We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J Plus Hotel by YOO

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added J Plus Hotel by YOO to your Saves list
J Plus Hotel by YOO
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1-5 Irving Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Formerly J Plus Boutique Hotel) (Wan Chai / Causeway Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Handy location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel,is,located centrally in Causeway Bay. Short walk to MTR. Room was clean, tight for space but functional. Kitchenette is handy but local food so cheap it was easier to eat out.
Staff attentive but need to smile more.
Breakfast was ok. Sharing breakfast area in foyer was a bit odd.
Overall, worth the stay & well priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hello SkipK, I was very glad to learned that you enjoyed your stay . Thank you for taking your time to share your previous experience of J Plus. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    126
    35
    14
    6
See reviews for
33
107
33
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Big flat, clean, nice decoration and located near MTR and good shops. Neighborhood is not as good as Lan Kwai Fong or Central area, but it is ok. Usually lower price than average for a big room in HK. The problems: no appropriate in-room dinning (there is no kitchen in the hotel, they order in some restaurants, but is no sandwiches at night to order!), no appropriate breakfast (tables are shared with other guests, few options, no egg, etc), no concierge, no appropriate orientation about touristic activities, no appropriate luggage storage and one important problem during the winter -- there is no heating in the room!!! The room freezes! They should correct those problems, and they would have an excellent hotel. For now, is just a big flat rental with no heating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear bsmcarvalho ,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review through TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your open and honest feedback regarding to your experience at our hotel. Please accept my sincere apology for all shortfalls that you have encountered.

Please kindly note that we do have the concierge service, proper orientation and storage room at the lobby. Our Guest Relations team are standing-by 24/7 to assist our guests, please do not hesitate to let us know if we can be of any assistance.

Regarding to the heating facilities , we do provide a heater in each of our guestroom. A hearty complimentary continental breakfast is served at the lobby every day .I am sorry that you felt our selection was limited during your stay . We will continue to improve our selection,also we are more than happy to arrange some other options of breakfast to our guests, please contact us for the “Home Delivery” service.

Your satisfaction and well-being meant a lot to us, i do hope that we could grant another chance to provide you a much better experience at J Plus in the near future.

Best Regards,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We booked 4 nights through a website supposed to provide a selection of good boutique hotels worldwide, we had to leave after 2 sleepless nights. This is an old building well located in Causeway bay. In our room, there was a discontinuous rumbling noise possibly from malfunctioning A/C units that was worse from any traffic noise. Earplugs didn't help. The tiny room won't let you open your large suitcase without bumping into something. The mattress was very uncomfortable, you will feel every single move of your partner after you finally found some sleep. The breakfast with little room to sit was average. When we left before the end of our booking, no question asked... Honk Kong is worth much better than that, get yourself a proper hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manger at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello nyikoka, I am disappointed that learn that you did not enjoy your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies, it's an isolated incident and does not reflect the standard of J Plus.
Our whole guest relation team is standing by 24/7 to assist you .Please feel free to contact us for any enquiries or any problem during your stay.
We do hope to have the opportunity to provide you a much more pleasant experience with J Plus in the near future.
Stay warm & Best Wishes,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed 5 nights. Enjoyed every minute of it. It's worth getting a suite as it gives toddlers plenty of space to run around, do afternoon naps, etc.

How to find the hotel: tell the taxi driver it's across from regal hotel at causeway bay (which they will know) on Irving street. When you get to the road (there isn't a hotel sign), drive to the corner across from the bright neon lights of the Chinese medicine shop. The hotel is right across those lights. That shop is also a good spot to buy cheap bottled water and is ALWAYS open.

Great place. Loved it and will return!

Room Tip: Choose the suites. Nice size for not much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear speeddophin,

Thank you for sharing such an informative review via TripAdvisor regarding to our location.
I was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the suite and had a pleasant stay with us.
Hope to see you again soon.

Belated Happy New Year and Wish you the best for 2013!

Warmest Regards,
Eunice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Superbly located. Within walking distance to shopping , eating, all the transport (mtr buses tram) but away from the direct hustle and bustle. Directly opposite Ding Tai Fung for dumpling lovers. The suite gave our toddler plenty of room to play with his toys And relax. Much more room than many other hotels that are more expensive. We stayed 15 nights very comfortably. Very much loved having a kitchenette to prep little meals / milk for toddler. Good freezer ,microwave. Very handy being able to go downstairs to lobby to get free softdrinks and water 24/7. Love having access to laundry for washers and dryers as toddlers are very messy. Staff are pleasant and helpful. it's not as fancy as other hotels but would rather spend the money on practicalities than expensive looks for lengthy stay. Would stay here again and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear funguan,

I am truly glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay so much. Your satisfaction means a lot to us. Thank you for taking and time to share such a favorable comment of J Plus.
I will share it with our team and it's the biggest encouragement for us.
J Plus and our whole team are looking forward to have to back with us soon!

Belated Happy New Year and wish you the best in 2013!

Best Regards,
Eunice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the J Plus hotel. We had a very nice suite. Almost full kitchen, dining area and living room in addition to a comfortable bedroom. The room was very large for HK. The location was great just about 2 blocks from the Sogo department store and a short walk to everything. If you want a place with a bar, entertainment and restaurant this isn't the place. however just about everything you need is just a block or two down the street. It would be nice if they did a little more for breakfast. The bf consisted of fruits, yogurt, breads, cerals, coffees and juices. It was fine for a continental breakfast but something a little more substantial would have been nice. The seating for breakfast wasn't ideal. If you can look past the breakfast the rest of the hotel is very nice. **** for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you very much Ken R for your favourable review of J Plus.
I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the suite and had a good stay with us. I look forward to see you again soon @ J Plus.
Warmest Regards,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Located within walking distance of great food places and midst of shopping haven. Staff extremely helpful - we requested a quiet room as we had a toddler, we got a perfect room that was really quiet. Breakfast was nothing to shout about (nothing fancy but all regular good healthy choices) but with so many breakie choices nearby, not a big issue. Their afternoon tea - are not to be missed. Pastries are fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you very much CodyKow for sharing such a favorable review of J Plus regarding to your recent stay. I am so glad to learn that you had a wonderful experience while staying with us and your satisfaction means a lot to us . The whole J Plus team is looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Warmest Regards,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J Plus Hotel by YOO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Plus Hotel by YOO

Address: No.1-5 Irving Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Formerly J Plus Boutique Hotel)
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#76 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — J Plus Hotel by YOO 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Plus Hotel by YOO - Inspired by Starck. A boutique hotel located in the heart of Causeway Bay Hong Kong with 56 chic guests J Plus Hotel by YOO - Inspired By Starck On its 10th anniversary in 2014, the former JIA Boutique Hotel, Hong Kong was rebranded as J Plus Hotel by YOO following a dramatic, dynamic new HK$10 million makeover for the iconic fashionista address in Causeway Bay by proteges of original designer Philippe Starck at world renowned design house YOO Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, T4B, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your J Plus Hotel by YOO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jia Boutique Hong Kong
Hotel Jia Boutique
Jia Boutique Hotel
Jia Hotel Hong Kong
Boutique Hotel Hong Kong
J Plus Hotel By YOO Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Plus Hotel by YOO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.