We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the time.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lamma Island

Lamma Island
Lamma Island, Islands Distict, Hong Kong, China
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$89*
and up
Hong Kong and Macau Attractions Pass
Ranked #25 of 392 Attractions in Hong Kong
Type: Islands, Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Take the time.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

As I am often in Hong Kong for short periods, decided to spend my 3 days on Lamma Island. Well worth the 30 minute ferry from Central. Cost is either 16 or 22 HKD depending upon the time.

The island reminds me quite a lot of the feel of Malta. There is basically only 2 roads, no cars, only foot traffic and occasional bicycle type conveyance. Restaurants are plentiful as are hotels. I stayed at the Bali Resort Hotel. They are pretty basic, but compared to HK prices, quite cheap.

Take a walk around the island along the numerous walking trails. There are also many small beaches and the water is clean and clear enough for swimming. There are some netted beaches to keep out sharks and sea snakes....(though I didn't see any).

This is not a high-class tourist destination. Many expats live there. It is more of a relaxed wandering destination. If you are looking for that, or to get away from the (sometimes) claustrophobic atmosphere of HK... take the ferry... No 4 Pier.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    229
    65
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City MD
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

For abotu $1 US we took the ferry from Central here. Twenty-five minutes we arrived at a place away from the hustle of Hong Kong. The main attraction (for us) was a less than half mile main street, with overpriced seafood restaurants and shops. No cars are allowed but there were small motarized vehicles delivering products that pushed you out of the way. No building is taller thna 4 stories and there were certainly fewer people here. Overall, however, I did not think this was really such a great place to visit, but it was nice to see one of the outer islands.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

What can I say? This island is my home for past 20 years. No cars, laid back attitude of the residents, and the island people knows everyone by face if not by name. We got everything we need in this island.

Great restaurants, great food, great community.

I highly recommend this place to visit when you're in Hong Kong.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A good quiet day away from the bustle of Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

A 30 minute boat ride from Pier 4, Central, gets you to Yung Shue Wan on Lamma Island. This is the largest settlement on the Island but it still has some of the feel of a small fishing village. Come here for walking and eating... the seafood restaurants are well known.

On his TV show "48hr Layover", chef Anthony Bourdain came here and ate at Lamcombe Seafood Restaurant (47 Main Street, Yung Shue Wan). However this spot has now changed its name and its location slightly (the building owner wanted to renovate and open a steakhouse).

Now called Andy's Seafood Restaurant (43 Main Street, Yung Shue Wan) is an excellent spot to sit on a terrace overlooking the harbour and eat great food. Lightly steamed whole fish with ginger and spring onion, scallops with vermicelli and garlic, black bean razor clams and salt and pepper squid. All fresh; all excellent! Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great walking trails (if you can hope with the heat)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Looking for a cheap day out in Hong Kong? Take the ferry to Lamma and take a walk around the well laid out, well sign posted walking trails. At certain times of the year walking about outside is more appealing than when it is super hot and humid. Nevertheless walking around this island is a total change of pace and wonderful contrast to the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lamma Island also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Lamma Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamma Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.