We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel, location not so flash” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added Ramada Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China (Sai Wan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #184 of 651 hotels in Hong Kong
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ok hotel, location not so flash”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel was clean and tidy - however, the location left a little to be desired. In some ways interesting, but I found shop after shop selling dried shark fins etc a bit depressing. Hotel facilities were tired - cafe and bar were dark and tired.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    259
    148
    43
    29
See reviews for
67
108
75
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

First time one night only.
Obtained a non smoking room as requested.
Reachable by streetcar as it is not in Central. If the weather permits, it is walkable.

The room was quite alright, perhaps a bit worn down and old fashion design. Do not really like floor carpets in general as it does not feel clean. A lot of people especially Americans and south Europeans do not take off their shoes indoors!!!!
Too much texiles. Beds were a bit short and pillow a bit to hard for my liking.
Good free WiFi.
In general, for a short stay, acceptable.
Hotel prices are very high in Hong Kong especially in relation to their ratings and standards.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room e.g. 25 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel looks kinda old. The excellent thing about the hotel is that the eateries are located around it. You don't have to walk far to look for food. Although the hotel is not conveniently located near a MTR station, it has a tram stop right at the door and the bus stop isn't far away. The hotel is clean and service was prompt. Sad to say I've had the worst experience of sleeping at the hotel because of its stoned-hard bed! My husband and I could not sleep through the night without waking up couple of times and we had bodyache when we woke up in the morning. We ordered an extra bed for our kids and it was more comfy than the actual bed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my third stay at the Ramada HK Island. The rooms are large and comfortable (although not very modern) and the staff polite. I was able to get a (confirmed) upgrade to a suite thanks to the rate I booked, which was lower than most other places for a standard room. The location is a little awkward for 1st timers (it’s not on the metro), but is right next to a tram/bus stop, and direct buses to the airport leave from over the road. I used the complimentary shuttle of the IFC once…it tuned up 25 minutes late, then took 25 minutes to get there. Either take a cab/bus/tram/walk, as they’re all quicker! I’ll be staying here again on my next trip to HK.

Room Tip: If your rate is eligble, email in advance to ask for a suite on a high floor to get a nice harbour v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Getting to and from the hotel is not that easy even though they have a shuttle bus going to the Macau Ferry Terminal and the Airport Express. No MTR station nearby and you need to know the Tram stops to be able to take it as it does stop just outside the hotel. For most taxi drivers you need to tell them Water Street to reach the hotel.
Stayed in 2506 - a double room with smaller than normal beds. The rooms need a upgrade as they look old.
But the rooms are clean and no smell.

Room Tip: There are 8-10 rooms per floor so you need to take a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We booked a three night stay at Ramada Hong Kong in September 2012. We picked it mainly for the price, and to explore a different part of HK Island. However, we were very impressed with every aspect of the hotel, from the prompt friendly check in (always a plus with a toddler in tow who needs to go to bed asap!), to the spacious well-furnished room, to the bed-over-backwards super friendly service of EVERYONE at the hotel. Staff would do whatever they could to help, and were friendly, efficient and knowledgable. I can't recommend the hotel highly enough. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

If you stay here, get a suite,very cheap large room, some Hong Kong hotel rooms are small, views of harbour,central location , don't pay for overpriced hotels book this. The pictures only show you the worst things. I would give it 8/10

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hong Kong

Address: No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 651 hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada Hong Kong 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ramada Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.