We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice staff and good deal for Hong Kong stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J Plus Hotel by YOO

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added J Plus Hotel by YOO to your Saves list
J Plus Hotel by YOO
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1-5 Irving Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Formerly J Plus Boutique Hotel) (Wan Chai / Causeway Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great location, nice staff and good deal for Hong Kong stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed in J Plus Boutique Hotel for 5 nights on business trip.
The room was nice and cozy even though one does not have to spend much time in the hotel room in a busy and never sleeping city like Hong Kong. It was situated very close (5 mins walking) from Causeway Bay Metro Station and all the restaurants and shopping malls and stores were within walking distance.
The rate is also reasonable for all the hotels available in Hong Kong.
The staff were very helpful and welcoming. They were very knowledable with all the local information including where to take taxi, how to go to Macau, good and reasonable massage places. They also helped me to find a cell phone I lost in the room! Thank you very much for all the hospitality and I hope to stay at your hotel next time when I visit Hong Kong again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Mosquito2009,
Thank you for your positive feedback via TripAdvisor, I was especially pleased to learn about the friendly and attentive service you’ve received. Please rest assured that our guest relation team will be recognized for their excellent services.
We look forward to having you back with us @ J Plus.

Best Regards,
Eunice Chung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    126
    35
    13
    6
See reviews for
33
106
33
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We love shopping in Hong Kong and where we stay is important as we want to be close to all the F&B, amenities and shopping areas. Causeway Bay (Hong Kong Island) is an expensive area so this is a gem in the district. Very beautiful, comfortable and reasonably priced. I'm writing this review to help many others like us who really want to have a nice experience Hong Kong, and not spend too much on accomodation.

J Plus Hotel is a short walk from the main Causeway Bay MTR and shopping areas like Hysan Place, Times Square, Lane Crawford, Sogo, Island Beverly and La Foret. You can take a short train ride to Central or Kowloon. We booked a 1-Bedroom suite for this Girls' trip and at almost 70 sqm, there was ample space and beds for the three of us. There was a day bed, dining area and living area complete with a sofa set and TV. The bathroom was clean, all towel and toiletries were provided. There was even a nice little kitchenette with cutleries and kitchen appliances, like microwave oven.

The lift was a little tiny and breakfast was not great, but since we are in Hong Kong, it was Dim Sum breakfast everyday in Mongkok. The hotel doesn't have much facilities like swimming pool, gym or spa. It has a nice little lounge area at the lobby. It does not have a drop off/pick up area so we had to packed all our huge luggages into the Taxi along the main road, so that was a little setback as the roads were busy and we had to rush. All in all, we were very happy with this hotel and will definitely stay here in future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello Chanelyn,
Truly appreciate that your took your time to share such a detailed review of J Plus. Thank you for recommending us to other TripAdvisor users here. It meant a lot to us , we will strive for improvements and to provide you an even better experience for your next stay.
Our whole team look forward to having you back with us soon.

Best wishes,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

A conveniently located hotel with rooms no bigger than in HK averagely. Concierge service is good as for booking hot restaurants and membership clubs and the rooms are nice looking and comfortable.
It's a 3 minute walk from the Times Square so if you prefer this part of the city it's definitely recommended.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much nnikolas for taking your time to share your previous experience of J Plus.
Glad to learned that you enjoyed the room and our personal concierge services.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Had no problem locating the hotel since we were armed with the map and address plus noted landmarks. The self-service station is a great idea to have the guests help themselves whenever refreshments or snacks are needed and not have to bother reception. Although the drinks served at 6pm are standard, it's still free nonetheless so we're happy campers! Thoughtful touches like providing a notebook for guests to scribble on or umbrellas when it's raining make a difference. Although we didn't get to use access to some partner establishments, a good list was offered. Whimsical and functional room decor that works with good WIFI signal to boot!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hello kaimorales, I was especially pleased to learn that you enjoyed the stay and appreciated all the little " extra" we provided. Thank you very much for taking your time to share your comment with us.
Our whole team are looking forward to have you back with us soon.

Best Regards,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I've stayed here 5 or 6 times for up to a week at a time. It's an apartment hotel but ticks most of the boxes. Tiny, well designed lobby with lounges and a small kitchenette area (where you can have a free breakfast and free wine at night). The studios are small but perfectly functional. I tend to go for the 1 bedroom which has a lounge area, dining, a kitchen and separate bedroom. Great for families as kids can sleep in a small alcove off the lounge room. Lots of storage space and pretty good value for Hong Kong. There's no pool and only limited room service but you go in expecting that. They don't have a 'connected' concierge like the bigger hotels which can be handy in Hong Kong when it comes to access to places like the China Club but staff offer good advice.

Walk 2 minutes to MTR or 5 minutes to Times Square. There's really nowhere for taxis to pull up outside but the staff help with bags and there are taxi ranks nearby. Plenty of restaurants in the street opposite which is undergoing massive change. Causeway Bay still very gritty which is nice and authentic.

The staff are pleasant and helpful but fall into the trap of lacking flexibility. If you ask for something non-standard (late checkouts etc) you'll get "that is not our policy". It's frustrating and quite specific to this place. A little problem solving on the part of the staff would be great as this is generally a terrific place to stay.

Room Tip: High floors are quieter + treat yourself to a 1-bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Many thanks GlobeExpress for your favorable and constructive comment of J Plus.
I was delighted to know that you enjoyed the room and had a pleasant stay with your family.
Thank you very much for your support to J Plus.
We will strive to do better and provide you an even better experience for you next time.
J Plus and our whole team are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It's a perfect place to stay.
I have been traveling to Hong Kong for 15 years and this is a great value for money hotel.
Free wi-fi, breakfast included, drinks at 6pm.
Sure it doesn't have a fancy foyer or bar area but the rooms are tidy, the bed is very comfortable. The room layout is a bit busy. The sitting room area not really required.
In good area 5-10 minutes from Times Square.
I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you Michael R for taking you time to share such a positive review of J Plus.
I was especially pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated all the little "extra" we've prepared for you.
J Plus and our whole team hope to see you @ J Plus again soon.

Warm Regards,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel,is,located centrally in Causeway Bay. Short walk to MTR. Room was clean, tight for space but functional. Kitchenette is handy but local food so cheap it was easier to eat out.
Staff attentive but need to smile more.
Breakfast was ok. Sharing breakfast area in foyer was a bit odd.
Overall, worth the stay & well priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hello SkipK, I was very glad to learned that you enjoyed your stay . Thank you for taking your time to share your previous experience of J Plus. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to J Plus Hotel by YOO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Plus Hotel by YOO

Address: No.1-5 Irving Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Formerly J Plus Boutique Hotel)
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#76 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — J Plus Hotel by YOO 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Plus Hotel by YOO - Inspired by Starck. A boutique hotel located in the heart of Causeway Bay Hong Kong with 56 chic guests J Plus Hotel by YOO - Inspired By Starck On its 10th anniversary in 2014, the former JIA Boutique Hotel, Hong Kong was rebranded as J Plus Hotel by YOO following a dramatic, dynamic new HK$10 million makeover for the iconic fashionista address in Causeway Bay by proteges of original designer Philippe Starck at world renowned design house YOO Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, T4B, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your J Plus Hotel by YOO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jia Boutique Hong Kong
Hotel Jia Boutique
Jia Boutique Hotel
Jia Hotel Hong Kong
Boutique Hotel Hong Kong
J Plus Hotel By YOO Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Plus Hotel by YOO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.