We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in every way...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) to your Saves list
Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5 Man Fuk Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Mong Kok)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 379 Reviews
Sale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great in every way...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Despite the comedy road name for a womens association hotel it was a great place to stay. 5-10 min walk from the MTR, which was only 15 mins to the exhibition ctr.

Clean, tidy, helpful staff and a lovely little cafe on the ground floor (watch out for the kareoke night)....

Beds were hard and small but that is to be expected in HK I think.

Ideally placed for the Markets, Mong Kok and Tample Street only 10-15 mins walk..

Overall, decent place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    185
    133
    30
    7
See reviews for
27
36
53
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Baguio, Philippines
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
489 helpful votes 489 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I recently made a quick trip to Hong Kong. This time, we decided to explore a new place and stayed away from the Hongkong island and TST. Hotel Anne Black run by YWCA sounded like a good choice. Booking was easy - I did it through their website.

The Rooms are small but functional - they have a small fridge, hot water kettle, clean CR (slightly old and a soft bed (pretty small). Though we took a room for double occupancy, the bed was pretty small and we had to snuggle close ;-)

Of course, being run by the YWCA, the place is decent, has a slightly homely atmosphere (the cafeteria had an especially informal feel) and many families around. The wash room is kept clean

Unfortunately, true to Hongkong's nature, the room is tiny and I feel it is better suited for one person.

The breakfast (served down below) is ok - not a feast, neither paltry.

As soon as you exit, the area has a residential feel and then throws you onto the street - it does not have that touristy feel of TST. In fact, the view from my window was that of the opposite residential building and park.

A warning - it is difficult to find the entrance of this place, since it is from the back and at a higher level, is poorly sign boarded, and you must go up a flight of stairs and then take a few turns to reach. I had to call up the reception and ask for directions when I found that I could see their building (from near the fire station at the traffic signal) but could not find a way to enter!

Room Tip: Choose a larger room with windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights in what they call the Ladies Only wing! As the name implies its a corridor of rooms for women only. They have shared bathrooms which are ok but clearly it's the safety aspect which is very good.
The place itself is a little away from the action in Kowloon but it was good value for money. There is a restaurant on the ground floor which I didn't try as there were many places to eat a couple of streets away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My summary would be, If I can go back in time, i would pay about more to go for a better hostel hotel near Austin.

Booked a twins room with my wife, didnt thought it would be such a big problem, because we literately use it solely for sleeping. For 500HKD a night, you get a twins room(there are no option for double bed) fair enough, the cheapest for the area, and I have already prepared myself to not putting my expectation up. But, Anne Black managed to surprise me.

I did read the reviews on trip advisor before I book it(I should have listened), and i can confirm, ALL the things people mentioned are true. corridor is extremely dirty, you see palm prints all over the wall. and the light was so dim like in a horror movie. the bed is extremely hard (i suppose its good for your back)...

However, the overall condition isnt THAT bad, it is liveable... location is alright, about 15mins walk to Mong Kok and Anne black is located on Waterloo Hill, a fairly safe area (compare to TST) so even if you going back late, it will not be too much of a problem.

Personally, I will not go back there again and i would no recommend my friends, but if you are on a budget and not fuzzy, give it a try.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

we did not expect room service but there was. Our beds were made neatly, new towels were given, bins were emptied and the floor mopped. The ladies floor is a really good idea and the rooms were right for just a good night's rest. The staff at the information desk was friendly however, they could improve on providing equal services to all their guests. I was carrying something bulky and heavy back to the guest house. My face had surely protrayed the pain as I had lugged it all around hk that day.The service staff saw me (I was alone) through the glass door but did not walk over to offer to help open the doors for me. Yet, he held the door open for a caucasian (one who wasnt carrying anything heavy/bulky) when he was on the way out of the lobby. I witnessed this as I was using the free wifi in the lobby. Double standards?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a basic hotel but you can get bus to And from airport to the door and its cheap for Hong Kong. Internet free in lobby and cafe on ground floor which does a good simple breakfast. Laundry room with ice machine. Some en suite and some cheaper shared facilities.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Located a little distance from Nathan Road & shopping, this 20 story building provided adequate accommodation. It is about 20 min by public bus to the Star Ferry terminal, 10-15 min. walk to local small market shopping, and 15-20 min. walk to nearest subway stop.
Room with private bath was spacious and clean with wood floors. Hallways were marked up & uninviting. Staff was helpful but command of English varied among staff.
Restaurant conveniently attached. Shops 2 blocks away.
Basic inexpensive accommodation, not necessarily up to NA standards.
Free WiFi in lobby area. Beds very firm.

Room Tip: Elevators small and slow. We stayed on 20th floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)

Address: No.5 Man Fuk Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne Black Guest House (Ywca) Hotel Hong Kong
Guest House Hongkong
Anne Black Hotel Ywca
Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anne Black Guest House (YWCA), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.