We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As close to perfection as it gets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Finance Street, Central, Hong Kong, China (Central)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free
Ranked #3 of 693 Hotels in Hong Kong
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“As close to perfection as it gets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

OK, let me start this review by saying a) I'm spoiled rotten by other modern Four Seasons and b) I stayed over Christmas, which obviously means the hotel was packed to the brim.

The level of excellence of this hotel has been amply described by other reviewers: the rooms are large, beautiful and impeccable, the views are stunning, the spa, the pool, the restaurants, the location... all wonderful and perfect.

The meal we had at the French restaurant at the hotel -- Caprice -- was probably one of, if not The, best meal we've ever had.

Did I mention the views? And the IFC mall (with its awesome shops and pretty good restaurants)? I mean, you almost don't have to leave the hotel and the immediate surroundings if you just looking for wonderful meals, sightseeing and shopping.

Did I also mention the great 42" Panasonic plasma in the room? Not that we were there to watch TV, but it is a nice touch.

However...

Both our arrival and departure experiences were... not up to Four Seasons standards.

At arrival, we were disappointed we didn't get the upgrade we were entitled too. Fortunately it's not like we booked a bad room to begin with, but after having the expectation set (and met always before this trip) it was disppointing. The whole thing also felt rushed and several details were msised.

Departure was actually even less perfect; we had booked a limo to take us to the aiport (this was at the end of an extended trip, we had a LOT of luggage), and, in customary FS fashion we did get a nice note card reminding us the car would be ready at 11:30am.

So we get down to the Front Desk by 11:15am to check out -- get our bill, pay... and suddenly the FS magic goes AWOL. First, the front desk person -- who just reviewed my bill -- didn't notice there was a charge for a limo and almost calls a taxi for us. So we have to point out that we have a limo setup. No biggie, right? Well, the front door staff also forgot about our limo and they actually give it to somebody else. So we have to wait around until almost 12pm for *another* limo to show up -- and when it does, the driver seems to be in a bad mood and the car is not up to the standard of the limo that was given to somebody else -- which was the same that had taken us in a few days earlier.

I know, I sound kinda petty, and to be quite honestly given the choice I'm never going to stay anywhere else in Hong Kong, but hey -- when you strive for perfection (which this FS clearly does) even the smallest snafu needs to be pointed out.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,337
    173
    33
    10
    11
See reviews for
307
457
112
480
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Its a four seasons...expectation come with the territory! Our welcome to Four Seasons was delightful and sort of smooth! My son mostly was interested in Disney and ocean park...boy did we love that experience! Although the website potrays a picture that it makes that extra effort to dazzle the young children.

For a four seasons, we were hardly dazzled...I dont know because it was HongKong. Even the reception team made sure to remind me it is best suited as a business hotel. Did I make the wrong choice for a family hotel? Not so much. The hotel by itself is beautiful...the pool, the spa (although the therapists arent amazing) and the lounge on the 45th floor had the most brilliant view of magnificent hongkong.

In terms of food...great food as in the menu..but if you go out of the menu...the chefs are more tuned to the existing process than into anything innovative. Overall a great place to be, but dont go with HUGE expectations. Its a good hotel...period.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

I am a frequent business traveler and have to say, I am biased when it comes to Four Seasons hotels. A long time guest at the FS hotels in various cities in the world, the FS Hong Kong is what I think is the best what one can expect from any hotel in the world. I do realize that hotel experiences are the most personal ones of any experience and a recommendation is hard to give as personal taste is immensely subjective, as this website shows.

However if one could compare Four Seasons Hong Kong with a top notch hotel management school, this would be the Harvard under the hotel business schools, this is how a hotel should be run. Bordering to absolute perfection. Contemporary (unlike some older FS properties), exquisite tastefully designed rooms, spacious (at least the room I stayed in, try always to avoid the “standard” if you can afford). The service is impeccable, personal and discrete. The hotel is somewhat located out of the city buzz but for many that’s a pro rather than a negative. The hotels houses the best restaurants in the city, among a Michelin star rated Chinese restaurant. The concierge can at some occasions, be somewhat impersonal, but is always correct and elegant. Does that mean there can’t be going anything wrong, as some here suggest? Sure it can, as is the case with other high class hotels. I stayed here several times and among all the hotels I stayed in this hotel ranks among the best business hotels in the world.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

I will be brief.

I did a great deal of research were to stay. I was traveling with my wife and almost three year old daughter. I decided on this hotel because it is a Four Seasons and all the great reviews on this site.

While the hotel did some things right (free updgrade, great room service food, great view), they did more things wrong (terrible booking experience, conceriage was horrible, cold pool which was supposed to be heated).

And for the price I expect perfection. That is the deal here. You pay big money you should get top notch service.

My experience at another hotel (I won't use the name because it makes my review look fake) was much better.

I cannot recommend this hotel for the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Superb quality hotel - staff in both hotel and restaurants were attentive without being patronising - pool staff particularly helpful. Ah the infinity pool.. the best bit if you like swimming in the coolness of evening in warm warm water towards the harbour vista in one direction and the cityscape lights the other. Even the men did breast stroke (so no splish splash from front crawlers!) to admire the view! Espresso coffee in room - fabulous panoramic view from the bedroom window. The spa was also wonderful. Would ABSOLUTELY go back - even reducing nights there to distill experience into an affordable number of days.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

A joyful experience from start to finish. First time in HK but certainly will stay at Four Seasons when next there. Wonderful, sweet staff, room requests (high floor, away from elevator) honoured even though on a ridiculously low corporate rate, fabulous setting, stunning well equipped and quiet rooms. Great gym and pool/hot tubs overlooking harbour/Kowloon, had them to myself every morning.

Pool bar and room service both excellent in terms of quality, although the bar staff were good at avoiding your eye so you had to get up and go to the bar to order, rather than getting table service.

Would return here for business or pleasure in a second.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

A very comfortable, clean, luxury hotel. Excellent service from friendly and welcoming staff, nothing is too much to ask. Beautiful pool. Beautiful rooms. Beautiful Food. Dream Hotel really - but you pay for it! It's expensive, especially when compared to other 5 star hotels in HK. More than double per night for some. I think this place is great though!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.8 Finance Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Central , Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront overlooking Victoria Harbour and the financial district, Four Seasons redefines luxury and excellence in a city renowned for exceptional accommodations. As part of the prestigious International Finance Centre, it offers unrivalled links to Hong Kong Station, with the famed Star Ferry steps away. In a city known for great dining, Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong is the only hotel in the world with two Michelin three-star restaurants - Caprice and Lung King Heen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Four Seasons Hong Kong
Hong Kong Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.