stench. On my last nite I found the source at 5 am. By this time I had caught a sore throat from the inhalation of these foul fumes. It was coming from the toilet and it was evident that a sewer line was busted or backing up. Towels to the toilet door gaps made things bearable.

I told the staff and they were profusely apologetic. I even sent an email with incriminating pictures of towels used the night before. But not a squeak, and not an offer of discount or remorse from their CEO of the group whom I had sent my email to.

Next time stay at SOFITEL. The price is almost the same and rest assuredly they would take their service seriously.

Yours sincerely.

M Williams

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Excellent location, service and complete value for money. Very good connectivity for public transport and a free shuttle service to central. The hotel staff is very disciplined and are very courteous with timely service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at the Ramada HK in April 2013, we highly recommend the hotel, great location ++. If you want a real Hong Kong experience! this is the place. Great value for money! The Tram stops directly at the front of the hotel and can catch the trams just down the road to go into Sheung Wan to catch the MTR. The staff were very friendly, however we did get a room with twin beds, but we didn't mind as we placed the beds together anyway. You have a 7-11 store just up from the hotel on the Des Voeux Road! There is also a great place to eat called the King Prawn vietnamese restaurant just up the road, and at the end of the day, we only slept in room, as we spent more time out and about than in the room. If you do travel to Hong Kong we highly recommend that you purchase a octopus card at the airport, it's the best thing, you can use it on all public transport. The best shopping is in Kowloon, Mong Kok especially for mobile phones, electronics & markets to barter for a good price. Definitely going back at the end of the year, it's the best place, nicest people, great food, restaurants every where & the best sites. It's all about what you make of it.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel represents good value for money. A taxi to Central does not cost that much so it was not a problem being away from the action. Room was a fairly large size and clean but bed mattress was somewhat poor quality. Room still had the old style TV which was a let down in this day and age particularly for trendy Hong Kong. Room had a separate small lounge area with table which was nice and comfortable. My breakfast was extra and I chose not to eat at the hotel as it was a simple budget meal and I instead dined at the many local establishments along the strip. Staff were excellent and helpful. Wi-Fi was reliable and free. Overall a comfy room and good value considering the prices of other hotels in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ramada Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hong Kong

Address: No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 693 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Ramada Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.