We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant spot to dine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Horn Restaurant & Bar

Deer Horn Restaurant & Bar
Shop 11 G/F Mui Wo Centre, 3 Ngan Wan Road, Mui Wo, Hong Kong, China
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #341 of 4,647 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Dessert, Nepali
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A pleasant spot to dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I decided to go in here for a drink whilst waiting for a ferry to Hong Kong. There was a friendly welcome, the owner is Nepalese, the son of a Gurkha.
The menu offered a good selection and was reasonably priced. I had some potatoes in tomato sauce, a bit like patatas bravas but nicer as a starter and for the main course I had a prawn curry which was first class.
This was washed down with some reasonable wine and for the price it was excellent.
The bar itself is very small and seems to be used by resident Europeans.
I would certainly recommend this bar and visit it again if I'm in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Have walked past this restaurant a few times, and never ventured in. But today we did. My husband and I both had curries from the Himalayan menu and our daughter had spaghetti bolognese! All very tasty. Oh and yak's cheese too.Very friendly service too, we will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Strange Name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

It's a Nepalese restaurant. Went there for dinner. The menu has western and nepalese food. The owners are nepalese and so is the chef. Strangely enough we decided to stick to the nepalese side of the menu. The food is fantastic, the service is quick and the staff are friendly.All you need for a great dinner. Will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Nepal Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The small village center of Mui Wo on Lantau Island, Hongkong, has some nice restaurants. One of them is Deer Horn, which has a Nepal connection. It is about a hundred meters from the ferry station.
The menu is international with a Himalayan last page. My wife had a chicken curry set with dal and rice and vegetables, and I had bbq-ed lamb with rajta and nan and a vegetable salad. Both sets were quite good. My wife could have taken hers a little spicier, but then she is a radical in this department. Good food, good service, pleasant ambiente. Not enough of an attraction to take the one hour boat ride from Central, but if you are there on the island anyway, you could do worse for an evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deer Horn Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Deer Horn Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Horn Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.