We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 story deparment store” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sogo Mall (Causeway Bay)

Sogo Mall (Causeway Bay)
SOGO Department Store 555 Hennessy Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong, China
852-28338338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 288 shopping in Hong Kong
Type: Malls
Attraction Details
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“10 story deparment store”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Sogo is a department store that is 10 floors tall. It sells everything that you can think of. The basement of the store consist of a Japanese market with fresh seafood from japan. We went on a weekend and man it was crowded. There is a main escalator in the middle of the store and if you get off on one floor, it is hard to get back on. The escalator has people constantly going up and it is nearly impossible to slip in. There is an elevator in the back that you can take up and down which I thought was easier.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    21
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Japanese shopping esprit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The best part for me was the japanese supermarket. With differet food and snacks prepared on the spot. All the great japanese peoducts are available and lots of sushi, green tea, vegetables, fruit, seaweed and dressings.
I probably spent 4 or 5 hours there...

The ground floor was designer hand bags and perfumeries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
surabaya
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Brand name on Sale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We visited Sogo during the weekend on the first week of June 2013. We took tram from Wanchai MRT Station to the Causeway Bay stops. It was overcrowded especially at that time lots of the branded items was on Sale, 20 - 50% off. We explored each floors and enjoyed the shopping atmosphere, it was amazing. We stayed there till about 11 pm, the street and surroundings are still alive, many shops still open too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Sogo in causeway bay has a variety of clothing and goods from mid to high range. Mid may has thankful week with many itens from popular brands at 20 to 50 % off. Down in the basement has a bakery and traditional cakes and treats from japan and hong kong. If you take the train to causeway bay there is no need to go outside because the station connects to it.take the elevator try to the top floor and work your way down. Buy a suitcase if you bought too much.
Just dont go on a sunday it is the most crowded.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location; Congested Weekend Crowd”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great Location; Congested Weekend Crowd - went on a Sunday afternoon. Although the place is organized, we barely had space to walk around to navigate the stores due to the crowd. On another hand, there was an interesting range for selection of food at the Basement.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sogo Mall (Causeway Bay) also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Sogo Mall (Causeway Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sogo Mall (Causeway Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sogo Mall (Causeway Bay) to your Saves list