We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel At the End of the Line” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Hong Kong to your Saves list
Ramada Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China (Sai Wan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #178 of 693 Hotels in Hong Kong
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel At the End of the Line”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We selected this hotel based on a "secret hotel" deal, more of that at the end. The hotel is located at the eastern end of Hong Kong Island. Take the MTR to Sheung Wan, exit the MTR and board the double decker tram on Des Voeux Road to continue the journey for another 20 minutes, there is a tram stop right outside the hotel. The hotel is located in "urban" Hong Kong at the end of the dried fish shops. The hotel was very cheap, and its clientele was predominantly mainland Chinese. On the plus side the hotel was clean as was the room and it was well appointed although the decore is dated. The room had a partial view of the harbour, but not much of the Kowloon skyline. Wifi and Breakfast was included in the room rate. The breakfast was adequate. There is a free shuttle bus to the main MTR stations and the hotel is connected to or close to authentic Chinese restaurants. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. There are 7/11s and a supermarket close by. On the negative side it is out of the action, with very little of interest for the tourist (other than the dried fish shops). The trams stop running at midnight so the journey from the nightlife areas either has to be by taxi or supplemented with a taxi ride. The gym is small and not well equipped and the hotel bar has no atmosphere. So the room is where you are when you are at the hotel. For the price the hotel was OK and if you are on a budget and the hotel is not part of the holiday experience then there are no real drawbacks to staying there if you are comfortable with the location.
We selected the hotel from a "secret deal" which billed it as a named hotel. I guess you could say with the benefit of hindsight "what did we expect for the price?" However this is the first and last secret deal I would do, I am going to assume that the deals are a secret for a good reason and the reason is probably negative. In this case the use of the pitch of a named hotel implied a standard and therefore a bargain that really was not there. If you knew the name of the hotel you could have got just as good a deal going directly to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms high up and on the Western corner are the best for a view. There is another hotel opposite, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    333
    190
    50
    34
See reviews for
98
142
94
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel is 20 to 25 minutes away (with no traffic) from LanKewFung, Wan Chai and the Hong Kong Stadium. Park benches in Central Park during the bitter months of winter are more comfortable than these beds, and yes I did check they are mattresses tags and all, not cement blocks. Housekeeping deserves a special mention, they are without a doubt the most diligent house keepers Ramada has in their entire company. Do not disturb switches, locks and not answering the in room phone does not dissuade these ladies. If you have brought your own mattress pad, don't forget a pillow and you speak Cantonese, the hot water works, the elevators are in good shape and there is a Starbucks across the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Bed: Pillows were very flat, but the good side was that I could pile them up to the height that I wanted, instead of having pillows that are too 'high' for my neck.
Blanket was not warm enough but they gave me extras.

Air-conditioning: I was there in winter, and the conditioning was a bit stuffed up, got very cold during the day and quite hot at night. The hotel told me that it's the same for all rooms and I could not adjust the temperature.

Noise: The soundproof system isn't so good, so whenever there are a group of travellers it would be a bit disruptive.

Location: I was on a business trip. Close enough to Central with a decent room.

Bathroom: The shower cubicle was a bit small and the plumbing system was bad, it got flooded very easily, but apart from that, everything was sufficient.

Use of computers/internet: Free in the hotel.

I know it's not a 5-star hotel and I had to ask for everything I wanted, eg iron, ironboards, bathroom scale, cutlery, etc. However their service/response was great.

Most importantly I found it a clean and comfortable room to be in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs UK
Level Contributor
281 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The price we paid for this hotel for one night including a check out at 16.00 hours represented good value for money.Staff were very friendly & helpful, beds firm - the type we like. Quiet room overlooked some rather dingy apartments at the back of the hotel - but not so different from many hotels. I am sure in its day this would have been a very 'posh' hotel, but it has been overtaken. Breakfast was a bit limited.

Internet facilities available - able to check in for flight - but could not print boarding passes - printer not working

The airport shuttle buses do not run to this side of the Island. A taxi from Central was approx $40HK plus $10HK for 2 pieces of luggage - make sure you have the name of the hotel writen in Chinese. A free shuttle bus ran from the hotel about every 45 mins to Central - which we used on all other occasions including when we departed. Lots of public buses & trams ran past the front door - ask a member of staff for help

The area around the hotel was full of small shops - you could find most types of food to buy locally.

For dinner we went to the Lonely Planet recommended Kwun Kee Restaurant - some 10 mins walk away (down the the side of McDonalds), ask a member of staff for directions. There is also a Chinese restaurant on site & locals were eating there & it was Monday night after all!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I used to live in Hong Kong and we chose this hotel because it was close to my old neighborhood. It's in a great area if you want to have the traditional Hong Kong experience. The restaurants around are very typical of Hong Kong and so are the shops. It's close to some of the historical areas. Unfortunately, they don't have heating and the rooms can get cold if you are traveling in the winter so it would be good to keep that in mind. Also keep in mind that it is difficult to switch from twin beds to a double and vice versa. We made a mistake while booking and found out it's expensive to change. It's also not possible to simply shift the beds since they can't be moved!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel is simple with only one restaurant but what is great is the location and rooms. Rooms on a higher floor offer beautiful view of the bay and also are nice and spacious. So you can have a great room with a great view for a faction of a price as against other hotels in this area.
The tram station is just in front of the hotel and so its very convenient for commuting within the city. Staff is professional.
As there is only 1 restaurant serving only Chinese fare and breakfast was not included, did not try the food.
But the area is totally dead and quite in evenings and if you are looking for action and excitement which is HK is famous for, you can look at other areas instead.

Stayed here twice and both stays were pleasant.

Go for it for affordable rooms in a business location.

Room Tip: Choose one on higher floor. Choose one that is in front side so you get great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n/a
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here for a couple nights while waiting to join a larger group on the Kowloon side, glad I was here first. The hotel was a bit farther from Hong Kong Station than I had envisioned, but it gave me the opportunity to ride the double deck buses with the typhoon windows. If you can manage it, get a room that faces the water.

The room was excellent, bed was very comfortable and it had a giant shower. I would not hesitate staying here again, but would prefer being somewhere closer to TST or Central.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View
#247 of 693 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Ramada Hotel Kowloon
Ramada Hotel Kowloon
#324 of 693 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#78 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#68 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#66 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,156 reviews
Sai Wan
Courtyard by Marriott Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hong Kong

Address: No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 693 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ramada Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.