We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean But Needs Upgrade” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added Ramada Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ramada Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China (Sai Wan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 581 hotels in Hong Kong
Dubai
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Clean But Needs Upgrade”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Getting to and from the hotel is not that easy even though they have a shuttle bus going to the Macau Ferry Terminal and the Airport Express. No MTR station nearby and you need to know the Tram stops to be able to take it as it does stop just outside the hotel. For most taxi drivers you need to tell them Water Street to reach the hotel.
Stayed in 2506 - a double room with smaller than normal beds. The rooms need a upgrade as they look old.
But the rooms are clean and no smell.

Room Tip: There are 8-10 rooms per floor so you need to take a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    245
    139
    41
    29
See reviews for
65
96
68
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We booked a three night stay at Ramada Hong Kong in September 2012. We picked it mainly for the price, and to explore a different part of HK Island. However, we were very impressed with every aspect of the hotel, from the prompt friendly check in (always a plus with a toddler in tow who needs to go to bed asap!), to the spacious well-furnished room, to the bed-over-backwards super friendly service of EVERYONE at the hotel. Staff would do whatever they could to help, and were friendly, efficient and knowledgable. I can't recommend the hotel highly enough. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

If you stay here, get a suite,very cheap large room, some Hong Kong hotel rooms are small, views of harbour,central location , don't pay for overpriced hotels book this. The pictures only show you the worst things. I would give it 8/10

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are neat and clean and staff is friendly but at the price paid I would have expected a fat better breakfast menu than the current buffet breakfast served. Breakfast was quite awful. Also no real place to sit down and have a nice cup of coffee during the day at the hotel. The Cafe is in the hotel but is cold atmosphere and also not friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford, mi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with my overnight stay here. The hotel is a beautiful older hotel with nice touches. Free wifi and large rooms make it feel homey. It's located at west end of city (so it is quiet and safe) and right in front is local $2.30 HKD tram ride to/from where the action is. Room was reasonable (but Hong Kong taxes added another 50% to cost :) Still I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was my third time staying at the Ramada HK and the first time with two kids (1 and 3 years old). Overall, another positive value for money experience:

+room is very big and features a sliding door into the bedroom which is great as can close when the kids are asleep and watch TV
+decor is a bit retro (which I like in a way as I could imagine what the place was like 20 years ago) but room is very clean
+lots of counter / table top space which is very useful when you have young kids (e.g. space to dry bottles)
+I've always had a great view of the harbour which the kids love
+service is pretty decent and prompt
+location is pretty central without paying for Central prices
+hotel shuttle to Sheung Wan and Central stations is great and from there everything is accessible (Disney Land, Central, ferries, etc)
+reasonable number of restaurants are in the area (not fine dining, but pretty much what we were looking for) in addition a number of convenience stores and grocery stores
+tram goes by in front of hotel which didn't cause any noise and was fun for the kids to ride
+free wifi in lobby was fast

My only points for improvement (although they wouldn't impact my decision to stay again)
-elevators can be slow, especially when large tour groups check in
-shower in bathroom is very small

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, Jiangsu, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Booked the hotel through a travel website and got a good deal on the room. Had a Queen suite as part of the free upgrade package. 1st room we were in was very dated and had dark green carpet and smelt a bit. Probably due to not being used for a while. Asked to move which was no issue and 2nd room had much nicer carpet which meant it seemed lighter and bigger.

Room size is good for HK, but still not huge. Bathroom is fine.

Would we come back... yes, but we would also look at alternatives first.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hong Kong

Also Known As:
Ramada Hong Kong Hotel
Ramada Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ramada
Ramada Hong Kong
Address: No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 581 hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada Hong Kong 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Ramada Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.