We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, budget option in Hong Kong” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel to your Saves list
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 28 Des Voeux Road West, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China (Sheung Wan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,324 Reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good, budget option in Hong Kong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here for one night on a stop over. The room was small but well designed so we didn't feel cramped - although we only had carry on bags and are both fairly petite people, I don't know if people with lots of luggage or very large people would agree with me. We were given a twin room as there were no non-smoking doubles - the room was so small the bed were pushed together - fine for us but might not be so comfortable for others. The location is good. A 15 minute walk from central. We didn't bother with the MTR but I think it is a couple of blocks away. Easy to get to from the airport as a free shuttle runs from Central Station.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    717
    183
    30
    16
See reviews for
255
409
198
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Overall good place to stay, just remain patient. Non-smoking rooms still have smoke getting through inside bathrooms via services riser and above ceiling space. Airconditioning and or fan blew out dust / lint which we discovered a thin layer on things in the morning. They need to clean filters.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for bringing your comments to our attention.

We had reflected the comments on the smell in guestroom and the cleanliness of air conditioning to the department concerned, please be reassured that we always strive to provide the highest possible level of service with care.

Please allow us to serve you better on your next visit to Hong Kong!

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Room is Ibis standard which is cramped 18m2.
2 blocks away from MTR Station.
Quite some time during the check in, but apart from that its an OK stay and nothing to complain.
Below you will find all sort of food and conv store

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Please be reassured that we do make our every attempt to deliver the highest possible level of service with care and efficiency. We would extend our warmest welcome to your next stay with us again!

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great location, walking distance to almost anything you want to see and close to transit hubs. Rooms are tiny but well designed and functional. Breakfast buffet was surprisingly good and fast. I had to cancel my last night due to travel changes and they did not charge my last minute booking change, they were quite nice about it. Service is very polite.

Room Tip: the higher up the better the view, and less noise, but then again, it is HK...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments which do brighten up our days!

Please rest assured that making our guest happy and satisfied is of our top priority. Look forward to serving you again on your next trip to Hong Kong!

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We liked the hotel. As many others have stated here - good location. Right next door is a cooked food market, downstairs a Starbucks and a convenience store.

We got a room with a great harbor view on the 25th floor for four days. Once we entered the room we noticed the stench of fresh cigarette smoke from a previous guest - despite it being designated as a non smoking room. Not much a hotel can do about that except air freshener from housekeeping. They dealt with it, and we stayed in the room - there were no alternatives.

The shower was great with decent water pressure and they left a fresh bottle of water every day - thank you! The service was right on the ball - even sending queue jumpers with large suitcases to the back of the queue at the Concierge desk! Check out times can be a bit crowded at the reception level but the staff are efficient in dealing with the crush.

It's a good location for exploring the island side - 5 minutes walk to the nearest MTR station (Sheung Wan) - just a pity about the smelliness from the previous inconsiderate hotel guests.

Room Tip: The air con in the rooms work more efficiently if you switch off the switch *beside* the thermostat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed comments.

We felt sorry for the smell in the guestroom and we had reflected it to the corresponding department for further review and improvement. Please rest assured that we do make our every attempt to ensure a comfortable and cozy stay for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I don´t normally go to budget/economy hotels, but this time, i don´t know why, I chose to go to Ibis and I was frankly impressed. It had all I could ask for and all I needed, no more, no less. Wifi works very well.

If I had to point out some defects I would say the shower is a little too small (I am a big guy too), and the location is not exactly downtown, or not exactly Central... but MTR takes you anywhere in Hong Kong.

I would definitely go back if I have to stop by Hong Kong again.

Room Tip: Facing to the river... beautiful when you wake up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Glad to know that you would like to stay with us on your next trip.

Please be reassured that we exert our best effort to provide “well-being at the best price” to our guest. We sincerely welcome you to pay us a visit again for a pleasant stay next time.

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Like most Ibis hotels, this one is basic and functional. The room was very comfortable although the airconditioning was noisy. The staff were especially helpful and efficient, and the location is good, especially for the Macau ferry. Good value..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel.

As for the noise of air conditioner, we have forwarded your comments to the department concerned for further review and improvement. Please be reassured that we endeavor to provide comfortable environment for our guests and we look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Address: No. 28 Des Voeux Road West, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#75 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IBIS HONG KONG CENTRAL & SHEUNG WAN HOTEL, a catchy icon strategically located in the bustling Sheung Wan, within minutes away from Sheung Wan MTR station, Macau Ferry Terminal, airport bus station and in the vicinity of Hong Kong Central’s business and shopping hub including Airport Express, boasts the first ibis flagship hotel in Greater China to showcase a brand new vibrant style, bringing in comfort, well-being and service. The 550 modern, boldly simplistic guestrooms are furnished with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and bespoke interiors on 3-metre high ceiling, large bay windows, premium timber flooring and comfy bedding coupled with stunning harbor views in some rooms on higher floors that born to feast your eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.