We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely disappointing - would not stay here again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of J Plus Hotel by YOO

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added J Plus Hotel by YOO to your Saves list
J Plus Hotel by YOO
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1-5 Irving Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Formerly J Plus Boutique Hotel) (Causeway Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 297 Reviews
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Completely disappointing - would not stay here again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Had a horribly disappointing experience at this place. Room is a good size, but simply did not feel or seem clean. The walls are paper thin and I was able to hear everything that was going on in the neighbors rooms, making it very difficult to sleep. The location is good and the staff really tried the best and was friendly and responsive, but the hotel is simply not a nice hotel - more of a 2 star sort of dive for the price of a 4 star hotel. The entire building smells like smoke. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone ever.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear BrooklynTraveller30 ,

Please kindly accept my sincere apology for the cleanliness of the room . I have shared this comment with our housekeeping team and we are paying extremely close attention to this area. I would be grateful if you have the time to share with me directly with more specific feedback that you may have to assist us to better understand our shortcomings.
Once again, my sincere apologies for such a disappointing experience of our hotel.
We do hope that we can have a opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for a true J Plus experience.

Sincerely,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
eunicechung@jplushongkong.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    124
    35
    13
    6
See reviews for
32
104
33
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Just had a night stay over last Monday. Renovation still going on and can caused a bit confusion and there was no Clear direction / Name reflected on the Hotel exterior upon arrival. (Although after dinner the signage was up )This boutique lobby can be consider too shabby for a 4-Star Hotel. Staff attitude was good though and help us through check in smoothly.
Suite room at high floor was good as is quieter. I cannot imagine those rooms that are lower floor, and hearing the drill in middle of the night can be bad.
Did not take the breakfast as I think getting one from the near by local café / coffee shop would have a better variety.
The nice deco and good location is a plus point, maybe the disappointment only is the over expectation we had establish from the web. Hopefully with the refurbishment done the hotel can do better in the future

Room Tip: Request High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear UK17,

Thank you for taking your time to share a review of J Plus. Please accept my apology for the signage during the renovation, I am glad to announce that all the renovation at the lobby has been completed ,once again, apology for all the inconvenience caused .
I was otherwise pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We do hope that we can have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We stay in Hong Kong regularly, normally in Kowloon area. However, decided to stay on the Island to be near the rugby stadium. We have used many boutique hotels around the world.... This place is not one! Putting funky furniture into a building does not make it 'boutique'. The customer service was non existent, no warm welcome, no showing you to the room, no explanation of where anything was, no info re. breakfast (which was as several others have stated severely lacking and actually quite insulting!). And I'm going to nit pick now, our bedsheet had a tear in it and the towels had seen better days. Only on our last morning were the staff helpful in getting us a taxi to the airport. This place is part of the Mr & Mrs Smith collection. I think they should reconsider including this hotel. Two positives...our suite was very spacious and the location was fantastic. Overall though a really disappointing experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear MJSpinks,

Please kindly accept my sincere apology for the inattentive guest service you experienced at J Plus during your previous visit .
It was definitely not acceptable and not the typical standard of service of J Plus , please kindly rest assured that your valuable comments will be shared and be addressed to the guest relation team .
The check-in and welcome procedures will be reviewed and be improved.
Once again, please kindly accept my most sincere apology.

I am sorry that you felt the on-the go breakfast was not up to your expectation , we normally serve the complimentary continental breakfast at the lobby and due to the renovation we couldn't not serve the breakfast as buffet style instead we pre-packed some on-the-go breakfasts for our guests to start their day with. Please accept my apology for limited choices of the on-the-go breakfast. I am glad to announce that all the renovation has been completed at the lobby and we started to serve the continental breakfast with our normal setting again.
Apology for all the inconvenience caused.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to J Plus again in the near future so that we could provide you a much better J Plus experience.

Sincerely,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The hotel is quirky in design which we really liked. The room was small but lovely. The staff were always wonderfully helpful - every recommendation given was top notch.

The location meant it was an easy walk to everything we wanted as we explored.

Good midday check out with excellent assistance with our bags as we continued to explore.

