We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROOM HAD SWERAGE SMELL WAFTING IN AT 4 AM” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Hong Kong to your Saves list
Ramada Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China (Sai Wan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 697 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ROOM HAD SWERAGE SMELL WAFTING IN AT 4 AM”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel exterior was nothing to shout about and I was apprehensive at my choice. The reception had seen a better day. But the staff work very very hard and they catered to my every request.

Service is superb front desk sorted out reservation issues, engineering speedily fixed my internet. House keeping was prompt, efficient and kept the room spotless.

But top management is lousy.

I slept my first evening only to be woken by a warm swerage smell coming into the room. But I was not sure. It was 3 am and I just shrug it off. The second night it hit again but this time stronger forcing me to open the windows and run the air con blower full blast. I still could not figure the stench. On my last nite I found the source at 5 am. By this time I had caught a sore throat from the inhalation of these foul fumes. It was coming from the toilet and it was evident that a sewer line was busted or backing up. Towels to the toilet door gaps made things bearable.

I told the staff and they were profusely apologetic. I even sent an email with incriminating pictures of towels used the night before. But not a squeak, and not an offer of discount or remorse from their CEO of the group whom I had sent my email to.

Next time stay at SOFITEL. The price is almost the same and rest assuredly they would take their service seriously.

Yours sincerely.

M Williams

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    341
    195
    51
    34
See reviews for
104
144
96
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Excellent location, service and complete value for money. Very good connectivity for public transport and a free shuttle service to central. The hotel staff is very disciplined and are very courteous with timely service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at the Ramada HK in April 2013, we highly recommend the hotel, great location ++. If you want a real Hong Kong experience! this is the place. Great value for money! The Tram stops directly at the front of the hotel and can catch the trams just down the road to go into Sheung Wan to catch the MTR. The staff were very friendly, however we did get a room with twin beds, but we didn't mind as we placed the beds together anyway. You have a 7-11 store just up from the hotel on the Des Voeux Road! There is also a great place to eat called the King Prawn vietnamese restaurant just up the road, and at the end of the day, we only slept in room, as we spent more time out and about than in the room. If you do travel to Hong Kong we highly recommend that you purchase a octopus card at the airport, it's the best thing, you can use it on all public transport. The best shopping is in Kowloon, Mong Kok especially for mobile phones, electronics & markets to barter for a good price. Definitely going back at the end of the year, it's the best place, nicest people, great food, restaurants every where & the best sites. It's all about what you make of it.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel represents good value for money. A taxi to Central does not cost that much so it was not a problem being away from the action. Room was a fairly large size and clean but bed mattress was somewhat poor quality. Room still had the old style TV which was a let down in this day and age particularly for trendy Hong Kong. Room had a separate small lounge area with table which was nice and comfortable. My breakfast was extra and I chose not to eat at the hotel as it was a simple budget meal and I instead dined at the many local establishments along the strip. Staff were excellent and helpful. Wi-Fi was reliable and free. Overall a comfy room and good value considering the prices of other hotels in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Good location (10 minutes by taxi or 15 by tram to Central, shuttle service available) and efficient service. Rooms are large by Hong Kong standards but definitely need a renovation. Overall, a good option for a short stay in Hong Kong but nothing impressive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We selected this hotel based on a "secret hotel" deal, more of that at the end. The hotel is located at the eastern end of Hong Kong Island. Take the MTR to Sheung Wan, exit the MTR and board the double decker tram on Des Voeux Road to continue the journey for another 20 minutes, there is a tram stop right outside the hotel. The hotel is located in "urban" Hong Kong at the end of the dried fish shops. The hotel was very cheap, and its clientele was predominantly mainland Chinese. On the plus side the hotel was clean as was the room and it was well appointed although the decore is dated. The room had a partial view of the harbour, but not much of the Kowloon skyline. Wifi and Breakfast was included in the room rate. The breakfast was adequate. There is a free shuttle bus to the main MTR stations and the hotel is connected to or close to authentic Chinese restaurants. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. There are 7/11s and a supermarket close by. On the negative side it is out of the action, with very little of interest for the tourist (other than the dried fish shops). The trams stop running at midnight so the journey from the nightlife areas either has to be by taxi or supplemented with a taxi ride. The gym is small and not well equipped and the hotel bar has no atmosphere. So the room is where you are when you are at the hotel. For the price the hotel was OK and if you are on a budget and the hotel is not part of the holiday experience then there are no real drawbacks to staying there if you are comfortable with the location.
We selected the hotel from a "secret deal" which billed it as a named hotel. I guess you could say with the benefit of hindsight "what did we expect for the price?" However this is the first and last secret deal I would do, I am going to assume that the deals are a secret for a good reason and the reason is probably negative. In this case the use of the pitch of a named hotel implied a standard and therefore a bargain that really was not there. If you knew the name of the hotel you could have got just as good a deal going directly to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms high up and on the Western corner are the best for a view. There is another hotel opposite, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel is 20 to 25 minutes away (with no traffic) from LanKewFung, Wan Chai and the Hong Kong Stadium. Park benches in Central Park during the bitter months of winter are more comfortable than these beds, and yes I did check they are mattresses tags and all, not cement blocks. Housekeeping deserves a special mention, they are without a doubt the most diligent house keepers Ramada has in their entire company. Do not disturb switches, locks and not answering the in room phone does not dissuade these ladies. If you have brought your own mattress pad, don't forget a pillow and you speak Cantonese, the hot water works, the elevators are in good shape and there is a Starbucks across the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View
#243 of 697 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Ramada Hotel Kowloon
Ramada Hotel Kowloon
#308 of 697 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#82 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#68 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
Sai Wan
Courtyard by Marriott Hong Kong
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hong Kong

Address: No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly Ramada Hong Kong hotel, BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong is the first hotel in Hong Kong carrying "PLUS", a superior brand of the BEST WESTERN HOTEL GROUP. The hotel is well located at the Western District of Hong Kong Island, a traditional real Hong Kong area undergoing rapid changes. Easily accessed by all means of transportation, here is where you find the genuine east meets west. All 307 rooms and suites are not only spacious, but also tastefully designed & furnished. Coupled with the free Wi-Fi facility, we offer unbeatable value to meet the needs of every traveller, business or leisure alike. Pamper yourself with magnificent view of the Victoria Harbour by staying in our rooms & suites on high floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.