We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun and excellent entertainment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Valley Racecourse

Happy Valley Racecourse
Wan Chai District, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai / Causeway Bay)
Improve this listing
Visit Happy Valley Racecourse like an insider
Top Rated
$166*
and up
Horse Racing at the Hong Kong Jockey Club Happy...
Ranked #18 of 712 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Gambling
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Attraction details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great fun and excellent entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was a treat for my husband as he likes racing. I have never been to the races before - but this was an excellent evening out as there is so much more going on beside the horses/riders. There was music and competitions and the races, loads of food stalls and it was so easy to bet - even though we do not speak chinese. There was always someone to help us. We only won a very tiny sum (less than 25p) but it was such fun trying to work out the form and placing the bet and the races are so quick you don't have to wait long to see if you were right - most of the time we were not ... but it didn't matter. I enjoyed the atmoshpere.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    285
    40
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A must for any Sports Fan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Make the effort on a Wednesday night, catch a tram or a Taxi, to Happy Valley, pop your $10 coin in the turnstile or swipe your octopuss card and enter a wonderful sporting arena. I have enjoyed thouroughbred racing in Australia for over 30 years and was not going to let this opportunity slide during my recent brief trip to Hong Kong. Regrettably kids are not permitted into the racetrack.
I had planned to pay the extra $100HKD to enter the members concourse but I was more than happy enjoying the atmosphere of the public area. A broad spectrum of punters in attendance, numerous food and "beer" options (I am not entirely sure if there was anything other than beer available) There was a Heinekin tent, Stella Artois tent, San Miguel tent etc.... High Granstands and scryscrapers envelope this short lush track which sees the field of horses pass the main straight and finishing post twice in even the shortest of races giving the crowd plenty of opportunity to view and cheer on their selected pony. The mounting yard is enormous and accessible in terms of opprtunity to view the horses as they enter the arena. I could not find a betting ring with private bookies anywhere. All bets are placed with a central betting authority with numerous booths around the public area. The betting slips and race info screeens are easy to follow if you know a bit about horse racing. If you don't, there are attendants hovering around the the betting booths carrying clipboards assisting tourists to complete their betting slips. DJ's play tunes between races which are generally 20-25 minutes apart unless there is a protest. A protest will see the race meet stop until the stewards adjudicate. Head to the Devil's Advocate in Wan Chai for a pint on your way home.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

What a great night. I don't know anything about racing and was lathe to go after a busy day sight seeing. It's full of people from all walks and the informal dress code makes it so appealing. It's easy to get to and cheap to go in. I used my octopus card for entry. I didn't know how to complete the betting slip, but just ask anyone and they'll help you. I won about 100 HK dollars and although its not a lot the buzz was great. It's a must do attraction.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a must-do experience in HK. The atmosphere is electric and it costs next to nothing. About £1 to get in and the minimum bet is the same. Unfortunately this year when we were there it was pouring. But you just can't dislike this place. A racecourse set in the middle of skyscrapers, what more can one want. Just to watch the locals is amazing - they don't even watch the races, their noses are buried in the racing papers for some tips on the next winner. If you want to do it properly, take the tram there - just leave plenty of time as they can be busy, but worth the wait.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great night out but we were caught out when they stopped taking card payments with 4 races to go. We used th Adrenalin bar where for a fee you get. Very comfortable table outside , and an uncrowned bar and buffet that served very good Italian food. Well worth spending the extra.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Valley Racecourse also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Happy Valley Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Valley Racecourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.