We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Dorsett Kwun Tong!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong to your Saves list
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   84 Hung To Road, Kwun Tong, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Kwun Tong)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kyoto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love the Dorsett Kwun Tong!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Enjoyed a fabulous 10 nights at the Dorsett Kwun Tong. Breakfast was great and we were especially grateful to one of our waiters - Daisy. All the staff were very friendly and really happy to help out with anything.
Some people have commented that it's too far away from the centre of Hong Kong, but we enjoyed this aspect of the hotel and loved exploring the neighborhood and meeting locals from the area.
Getting to all the Hong Kong sites from the hotel is very easy on the MTR and if you love food as much as we do you will appreciate that the Dorsett Kwun Tong is directly across the road from a Michelin Star restaurant called 'Hung's Delicacies'. Very delicious and very cheap!
Will stay here again next time I'm in Hong Kong!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettHotels, Director of Sales at Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear CL M,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong and your sharing :)

We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed staying with us and satisfied with our services. Your encouraging compliment has been delivered to the team.

We look forward to seeing you again in near future!

Cheers,
Kenneth Poon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    84
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
55
23
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

A very retro foyer to the hotel. Staff were more than helpful and nothing was too much effort. From the room service to the laundering of clothing to the cleanliness of the rooms. The hotel shuttle bus was a brilliant way to get to the main areas of Hongkong

Room Tip: the rooms are all very clean, tidy and little to no noise factor either from the street or the neigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettHotels, Director of Sales at Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear 646cheryl,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong!

We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed staying with us and satisfied with our services. Your encouraging compliment has been shared with the team.

We look forward to seeing you again in near future!

Cheers,
Kenneth Poon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

First impression of the hotel, located in an old industrial area but only 5 minutes from mtr station. Hotel is away from the hustle and bustle which is the perfect weekend get away.

Customer service was excellent as I had made my reservation with the hotel directly and they answer all my questions and their willingness to serve.

Once we arrived we were greeted with smile and check-in was speedy and got upgraded to the deluxe room.

The room was nice for the view itself as it have a fantastic harbor view. The bed are comfortable and the room were kept new and clean.

Didn't use the swimming pool but their health club had all the equipments for a good work out, but too bad there's no shower room.

Other than that derive is excellent and we are treated with welcomes.

Will definitely stay again for our next weekend getaway.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettHotels, Director of Sales at Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear noob2travel,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong!

We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed staying with us and satisfied with our services. Just a warm reminder that there’re shower rooms located on 5/F exclusively for hotel guests using the swimming pool and health club. Do approach our staff for details in your next stay :)

Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cheers,
Kenneth Poon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Dorsett is clean, upmarket hotel in Hong Kong. Very new Hotel. Rooms are big for Hong Kong standards. Rooms are very clean and good views. The service by the Bell boys are very helpfully and help will directions and taxi issues.

Only draw back of the hotel is the breakfast is poor in terms of this 4 star Hotel. They need to redo the breakfast layout completely. That is only fault I found for this great hotel.

Room Tip: Get room on the higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettHotels, Director of Sales at Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Nairobi_KenyaAspi,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong and your valuable comment.

We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed staying with us and your comment has been delivered to our management for improvement.

Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cheers,
Kenneth Poon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

After reading many reviews of this hotel about the location, we were a little wary when we booked but there is nothing to be concerned about. Whilst the location is in the back streets, we always felt safe walking from the MTR which is approx 8mins away. Next to the MTR is a large high rise mall with a supermarket in the basement. The Hotel was brilliant - large twin room (we stayed on the 29 Floor), excellent service, especially from the desk & concierge staff. Also, a shuttlte bus is available each day from the hotel to Canton Road & Kowloon Airport Express rail station (airline checkin) plus to the local mall.Wifi worked fine in our room. Great pool & gym to relax, very clean..Fantastic value for money, highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettHotels, Director of Sales at Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Udo B,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong!

We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed staying with us and satisfied with our services. Your encouraging compliment has been shared with the team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cheers,
Kenneth Poon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

It was my fiance's fist time in Asia, and I am so happy that we decided to stay in Dorsett for our first trip in Hong Kong together :) The service was exemplary and the hotel itself made us feel grand. We had the most amazing 5 nights, everything was so beautiful!! Everything that we needed were provided for us. They also gave us a delicious fruit platter for my fiance's birthday, which made it even more special. We wish that we took more photos of the hotel because it was really chic and modern, just the kind of hotel that's perfect for young couples like us.

The best thing about this hotel is, they offer free shuttle service to 2 locations. It is close to a nice mall and good restaurants! We give Dorsett a 10!! :)

P.S. We both love the bathroom!! The shower is unbelievable :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettHotels, Director of Sales at Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Gerry S,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong!

We are glad to learn that you and your fiancé have enjoyed staying with us and satisfied with our services. We appreciate your encouraging compliment and it has been delivered to the team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cheers,
Kenneth Poon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Wonderful layout, service, breakfast and charm. The only (and I do mean only) disadvantage is the location. That is only if you are not fond of trying public transportation (subway...Kwun Tong station is 3 blocks away). I was extremely satisfied with the comfort and attention I was given during my 2 night stay. By the way, you can't ask for a better view from the pool and the gym.

Room Tip: I was at the 29th floor...20th floor and up wards will give you a very pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettHotels, Director of Sales at Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Briansalera,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong!

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed staying with us and satisfied with our services and facilities.

Besides, our hotel is 8-minute walk distant away from Kwun Tong MTR station, we also provide our guests with free shuttle bus service to and from several shopping malls and commercial buildings. You may take the advantage of this service in your next stay with us :)

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cheers,
Kenneth Poon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong

Address: 84 Hung To Road, Kwun Tong, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Kwun Tong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#75 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#76 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong is situated at the heart of Kowloon East, adjacent to Kwun Tong MTR station and surrounded by shopping malls. A brand new 4-star hotel offers 361 guestrooms complemented with 24-hour free WiFi and free shuttle bus service to shopping district. Business centre, health club, and outdoor swimming pool are temporary closed until further notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.