We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a business visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 652 Hotels in Hong Kong
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great for a business visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The Cosmopolitan faces Happy Valley racecourse and is an economical, clean and friendly stop for business people and families on a budget. Central location, nice rooms and a good restaurant, but no bar. Mind you, there are a lot nearby in East Queen's Road. Staff are excellent and you'll enjoy the stay.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    891
    369
    94
    38
See reviews for
481
423
174
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

It has a good location so we don't have to spend a lit of time travelling to places we want to go.The front desk and all the other staff are so nice to us. We are pleased to live in cosmopolitan within such price range.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Small VERY NOISY rooms. . Hotel seems to be run by a bunch of teenagers. Bad service. expensive breakfast. Unhelpful staff. Dirty. We moved to a much better hotel for the same price. Free wifi only in crowded reception area. Altogether very very mediocre experience. . Glad we moved.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear SassySista,

Thank you for staying with us. While all our staff is professional trained to provide the best service to our guests, we regret to know that our service didn’t meet your expectation this time. Training will be reinforced to ensure exceptional service to be delivered under any circumstances. Please also accept our apology on the occasional noise you have encountered during your stay, we hope it didn’t bring you much inconvenience.

On the other hand, your feedback towards our breakfast is well noted. We will definitely continue to improve the food quality and quantity in the future. Though free Wi-Fi is available in the lobby and public areas, we suggest you to visit our official website for exclusive offers like free Wi-Fi in guestroom, best rate guarantee and 24-hour stay etc. We also hope you will have the chance to try our other room types measuring up to 48 sq. m. by next time. Rest assured that our Housekeeping team will be reminded to pay extra attention to ensure excellent hygiene condition within the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back for another promising stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a hotel run by teenagers. Bad service, small VERY NOISY rooms, expensive breakfast, free wifi only in congested reception. We moved hotels after a few nights and found amazing place closer to station for the same price. The people at this hotel are unfriendly, told us "not to bother with tram or bus" meanwhile the tram is a great way to see the city.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear SassySista,

Thank you for staying with us. While all our staff is professional trained to provide the best service to our guests, we regret to know that our service didn’t meet your expectation this time. Training will be reinforced to ensure exceptional service to be delivered under any circumstances. Please also accept our apology on the occasional noise you have encountered during your stay, we hope it didn’t bring you much inconvenience.

On the other hand, your feedback towards our breakfast is well noted. We will definitely continue to improve the food quality and quantity in the future. Though free Wi-Fi is available in the lobby and public areas, we suggest you to visit our official website for exclusive offers like free Wi-Fi in guestroom, best rate guarantee and 24-hour stay etc. Cosmopolitan is actually just an 8-minute walk away from the nearest Causeway Bay subway station with an array of localised shops and restaurants on the way. We also hope you will have the chance to try our other room types measuring up to 48 sq. m. and also the free shuttle service towards 15 destinations by next time. We look forward to welcoming you back for another promising stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while attending a sporting event at Happy Valley, so for me it was insanely convenient. If you're going to HK to sightsee, though, know that it is about a 10-12 minute walk to the nearest subway station. But that 10 minutes will also take you to Times Square and almost to Causeway Bay, so if you're blessed with nice weather (I wasn't), its not a bad walk.

The room was comfortable, the shower pressure was amazing, and the air conditioning was blissfully cold. The front desk and concierge are very helpful, and there's a nice back entrance where they'll call a cab for you at any time.

The only things that bothered me: rooms don't come with free internet (you have to upgrade a few levels to get breakfast or WIFI), but there was free WIFI in the lobby. Also, the windows in the standard/superior rooms don't open, which can be frustrating if a monsoon hits and you have heaps of soaking wet clothes.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on a high floor, because we heard it was noisy on the lower levels. We spend on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel has the potential, and is trying very hard, but it's just not a quality hotel. It's the small things that let it down. I was on a completely non-smoking floor, however someone in the room across the hall was smoking, and it was in my room - I called reception, and was told basically there was nothing they could do and to just turn my air conditioning up to circulate the air in my room - not good enough, especially when we were told very clearly that smoking will have a fine, rooms are checked daily, etc (so assuming they have a problem).

