We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel, location not so flash” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Hong Kong to your Saves list
Ramada Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China (Sai Wan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 695 Hotels in Hong Kong
New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ok hotel, location not so flash”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel was clean and tidy - however, the location left a little to be desired. In some ways interesting, but I found shop after shop selling dried shark fins etc a bit depressing. Hotel facilities were tired - cafe and bar were dark and tired.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    340
    194
    51
    34
See reviews for
104
144
95
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
264 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

First time one night only.
Obtained a non smoking room as requested.
Reachable by streetcar as it is not in Central. If the weather permits, it is walkable.

The room was quite alright, perhaps a bit worn down and old fashion design. Do not really like floor carpets in general as it does not feel clean. A lot of people especially Americans and south Europeans do not take off their shoes indoors!!!!
Too much texiles. Beds were a bit short and pillow a bit to hard for my liking.
Good free WiFi.
In general, for a short stay, acceptable.
Hotel prices are very high in Hong Kong especially in relation to their ratings and standards.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room e.g. 25 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel looks kinda old. The excellent thing about the hotel is that the eateries are located around it. You don't have to walk far to look for food. Although the hotel is not conveniently located near a MTR station, it has a tram stop right at the door and the bus stop isn't far away. The hotel is clean and service was prompt. Sad to say I've had the worst experience of sleeping at the hotel because of its stoned-hard bed! My husband and I could not sleep through the night without waking up couple of times and we had bodyache when we woke up in the morning. We ordered an extra bed for our kids and it was more comfy than the actual bed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my third stay at the Ramada HK Island. The rooms are large and comfortable (although not very modern) and the staff polite. I was able to get a (confirmed) upgrade to a suite thanks to the rate I booked, which was lower than most other places for a standard room. The location is a little awkward for 1st timers (it’s not on the metro), but is right next to a tram/bus stop, and direct buses to the airport leave from over the road. I used the complimentary shuttle of the IFC once…it tuned up 25 minutes late, then took 25 minutes to get there. Either take a cab/bus/tram/walk, as they’re all quicker! I’ll be staying here again on my next trip to HK.

Room Tip: If your rate is eligble, email in advance to ask for a suite on a high floor to get a nice harbour v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Getting to and from the hotel is not that easy even though they have a shuttle bus going to the Macau Ferry Terminal and the Airport Express. No MTR station nearby and you need to know the Tram stops to be able to take it as it does stop just outside the hotel. For most taxi drivers you need to tell them Water Street to reach the hotel.
Stayed in 2506 - a double room with smaller than normal beds. The rooms need a upgrade as they look old.
But the rooms are clean and no smell.

Room Tip: There are 8-10 rooms per floor so you need to take a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We booked a three night stay at Ramada Hong Kong in September 2012. We picked it mainly for the price, and to explore a different part of HK Island. However, we were very impressed with every aspect of the hotel, from the prompt friendly check in (always a plus with a toddler in tow who needs to go to bed asap!), to the spacious well-furnished room, to the bed-over-backwards super friendly service of EVERYONE at the hotel. Staff would do whatever they could to help, and were friendly, efficient and knowledgable. I can't recommend the hotel highly enough. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

If you stay here, get a suite,very cheap large room, some Hong Kong hotel rooms are small, views of harbour,central location , don't pay for overpriced hotels book this. The pictures only show you the worst things. I would give it 8/10

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View
#247 of 695 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Ramada Hotel Kowloon
Ramada Hotel Kowloon
#307 of 695 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#79 of 695 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#64 of 695 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront Boutique Hotel
Sai Wan
Courtyard by Marriott Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hong Kong

Address: No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly Ramada Hong Kong hotel, BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong is the first hotel in Hong Kong carrying "PLUS", a superior brand of the BEST WESTERN HOTEL GROUP. The hotel is well located at the Western District of Hong Kong Island, a traditional real Hong Kong area undergoing rapid changes. Easily accessed by all means of transportation, here is where you find the genuine east meets west. All 307 rooms and suites are not only spacious, but also tastefully designed & furnished. Coupled with the free Wi-Fi facility, we offer unbeatable value to meet the needs of every traveller, business or leisure alike. Pamper yourself with magnificent view of the Victoria Harbour by staying in our rooms & suites on high floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Ramada Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.