We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for a young family!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Kong Disneyland

Hong Kong Disneyland
Lantau Island, Hong Kong, China
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$114*
and up
Hong Kong Disneyland Admission with Transport
Ranked #23 of 394 Attractions in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 5,021 Reviews
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Disney, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grand Opening: September 12, 2005
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great for a young family!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

we have read a lot of reviews about HK Disneyland about how small etc and not very good! I strongly disagree!! we had a fantastic day there! the rides were excellent and we filled the whole day in. Good value for money. Have been to Euro disney and this was definately better. Obviously you can't beat America and you need to appreciate the fact that it is marketed towards the Asian tourist. I could not fault it in any way!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,225
    1,770
    753
    187
    86
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not just for the kiddies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I arrived via the Disneyland express train from the city. Very easy to navigate.

I was really surprised at how NOT tacky this place was. Definitely worth a visit if you have a day to spare. Bathroom facilities everywhere, and very clean! Food was not too expensive but there was not a lot of choice for western styled food. Go mid week to avoid the crowds, and make sure you stay for the fireworks!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was skeptical because some people told me it wasn't worth the money but my 6 year old and I loved it.. The whole day was magical and beautiful. The lines weren't to bad either.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Happiest place in Hong Kong .... for the little ones and the young at heart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We visited on a weekday peak period (December 27) and lines were not very long. (20-30 minute wait times). I brought some light snacks (small packs of chips and cookies) and bottled water. We did not have a problem taking them in even if it was clearly visible during bag inspection. We brought in a back pack with wheels to pull along in the park but we were advised to either put the bag in the locker or carry it and not roll it as they were expecting a lot of visitors. We did not find the park very crowded that day though. We were in Disneyland as soon as the park opened and went directly to Big Grizzly Mountain Mine Cars because it was the newest addition to the park. We were able to comfortably finish the attractions we wanted to go to, shows and parade by 6:00PM. Our original plan was to do a little outlet shopping in Citygate Outlets (Tung Chung) and come back for the fireworks but the kids did not want to go back for the fireworks anymore. It was our little girl that enjoyed Disneyland because she did not have any memory of Disneyland the last time we brought her. The boys (teeners) are outgrowing Disney and would probably opt to stay home next time.

We bought our tickets from China Travel Service at the airport. (Located after customs declaration. Stall # 4 ; left of McDonald’s) Adult ticket from CTS is HKD 370 and child is HKD 270. CTS only accepts cash. Tickets issued can be directly used at the turnstile.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Disneyland - How to maximise the experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

BACKGROUND
I live near Disneyland and my family has an annual pass that allows us to visit multiple times. We go on average every 2 months or so.

The park is not large and can be seen in 1-2 days - it really depends on whether you want to try everything or just focus on the best bits.

WHEN TO GO - Weather.
The middle of summer in HK is really hot and humid. Avoid this time ! If you do go then - head to the shows or indoor rides (small world / buzz etc) to get some air conditioning.

WHEN TO GO - Chinese Tourists.
Disneyland gets a lot of visitors from China and all of the ride queues will be horrendous if you visit the Park on a Chinese public holiday. Definitely avoid the Chinese New Year period (date fluctuates but is Jan/Feb) and Golden Week (1-8 October).

Weekends are also busy and best to be avoided if possible.

TIMING - Morning
The best way to get to as many rides as possible is to go to the Park as soon as it opens and head to the back of the park straight away. That will guarantee you a relatively free first hour or so.

TIMING - Late afternoon & Evening.
Another good time to visit is late afternoon. You will find that a lot of visitors go home for dinner leaving the park quite empty in the evening.

RIDES WITH FAST QUEUES
The following rides tend to be quicker to get onto.
- Buzz Lightyear
- Small world
- Tarzan Treehouse
- The Fantasyland smaller rides (jumbo etc)

RIDES TO AVOID - long wait
- Winnie the Pooh
- The car ride in Tomorrowland.

Have Fun !

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong Disneyland also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Hong Kong Disneyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Kong Disneyland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.