We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly friendly staff they have!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 613 hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazingly friendly staff they have!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Location wise was ok. 10 minutes walk to time square. View from my room (2305) had a Catholic cemetery. But i closed my curtains all day. Staffs were always smiling and making small chats with us. Always ready to help us. The free shuttle is very useful and prompt. The room.like any other hotel in town is small. (Very common in hk) but enough to fit 2 ppl in a room. Had good rest with 5 pillows in total to myself on a queen size bed. :)

Will return again after they refurbished the rooms in august.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,922 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    522
    890
    374
    95
    41
See reviews for
457
410
171
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

front desk and staff in restaurant are polite, helpful, and cheerful.
tour desk person needs updating for knowledge and skills for taxi fares
needs to enforce NO Smoking rules as we can smell it in the passage ways
room door need work - can hear doors banging shut and children clearly

Room Tip: book delux room before you go so not paying extra when you arrive to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Frank,

Thank you for staying at Cosmopolitan Hotel. It’s great to know that you were pleased with the professional service rendered by us during your stay. Having said that, we will definitely reinforce training towards the concerned staff at tour desk to make sure accurate information will be provided to guests under any circumstances. On the other hand, while most of our hotel rooms are non-smoking rooms, penalties will be incurred if guests are found smoking on those floors. We hope you had relayed this issue to our Guest Services Manager on the spot for immediate investigation. Lastly, we regret to learn about the occasional noise you encountered and your suggestion will be seriously considered to enhance the current sound-proof facilities. Thank you for your valuable feedback again and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a good hotel in a good location in the heart of Wan Chai. It's only a few minutes walk to Times Square with its shopping and eateries. Rooms are of a good size compared to other hotels I have stayed in in HK. My room felt a little dated though - but renovations are currently being carried out, so the hotel management is obviously aware of this. Staff very very friendly and helpful indeed: in this respect the hotel deserves 4 stars. On the slightly negative side: my mattress was way too hard - and that means something as I tend to prefer a hard mattress. I'm also not sure why the complimentary wifi still requires a service charge. It's not really complimentary if there is a charge after all. This is all the more silly given that the charge is tiny. Why have it at all? Overall I liked the hotel and would happily stay again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The staff are genuinely helpful and they were usually very busy with a lot of traffic in a small lobby area. The hotel is located more or less mid-way between Wan Chai and Causeway Bay MTR stations but there's precious little in the immediate vicinity.
Basic accommodation is not exorbitant for Hong Kong and the rooms are quite large. The unkindest cut is when they offer the "special" of breakfast for two and W-fi for about AUD$70 per night. The Wi-fi should be free in my humble opinion. As it was, the connection worked intermittently and then disconnected when the mood took it.
The breakfast was well below par. There was little or no variety over the three days we stayed and the choices were unremarkable - just fuel. For $70 far better should be provided.
In terms of value and location its rating would be about 3.5. The "add-ons" should be avoided, though, and they reduce the rating considerably.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the racecourse. The other views are of a graveyard or an overpass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Cosmopolitan is well located amid the busy shopping and business districts - Wan Chai and Causeway Bay aiming to offer guests easy access to all major destinations. It’s only an 8-minute away from the closest Causeway Bay subway station and many of our guests do love the array of localised restaurants and shops on the way.

We trust you are talking about our limited-time room upgrade offer which not only comes with a more spacious room but also with internet access and breakfast inclusive at just a little cost. Having said that, we regret to learn about the occasional incident regarding the internet and we hope you had the chance to relay this to our Guest Services Manager on the spot for immediate assistance. Your comment on our breakfast is also well noted which will definitely be reviewed for future improvement on both food quantity and quality.

We truly hope this single staying experience will not prevent you from staying with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laoag City, Laoag, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We chose this hotel as it had great views of downtown Hong Kong and we could get 2 rooms back to back so we were beside each other.

The hotel was big, rooms were great and the view was amazing!

The breakfast was included and was great with a huge selection!

The front door guys were always quick to give us tips on where to go and what to do! They also had a shuttle bus taking people to Times Square and other stops.

We went to Hong Kong Disneyland - was far but great! We did lots of shopping in the day/night market and got lots and lots of deals!

Hong Kong is something to see - don't forget to try the Peking Duck AND if you are wanting take out - the term is take away!

Room Tip: We upgraded to the city view room and it was a great view - also could see the race track and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is so close to the Happy Valley racecourse that you could watch the action from your bedroom. Location was excellent, hotel was shining white and the rooms very comfortable, The reception area was usually chaotic due mainly to the popularity of the hotel. When a friend had a nose bleed the staff were very attentive. Highly recommended,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at the Cosmopolitan for 2 nights in June.
Choice had been guided by previous reviews and I was not disappointed. The hotel was good but all the staff were great.
I arrived before midday and expected to have to wait to check in but was pleasantly surprised to find I could access my room straight away. I was given a room on the top floor which yes did overlook a graveyard but that did not bother me at all. Upon returning to my room that evening i noticed a constant "humming" noise even after turning off the air conditioning and rang down to reception and someone was up straightaway to investigate, agreed there was a noise but not certain what it was but I was allocated a superior room on a lower floor (only downside was frosted window and no views) and was helped in the move by Alison (who was an excellent ambassador for the hotel).
My flight out of HK was quite late and I therefore enquired about a late check-out and again Alison was very helpful, I appreciate that it may not always be possible for them to help with early check in and late check outs and maybe I was lucky but it does make a difference.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#81 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing free Wi-Fi in the lobby, the 4-star Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong is a short 10-minute walk from Causeway Bay MTR Station. Free shuttle services cover popular spots like Times Square and the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre.The elegant rooms have large windows, as well as relaxing massage shower cubicles in the bathrooms. A flat-screen TV and iPod docks are included. The room is also equipped with a minibar, personal safe and tea/coffee making facilities.Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong is just next to Happy Valley Racecourse. It is a 5-minute train ride from Wan Chai Business District and a 15-minute drive from Ocean Park amusement park.Guests can exercise at the fitness centre, or enjoy foot massages and body treatments at the Foot Joy Club. The hotel also provides a business centre and a tour desk.He Jiang Restaurant serves authentic Sichuan and Huai-yang dishes, while 3T Bar offers an extensive cocktail and wine menu. In-room dining is possible with room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.