We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You should go there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Buddha

Big Buddha
Lantau Island, Hong Kong, China
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Big Buddha like an insider
Top Rated
$130*
and up
Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong...
Ranked #6 of 712 things to do in Hong Kong
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children
stockholm
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You should go there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Loved the trip there and back on the cable cars (chose the normal ones). The steps up aren't that bad if you take your time. Very popular. If you are a bit scared of dogs be warned that there are a number of large dogs on the way to the statue. They seemed harmless but just a surprise there were so many.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,490
    1,542
    374
    61
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“more earlier more quiet.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I recommend to go earlier in the morning, especially earlier than tour group.
It has fresh air and calm atmosphere in the morning.
(I went there around 10.00-10.30 am., as the cable cars start to operate.)
The shops around have some cute and interesting souvenir, such as cute buddha figures or chinese charms.

The big buddha isn't so interesting for me.
(I've seen Nara's big buddha, in Japan.)
But if you're interesting in buddhism, it's not bad to come and check for it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A great escape from the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

If you wanted to escape the hustle and bustle of the city then this is for you.

You can jump on the gondola from Lantau direct into Po Lin and the Big Buddah. I believe its the largest free standing bronze statue in the world, one your under it you realise the scale of it.

After a nice walk around the monestry we tackled the many steps up to the top. we sadly had a low cloud on two of our trips here but with breaks in the clouds we could appreciated the great views.

A nice escape.

thanks

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must go point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Take Tung Chung MTR line, and you can choose the cable car with normal cabin and crystal cabin. You will have impressive experience to ride with crystal cabin, The Ngong Ping design like a small township before you enter to the Big Buddha statute. There are 265 staircase to reach the Big Buddha.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were very lucky as we saw the Big Buddha before lunch and could see him from the cable car as we arrived. After lunch it became so foggy and rainy that you couldn't see 10 metres. The Big Buddha himself is really big and you do need a guide to explain his origin and also the inside relics. Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Buddha also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Big Buddha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Buddha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.