We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room, clean, modern hotel, convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropark Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added Metropark Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Metropark Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41-49 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
FREE WIFI & Extra 15% OFF
Ranked #89 of 613 hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Large room, clean, modern hotel, convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had booked a "Spacious Comfort" room and was pleasantly surprised when I was upgraded to an "Executive" room and it was a REALLY nice room.

It was large, clean and comfortable - lots of space besides just the double-bed. There was an in-room safe, TV, work desk, fridge, and the usual toiletries. The bathroom was also large, clean and well-maintained. There was complimentary WiFi in the room and which was intermittent at times.

It is about two streets from Wan Chai MTR station so it is quite convenient. There is also the supermarket "WELLCOME" diagonally across the hotel. Lots of small eateries and convenience stores around for you to explore.

I had only a short stay but I certainly wouldn't mind choosing this hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    321
    91
    26
    7
See reviews for
56
107
75
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in October, overall a decent hotel. The room was a little small but we only purchased a standard room and this is HK after all. The rooms were very clean and housekeeping did a good job. The hotel is located close to the subway system with many shops around the area. We never ate at the hotel as there is an abundance of restaurants all over the place. The WiFi signal was a little spotty with weak signal in most of our room. My only comment would be to tone back the fragrance in the lobby - the fragrance is very strong when entering the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Really Happy with this place.

Clean, tidy and very good and friendly service. We had a problem with the shower, but when we rang they came and fixed it immediately. Perfect location, close to all transport and the major sights of HK Island. Really helpful with suggesting sights and information about public transport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

i was stayed here with my fiance for four times in this year, three times in metropark wanchai and one times in metropark causeway bay. and few times in last year as well
we always choose this hotel everytime we stop in hk.
very good location surrounding by restaurant, cafe, bar.
nice room and nice bed very clean and friendly staff with reasonable price.
few months ago we got bigger room and bigger tv etc with the same price as well we really thankfull to metro park and management staff:).
the restaurant in the hotel le chef restaurant is very nice also, western lunch buffet thats my favorite one. going to have lunch again here next week with my husband and few of our friends.
see you soon metro park.

Room Tip: higher floor less noise :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was traveling with my husband and 2 young children. We stayed in a triple room and requested for an additional rollaway bed.

The hotel fares fine if you are just looking for a place to rest at night. The room looks reasonably clean. Good room size according to HK standard. Our room overlooked the road and looks right into the homes of those staying in the building across the road. The busy street, old building across the road and the passing tram kept my kids entertained for a good half hour.

There is an abundant of eateries in the vicinity and thus very convenient if you want late night supper. Do try the Wing Wah Noodle Shop. They are just a minute walk away from the hotel. Turn left after exiting the hotel entrance. I like their wantons. It may be a tad salty for some but it is very tasty.

There is a short flight of stairs from the hotel lobby to the lift landing. It proves to be inconvenient when your kids are using the pram. If there is an available hotel staff nearby, they will assist in carrying the pram up the steps but it becomes too troublesome when you are alone with 2 kids and no one around to assist.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Pros: Location, customer service, cleanliness, soap dispenser (trust me)

Cons: Gym- no free weights. Wifi connectivity slow at times. Hard beds

Helpful staff and management who try their best to make your stay convenient. What's best is the hotel is simple yet has all the amenities one would need for a short stay. They could improve on the wifi connectivity since it is HK. Also, the beds on the non-executive floors are quite hard. Also, the gym absolutely needs free-weights and some more machines such as the pull-up bar.

Overall- very satisfactory

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKWH, Manager at Metropark Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Members - Royaldane375,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor of which have been taken for our immediate review.

Owing to the increasing demand of Wifi connection, the signal may be hampered at times during busy hours of which has been one of our priority concerns and system modification would be carried out soon to enhance the connectivity. In order to cater for different guest preferences, a reminder is placed on the bedside table indicating the availability of soft mattress and the choices of pillow in our hotel. However, we may update your history profile with the preference of soft mattress for future visits. It is a good idea for us to equip free-weights and pull-up bar in our gym as which would be considered in our review over the usage of equipment in upcoming season.

Hoping this piece of information allows us to the chance of giving you more pleasure of stay in future and you may contact us at doo.hkwh@metroparkhotels for updating your profile and further comments.

Best regards,
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here with friends for 3 nights and thought it was fine, but nothing out of the ordinary. The rooms were clean and the staff friendly. The booking I made was for a standard room which showed a picture of a king size bed, but once there I was advised that standard was twin beds. This was fine for me as I was staying with a friend, but I would be annoyed if I was travelling as a couple. Wifi isn't included in the price which is also slightly annoying, however the location is good and the price was competitive compared to other similar hotels I looked at.

The hairdryer in the room has to be the least powerful I've ever used, so if you don't want to be sat there forever trying to dry it, I would suggest taking your own. The shower is very powerful and shoots water everywhere, so be careful to turn it on gently or you'll get a a powerful blast in the face as I did or water all over the towels if your head isn't in the way!

There are some nice restaurants a short walk away. My favourite being 'The Pawn' which had a cool atmosphere and great roast food which reminded me of my Mum's Sunday dinners back in the UK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKWH, Manager at Metropark Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member – Hannah Mumbai

Many thanks for your good words and comments about the Metropark Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong. We are sorry that our Welcome Desk staff might have not introduced our corporate loyalty program namely ‘Heart Park Rewards’ to you upon arrival as joining this program, you will be offered free in-room internet and late checkout.

We sincerely thank you for your valuable comments on the hairdryer and shower and immediate review will be taken to the issues. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel on your next trip to HK and being of service to you again. Please feel free to contact me at doo.hkwh@metroparkhotels.com for further comments. .

Best regards,

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metropark Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropark Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong

Address: 41-49 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#66 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#73 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropark Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal accommodation that is both central and accessible, Metropark Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong is situated in the heart of Hong Kong’s luxury commercial, shopping and entertainment district. In great proximity to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre as well as the Mass Transit Railway Station, making it a breeze to get around the city that never sleeps. Each guest room showcases contemporary design with clear ambition for innovations and are equipped with LCD TV, wifi internet connectivity, electronic safety box, Mini Bar, Central Air-Conditioning, Telephone with IDD Access, Working Desk and more. Metropark Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong beckons as a homely and stylish accommodation option so that your experience in Hong Kong will exceed your expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Metropark Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropark Hotel Hong Kong
Metropark Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropark Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.