We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Between average and very good!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Grass

Wild Grass
1/F, 4-8 Arbuthnot Road, Central, Hong Kong, China (Central)
852-28101189
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,591 of 5,128 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Organic, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Between average and very good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Second visit in 6 months. High priced even for organic food. Great night out with friends, 9 in our group half of which arrived 25 mins late but no problems with the restaurant. Having said that it was only 30-40% full. Good atmosphere. Staff were attentive and friendly without being intrusive, and food arrived in good time.
All dishes ordered were given the thumbs up but the steaks were half the size of 6 months ago.
Overall a good night but not fantastic.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Welcome French surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Choosing where to eat in Hong Kong is always a challenge; this proved an inspired selection. Organic restaurants can suggest sparse vegetarian fare and menus low on excitement, but Wild Grass is anything but. From the in-house lager on tap, through a selection of outstanding dishes, to a lovely, well rounded wine list, this was a great meal. Suckling pig was outstanding, halibut was very good, and service attentive but not overbearing completed the Wild Grass experience. Only downside? We were one of two tables for the evening - on the basis of our visit, the restaurant certainly deserves more attention.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Great food, really great food. I'd eat there again. Nice for if you want some familiar food one night (obviously if you're a Westerner). Great wine as well, really great wine

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“High Expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Only receiving 4 reviews in 5 months might tell the story. My wife and I went there with high expectations, but service was less than expected. They forgot our side dish, which is unacceptable given the prices. We would give a 3.8 out of 5. Was hoping to give a 5. Nice atmosphere. I hope they can fix the service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Wild Grass is specializing in organic, sustainable nose to tail and has a very special location . Just above Lan Kwai Fong but away from all the crowds. The food style is country style yet the menus are in English and explanations are available if necessary. Stephane the recently arrived manager explained that the OBE Beef is not caged at all and cows roam the pastures of Perthshire in Australia, so they are really wild, eating many kinds at wild grass. He also said that the flavor of the beef will be more game taste than we are probably used to from unnaturally grain fed Beef. Also having less fat and marble it is much better to request rare or medium rare, as we did. The dining room is cute and cozy with different chairs and tables, everything in wood, no plastic just like somebody’s farm house.
We arrived slightly early and sat at the communal table, the longest one piece of crafted wood table very comfortable, this table can fit up to 18 diners and is great for before dinner drinks or a party dinner. The music is really cool too mainly old world, French Latin music. We ordered a few cocktails and some friends discussed with Stephane about the wine, and settled with a bottle of white and a red, an organic white Burgundy and a lovely Grenache. The manager helped us to order, we went nose to tail, I started with kidney with homemade bacon, although stewed they were still juicy and delicious, served in a mini pumpkin with tender yellow flesh. My partner had Real duck liver parfait, not to be confused with the Foie Gras type. It was smooth, rich and delicious.
As recommended I went for the Rump steak medium rare with fresh green peppercorn sauce, it was crispy charcoal grilled, soft and juicy in the inside , the taste was so beef, so good. I had forgotten what real beef tasted like. We also shared a braised Ox Tongue, which came with buttery creamy mashed potatoes. The Ox tongue was devine, the texture is soft but with character, it really worked well with the caper berries and green olive in port wine tomato sauce.
They select their organic cheeses and change with the seasons, which I never realized cheese has seasons, the Mont d’or fabulously creamy, Brie de Melun, Comte and blue des Causses were amazing. Simply served with homemade fig Jam, walnut raisin bread and fresh pear, great textures and flavor combinations.
For desserts, we decided to share real fruit Pavlova crispy on the outside beautiful soft dark chocolate layer in the inside raspberry , strawberry, blue berries giving a tart bite to the Pavlova.
Lemon meringue tart was Lemon from heaven a wonderful balance of flavors topped by slightly caramelized meringue peaks.
Probably the best dinner I have ever had in Hong Kong and finished with whiskey chocolate truffles and Cuban Coffee.
Set menu is $436 with 3 courses, considering its right in Central and organic ingredients, it’s very reasonable.
Organic food is trendy and good for health. The restaurant also give every effort to promote it , I can see they used a lot of recycle wood and materials to build this place. I will definitely come again to enjoy the food and service. It’s the new lifestyle for modern people who work hard , and eat wisely.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Grass also viewed

 

Been to Wild Grass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Grass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.