We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of V Wanchai 2 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added V Wanchai 2 Hotel to your Saves list
V Wanchai 2 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.139 Thomson Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not bad overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

There were only 3 rooms on the 29th floor so its relatively quiet. Enjoyed the rainshower and the tub. No problem with the water temp. Couldn't find the safe. Missing a face towel. Only hand/bath towels were provided. I left the used bath towel in the chair and was surprised to see it again in the same spot-unchanged. The amenities (shampoo, soap, etc) were nice and were replenished daily. I smoke so the (smokers) lounge (plus complimentary brewed coffee) is very much appreciated. Easy check in/out. Starbucks/Cafe France close by for breakfast. Location is decent and safe. Everything went ok except for the fluctuating thermostat. Woke up 3am to an uncomfortably warm room. Informed reception and their explanation was "the hotel is fairly new". Hhhmm...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    94
    16
    2
    7
See reviews for
16
45
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

There wasn't much to dislike here...the water in the taps never got to be really hot...the toilet could do with a wash basin nearer than in the main bedroom...the newspaper in the morning could be the more substantial South China Post rather than the free giveaway you find hanging on the door handle... These are very minor complaints. The V2 is excellent 98% of the time. The location is wonderful, very close to Wan Chai station... and it's a very easy train and taxi ride from the airport. The room is quite big by HK standards (deluxe twin)...the fridge works well, the air con is very good... and the view is fantastic! Staff downstairs a fine too... Best of all - no other guests disturbed me in any way. And the free pm glass of wine is very drinkable. In all, an excellent experience, and I will be back there later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Excellent location for business, shopping and fun. I have noticed that many reviewers are suggesting that it is not a hotel. Well, if you need breakfast or a restaurant, swimming pools, gyms and other similar facilities, then I would agree on that. But if you need a comfortable room, with good facilities (internet, laundry, cleaner service) at a convenient location, maybe you shoulld consider this. Its price is much more attractive that other hotels in HK and the area is packed with good food and lively night life.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Recently spent 2 nights at this property which should be stressed IS in Thomson Road (not to be confused with the Jaffe Road hotel nearby).

We had a very pleasant stay at what appears to be quite a new property. The best aspect is the location. It is conveniently located one block from the Wanchai MTR and easy walking distance to the Convention Centre and theatres with a host of bar/restaurant options nearby. I should emphasise that I am not talking about the "girlie" ot sports bars full of soccer yobbos, I mean legitimate bars/restaurants with good wine lists (by the glass options) and menus.

As also mentioned there are options closeby for breakfast which is not available in house.

There is free tea and coffee 24/7 at reception with a small verandah with tables adjacent but that's pretty much the total of facilities.

We found the staff accommodating including the staff at the security point inside the ground/street level entrance.

As mentioned reception is on the third floor, with the rooms (there was only four on our floor) serviced by two (very quiet) lifts. Room keys were necessary to access the guest rooms.

Our basic room had sufficient room come with a desk, flat screen tv and dvd player and free wi-fi which as mentioned was quick. There was a kitchenette which wasn't used although we did think having a (dual purpose sink/basin) was a little unusual. The shower was large enough and came with a rain shower and good hot water. The bed (two singles) pushed together was huge and the linen provided including the towels were quite acceptable for the tariff range.

I slept ok...so it was all good??

We were satisfied with our experience and felt that we got what we paid for. If we were in Hong Kong again to go to the theatre precinct, even Happy Valley on Wednesdays, we would stay again if the tariff was appropriate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

In addition to all the praise that has been written already about the excellent location and superbe rooms at the V Wanchai 2, I'd like to say that it is not a hotel, but more like serviced apartments or rooms. So don't be surprised when you walk in on ground floor, no reception but a concierge only. On the 3rd floor you can get your key, and even a glass of wine for welcome drink. But there are no other facilities for ex. breakfast, sports, bar etc. Not that this is a problem, just so you know.
There's a great coffee shop just opposite and restaurants everywhere nearby,

I would definitely stay there again, especially for shopping / fun trip with friends!

Room Tip: Only 3 or 4 rooms per floor. We had the large twin-bed rooms at the end of corridor (04).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Arrived in Hong Kong on a midnight flight and found ourselves at the hotel way too early for check in. Left our luggage with the polite concierge and had brunch at a nearby restaurant. Was pleasantly surprised by the free upgrade to the Premium Deluxe Room upon check in at 1pm. The guy at reception during our check in could do with a better attitude toward service though. Had to request for a change of room as the air-conditioning wasn't working as well as we had expected. Appreciated that we were given another room quickly and without much fuss. Stayed 3 nights and loved the proximity to the MTR and accessibility to the rest of Hong Kong. Also enjoyed the quiet and comfortable room from which we had a view of the mountains. Do read the check in slip for your room privileges. Overall pleased and we'd consider V Wanchai 2 when we next visit Hong Kong.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed at V Wan Chai for a 3 night stay in Hong Kong. We were pleasantly surprised.
The size of the room was quite large for Hong Kong.
clean room, modern.
Great shower with lots of hot water and good pressure.
Big comfortable king bed with clean soft linens.
no complaints! Highly recommend

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to V Wanchai 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V Wanchai 2 Hotel

Address: No.139 Thomson Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#98 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — V Wanchai 2 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-minute walk from Wan Chai subway station, V Wanchai2 Hotel close to Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and many gourmet restaurants.From abacus-inspired features to the matte floor finishes, V Wanchai2 promises an inimitable feast for the senses, a turn away from the old Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your V Wanchai 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
V Wanchai 2 Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage V Wanchai 2 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.