I had booked a 'valley view room' - however all I was able to see was the back of the grandstand (on level 15!) charged a premium for pretty much nothing

Breakfast was very poor - it's held in a restaurant that does not have the seating capacity nor ability to service a buffet breakfast. We were waiting in line with about 2 groups in front and 4-5 behind - when a couple were leaving, noticed their colleagues were waiting at the end of the line - then proceed to usher them in, and sit them down at the table they were vacating, in front of the staff who said nothing.

I would not return to this hotel and unsure why this hotel has the high ratings it does

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. First of all, we regret to learn about the smoking issue you have encountered while you are staying on the non-smoking floor. We believe our Guest Service Team had suggested you to turn your air conditioning up to have better ventilation in the room as an immediate action to ease your concerns. At the same time, all our guestrooms are checked daily and penalties will be applied upon noticing similar incidents. We apologise for the inconvenience caused in this occasional case.

On the other hand, we are also sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience during the breakfast time. Your feedback is well noted and we will seriously review the seating arrangement and service in the restaurant to prevent the same from happening again. Though many of our guests have actually given us a thumb up on the unique greenery view of the racecourse, most of our rooms also come with the amazing view of the city’s skyline that worth trying upon your return. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I checked on TripAdvisor before booking this hotel and the photos looked excellent, the bedroom might even have been the one that we stayed in however the picture must have been taken years ago. Everything was shabby, the carpets dirty and marked, the furniture also covered in old ring marks from drinks.

From the moment we arrived in the extremely noisy lobby we realised that this just wasn't for us. Really disappointed. Even though we were on the 25th floor we could hear the traffic from down below. The air conditioning was set at very cold, according to the duty manager, it was centralised and couldn't be altered!

It was obviously a cheap hotel as there were lots of children. The breakfast was adequate.

So pleased we were only staying two nights.

Room Tip: I just wouldn't stay there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Jackie,

Thank you for staying with us. We regret to hear about the occasional room condition you have encountered this time. Though all our rooms are tidied up on a daily basis, rest assured that our Housekeeping team will be reminded on their attentiveness to avoid the same from happening again. We also appreciate your understanding that the lobby was a bit filled upon your arrival possibly due to high occupancy on that day. While our hotel is well-equipped with soundproof facilities, your comments are well noted and we will definitely review for continuous improvement.

On the other hand, please accept our apology on the miscommunication arose regarding the air conditioning in your room and the inconvenience caused. Actually every room is equipped with a thermostat control that allows our guests to alter to the most suitable temperature. Continuous training will be reinforced to the front line staff to ensure accurate information is given to our guests under any circumstances.

Jackie, we truly hope the single staying experience this time will not prevent you from staying with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back for another promising stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#79 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#80 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#97 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing free Wi-Fi in the lobby, the 4-star Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong is a short 10-minute walk from Causeway Bay MTR Station. Free shuttle services cover popular spots like Times Square and the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre.The elegant rooms have large windows, as well as relaxing massage shower cubicles in the bathrooms. A flat-screen TV and iPod docks are included. The room is also equipped with a minibar, personal safe and tea/coffee making facilities.Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong is just next to Happy Valley Racecourse. It is a 5-minute train ride from Wan Chai Business District and a 15-minute drive from Ocean Park amusement park.Guests can exercise at the fitness centre, or enjoy foot massages and body treatments at the Foot Joy Club. The hotel also provides a business centre and a tour desk.He Jiang Restaurant serves authentic Sichuan and Huai-yang dishes, while 3T Bar offers an extensive cocktail and wine menu. In-room dining is possible with room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.