We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable with Conditions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.239 Queen's Road West, Hong Kong, China (Sheung Wan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 613 hotels in Hong Kong
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Affordable with Conditions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed in the Standard City View room during the New Years period.

We tried emailing them a handful of times before our booking date, but not once did they reply - seems they only accept phone call conversations.

Even though we booked a room with a double bed, it was really two single beds pushed together - not ideal.

The hotel is about a 10-15 minute to the train station. They say they offer shuttle service but it was always booked out in the mornings when we visited - we ended up just walking the distance.

During our stay, we also found the lifts to be slow and constantly full a few times - this led to us walking down the flight of stairs from our high level room instead.

The free Wi-Fi worked flawlessly.

The room is small as mentioned, but this is Hong Kong and expected especially at this price range. It felt clean and had all the necessities.

If you want a basic clean hotel and don’t mind walking, then this will suit you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    57
    56
    31
    24
See reviews for
22
49
37
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

The room size was quite small but decent enough for the two of us. However, our main complaint about the room would be its toilet, which had a rather strong and at times, unbearable smell - we realised it straight after checking in. The situation improved after we made a feedback to the hotel. But the smell was still there during certain hours of the day.

All in all, other aspects of the stay was great and I must say that the hotel is indeed very conveniently located - near the buses, trams and trains.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

One of the best hotel in hk. Bit away from busy area. But all facilities available. Clean hotel and a hotel surrounding with many activities. Beautiful place in the evening. I love this place as all my hong kong freinds are living around

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights, and our stay was OK. The room is small but it didn't spoil our travel mood at all. We spent most of the daytime outside of the room and only came back to sleep at night, so even the room is small, it didn't cause too much trouble. The 'harbour view' from our room on the 20th floor is not the view of Hong Kong's Victoria Harbour though, but we enjoyed it anyway. Their service was excellent, room cleaning every day. And most importantly, they provide scheduled bus shuttle service to major MTR stations and ferry terminal to Macau (great if you are going to Macau for a one-day trip like us). The location is excellent, tram station is not too far down the street, and there are many restaurants around. For our stay and the price that we paid, surely worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Room is small. Real small.but you cant ask more in hk.
Sound proof is good
Bed is rock solid
pillow is cotton soft
Guest service is good. staff put in great effort to make it run. Great job
The toilet is so small that it have only shower area of 40 x 80
The hotel have free room wifi
Down the street there is many food store.
You can have mcdonald. Sushi take away and many local food.
E11 bus is in front dor you to go to airport terminal

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Yes this is Hong Kong. Rooms are small, lifts can be busy and the breakfast is just OK. We came with low expectation and were surprised. Very friendly and helpful staff, very quite rooms, comfortable beds, everything is new, shiny and clean. The location for us was superb. It is off the beaten tourist track in a nice and more relaxed part of Hong Kong. The tram and busses are just 200m down the road and taxis are available in abundance. There are charming local eateries around the block (we very much enjoyed the friendly and very simple dim sum place around the corner - go west and turn left at first corner and go down almost until the next intersection. You can see the dim sum being prepared outside). We also had a wonderful dinner in a popular simple and affordable restaurant serving steaks across the road (can't miss the big sign featuring a cow).
As we came in winter we did a lot of walking enjoying the strolls along markets and shops around the quarter. Hollywood Road is close by, featuring nice coffee places, arts and antique shops, one of the most interesting temples, etc. Ferry pears are in reachable walking distance. If you are in a rush take a taxi it will cost around USD3-4 from the hotel to the pear, a barging and cheaper than metro rides if you are in a group, even for longer distances (to the airport from the Hotel about USD40).

Room Tip: Do not expect to see much of the mountain if you book "mountain view room" unless you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The pictures of the hotel are deceiving. Hong Kong is known for having small hotel rooms but their property is a fire hazard. The bathroom sink is outside of the bathroom and there is very little space between the bed and the wall so be careful not to hit your legs on the post of the bed. We were getting frustrated by the second day trying to pass each other in the room. Literally one had to be one the bed in order for another to pass. Not only do the rooms fit one person comfortably but the hallways are narrow with approx. 20 rooms on each floor. There are 3 regular elevators and one freight elevator that fit maybe 6 people with luggage per an elevator and the building is at least 30 stories high. You can imagine what the wait was to get up and down from your room from the street level. Also, many of the tourists that frequent this hotel are from mainland China who, generally speaking, have no concept of personal space and are loud.

One positive note, the concierge and the bell boys are super courteous.

Room Tip: Spend a few bucks more on a better hotel and save yourself some stress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View

Address: No.239 Queen's Road West, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 613 hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View is a new 38-storey high-rise located on Queen's Road West on Hong Kong Island. 432 Guest rooms with most of the rooms facing the famous Victoria Harbour. Rooms adopt a modern chic design with dining facilities and a roof top swimming pool. All rooms are equipped with Free WIFI Broadband Internet access , flat TV, Cable TV, in-room safe, mini refrigerator, replenishment of coffee & tea set, IDD phone and central air conditioning. Tram stop is nearby which makes the connection with the Central and the East more close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Ctrip DaoDao, Expedia and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.