Definitely would return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hello Jim Q,

Many thanks for taking your time to share a review of J Plus Hotel by YOO.
I was truly thrilled to learn that you had a wonderful stay and our staff were attentive.
We look forward to having you back with us again soon!

Best Wishes,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The location is good and bad!.......If you want to be in the middle of the city within easy reach of just about everything then you are in for a real treat. If on the other hand you want a bit of peace of quiet you are going to be disappointed. The noise from the traffic is unbelievable, those double decker buses are really noisy, and there are hundreds of them. We were on the sixth floor. The main problem is the windows, single glazed badly fitted, let in all the noise. Quieter up on the 23rd floor. The hotel lobby was in process of been refurbished when we were there, and now looks very swish.
Breakfast was a bit disappointing brown bag with a small selection goodies.
Staff were friendly and polite.
Room was small, but clean, showers was good, had a small kitchenette, which is a bit odd considering how many places to eat there are within a stones throw(literally) and how cheap they are.
Overall enjoyed the stay, shame about the racket.

Room Tip: For your sanity, go as high as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear swshaw,

Thank you for taking your time to share a review of J Plus.
I was glad to learn that our staffs were attentive and helpful during your stay.
Apology for the limited choices of the temporary on-the-go breakfast . The renovation work of J Plus lobby has been completed and the complimentary continental breakfast are being served at the lobby again , hope that you will enjoy it during your next visit and please accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience caused due to the refurbishment.
Thank you for your kind understanding .
We look forward to seeing you again soon at J Plus!

Best Wishes,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Just because you call yourself a "boutique" hotel doesn't mean you can get away with poor service.

The wi-fi in the room didn't work properly and I had to go to the lobby to make calls.

There was no breakfast although I paid for "free breakfast". They told me I could call and get breakfast delivered to my room.

I did that. 5 minutes later someone knocked on my door and handed me a brown paper bag. Inside was a Kit Kat, a mini carton of milk, "Orange Drink" and a mini box of Frosted Flakes.

I kid you not. It was an embarassment.

Oh, did I mention that the room was so small f you exhaled you would be in the next room?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Eric1682,

Please kindly accept my sincere apology . I was truly disappointed to learn that the service your received was below standard . It's definitely not acceptable and does not reflect the standard of J Plus.
Apology for the limited choices for the on-the-go breakfast. The renovation work has been completed at the lobby and the continental breakfast is being served under the normal setting again. Truly sorry for any inconvenience caused during the renovation .

We do hope that we could have another opportunity to welcome you back to J Plus in the near the future for a much better J Plus experience. Please do feel free to contact me directly in this case.
We look forward to seeing you again at J Plus .

Best Regards,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
eunicechung@jplushongkong.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is a great hotel in a good location (but the subway is so good in HK that there are no really bad locations) The room was very good for the price - larger than we expected and clean and well fitted out with a small kitchenette.
The reception staff were great and tried to help in all situations. The balcony on the second floor was hard to find but a great retreat for a glass of wine (free from 6-8 pm) in the evening. (Wine was nothing to write home about but certainly drinkable after a hard day's sightseeing.) And they offered a cake and free tea/coffee and juice.
The hotel was under renovation when we were there but it did not interfere with our enjoyment - except that the continental breakfast was a bit weak as it was delivered to your room.

A perfect overnight place for visitors to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Don't go too high as there are only two elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Clack1600,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share a review of J Plus.
I was thrilled to learn that you had a lovely stay @ J Plus .We try our very best to keep minimal disturbance to our beloved guests during the renovation period and i was glad to learn that your J Plus experience wasn't affected by it at all . Hope you will love our new look as much as we do and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon @ J Plus.

Best wishes,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J Plus Hotel by YOO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Plus Hotel by YOO

Address: No.1-5 Irving Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Formerly J Plus Boutique Hotel)
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#83 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — J Plus Hotel by YOO 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Plus Hotel by YOO - Inspired by Starck. A boutique hotel located in the heart of Causeway Bay Hong Kong with 56 chic guests rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your J Plus Hotel by YOO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jia Boutique Hong Kong
Hotel Jia Boutique
Jia Boutique Hotel
Jia Hotel Hong Kong
Boutique Hotel Hong Kong
J Plus Hotel By YOO Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Plus Hotel by YOO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.