We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun, go for the atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Butcher

Blue Butcher
108 Hollywood Road, Hong Kong, China (Sheung Wan)
+852 2613 9286
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #502 of 4,812 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $64 - $102
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sheung Wan
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good fun, go for the atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Expensively fitted out in a dark, sleek urban style - all the staff in black, crowd mostly young; mix of ex-pats and locals. Good atmosphere - everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. Food was fine without being spectacular; service was also fine if a little over-zealous. So would recommend for a fun night out, probably with a group of people - less so for a romantic date.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    60
    31
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Food Great but service lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited this Restaurant with our son and his wife who live in HK.
Modern trendy layout and convivial atmosphere.
We were led to a table and given menus.
We had to call a waiter to order drinks and then we went to each area to get each course we wanted. Each area lacked various ingredients, etc in either the bowls or trays and we had to ask them to fill them up, which took a while.
The staff seemed to lack the lively personality I would expect from such an establishment.
We each had different starters, fois gras etc and all were very good.
We had to then chase up for our drinks which still had not arrived.
Mains and sweet were again all really good but again the sides on the boards laid out to choose from needed refilling which again we had to ask and wait for.
Overall the food was really good and a good setting but lacked the service I expect from such a place. We may have gone on a day they were short of Staff but no such apology or explanation was given and no one seemed to be overseeing the overall customer service provision.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good night out great cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We didn't book but were welcomed and shown to a long table to check if we were happy to stay, which we did. Chic NYC type atmosphere, quite dark but it worked for us. Great cocktails, good service, food was as expected (but expensive), close to where we were staying in Soho/Central, a good night out. I wouldn't travel across town to eat here but if you're local or in the area its worth booking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Blue Butcher”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My friend and I went on a Friday night and it was pretty full already by 7:30. The foods were served pretty quickly and we ordered around 3 appetizers, 3 main courses and 2 sides. The place was really lively and the atmosphere was really awesome too with the lighting and the fine details in the decoration.

Great atmosphere for either a dinner for two or with a group of people. Dim lighting was really soothing after a long days work. The food was terrific and so were the drinks. Will definitely go back there again for more food!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Nice ambience-terrible food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a classic example of a restaurant that focuses solely on trendiness and not on its food. The place is packed with mainly young people,it does have a great atmosphere but the food is well below average. For a place with such name one does expect first class steaks perfectly cooked. Here you get neither. I am sure there are better steak places in Hong Kong.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Butcher also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Blue Butcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Butcher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.