We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, worst claustrophobic water leaking hotel ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of California Hotel HK

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added California Hotel HK to your Saves list
California Hotel HK
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4F., Golden Crown Court,66-70, Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong 999077, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #434 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
2.5 of 5 stars 38 Reviews
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible, worst claustrophobic water leaking hotel ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

First impression, rooms were so small. The walls are soo thin such that u can hear anything, literally anything that is outside. When it rains, water will just leak from the ceilings onto the bed and the room. Its so small it made me claustrophobic with no room for movement at all

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    9
    4
    17
See reviews for
6
7
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milano
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Hotel is good for the price and for the quality. Rooms are quite small but better than other hotels that are more expensive. you are in the middle of the shopping area so the position is good.
Good budget hotel for young people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Been travelling 40 years, all around the world. California hotel is something like a cheap hostel and a small closet. Smoking everywhere. The double bed takes up most of the room. A hanger behind the door for all your clothes. No table, no chair, no bedside table. Your feet hang into the bedroom when using toilette. The phone and the electricity socket is on the wall that needs to be reached by kneeling on bed,.. The walls are paper thin you can hear whole conversations etc. air con really noisy. We had paid for two rooms and moved hotels but could not get any money back. $100 US per night, was a rip off.

Room Tip: Room 318 and 218, both awful.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Knowing the standard rate is already expensive in HongKong, I challenged to book it for 1 night. It was very interesting experience though, I never saw such an extremely tiny room where you can do nothing but lie on the narrow bed or toileting yourself. Shower facility right next to toilet ball looked hilarious where no room is given to wash yourself.

Wifi access was stated as available on its add when I booked it. However, there was non nor surprisingly poor connection, so I ended up borrowing their desktop with physical line connection. Also, that common area with desktop was always smoky with young but thoughtless smoker. Overall, quality of service and facility is much less than what is available in Malaysia. Yet, the price is double!! The only credit I would give is it's security and cleanliness including towels being provided in the room. Also, it's situated right in front of MRT station. You may use it for the convenience of your purpose.

Room Tip: Prepare enough funds when traveling HK, and yet to be comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel is located in the middle of a building. At first, we thought it was something like an apartment. Everything still went ok, until they told us that our rooms weren't ready. We had reserved our rooms using an online service, and had requested for a late check-in. So we were horrified that we had no rooms available yet. anyhow, we had our late dinner and came back. When we returned, they brought us down the main road of Tsim Tsa Tsui to another building where they said our rooms were!! The room they brought us to was just a random room rented off somewhere!! It was an absolutely tiny room that had not even enough place to fit our luggages! The bathroom is built inside the room and was too small to even hang any towels! It was definitely the worst experience we have ever had.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has one of the best locations at a fair price. Rooms are newly renovated but quite small.
Though I should warn you that they tend to overbook clients. You will only find out if that happens when you are already checking in. But overall, its a decent hotel at a great location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We saw the pictures of the family room and thought the location was pretty decent. When we went there, they gave us the tiniest room possible. The lugguage needs to be pushed under the bed and each person who entered the room needs to sit on the bed, close the door so that the next person could come in. The shower was so small and there isn't place to hang towels. The tint on the glass of the bathroom door wasn't long enough that when you sit on the toilet, someone would be able to see everything from outside. Same thing if you are too tall. No mirrors anywhere and I had to stab my own eyes while putting on my contact lenses. We asked for a change in rooms, which they say they will try, but nothing came out of that. We actually told the staff on our way out that what we saw online wasn't what they gave us. They had the gall to tell us they need to post nicer pictures of the rooms available! The staff were ok, but they have their hands tied when making decisions, only the owners/decision makers were lousy. We only stayed one night and booked ourselves into another hotel after that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to California Hotel HK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Hotel HK

Address: 4F., Golden Crown Court,66-70, Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong 999077, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #434 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — California Hotel HK 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2012, the California Hotel guarantees guests a pleasant stay whether in Hong Kong for business or pleasure. Only 0.4km from the city center, the hotel's strategic location ensures that guests can quickly and easily reach many local points of interest. This modern hotel is in the vicinity of popular city attractions such as Tsim Sha Tsui MTR Station, Kowloon Mosque & Islamic Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your California Hotel HK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel HK Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Hotel HK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.