We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcoming return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'hotel elan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added L'hotel elan to your Saves list
L'hotel elan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.38 Chong Yip Street, Kwun Tong, Hong Kong, China (Kwun Tong)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Superb Deal
Ranked #64 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A very welcoming return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here once previously and enjoyed it greatly, so wanted to check to see if it was a one-off! Pleased to say my expectations were met. Modern, contemporary feel, with rooms to match. Comfortable bed, nespresso machine equipped in the suites, free minibar (basic) and wifi. Good breakfast buffet, however space limited. Happy to return - and will be happy to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotel_elan_hk, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel elan, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Lars O

Thank you for staying with us again and we are delighted to learn that our consistent service quality has lived up to your expectations! When you plan for your next visit, please feel free to check out our latest accommodation and dining offers available on our hotel official website. Our team and I look forward to serving you again soon!

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel élan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    159
    28
    10
    8
See reviews for
54
121
29
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
HONG KONG
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed there for just one night aiming to use the outdoor swimming pool and the gym. The swimming pool is small but it's OK for 1 or 2 swimmers. The gym equipment is well maintained. The lounge area is nice BUT there should be signs 'educating' some Asian travellers that they should consume their lunch boxes somewhere else!
The lounge is suppose to be a quiet area where people drink coffee or have some light snacks. The hotel is generous is providing snacks and unlimited tea and coffee and soft drinks; just that some loud Asian traveller spoiled the ambiance and the mood.

Room Tip: Request a non smoking room in the upper floors to have a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotel_elan_hk, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel elan, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear ch_smartie

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor platform and we are happy to learn that you have made the most out of our complimentary beverages and snacks available in the refreshment corner located right next to our gym area named “twist”. Please feel free to check out our latest accommodations and dining offers available on our hotel official website. Our team and I look forward to another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel élan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel was everything we expected it to be, but not more. Yet, in some ways, it seemed to lack the character we have come to expect from Hong Kong. To start, we booked online through a third-party website, and all of our requests seemed to have been completely ignored. For example, I requested a room away from the elevator, yet upon stepping off the elevator we tripped directly into our room. Happily, the rooms are extremely well sound proofed, so this didn't matter in the end, yet I still appreciate requests at least being acknowledged. When we checked in, the reception was cold and mechanical, furthermore the front desk seemed a little overwhelmed with only three to four people checking in at the same time.

Location of the hotel is definitely a little off the beaten track, but the metro system is so awesome in HK that it really doesn't make a whole lot of difference. It is about an hour by MTR/Airport Express @ $60 HKD if you have an Octopus Card - not recommended if you have a lot of luggage, but with a bag or two, the transfers are relatively easy. The hotel has a shuttle service too, but we just took the self-serve option. You can be anywhere in Kowloon or the island in about half an hour. Starbucks, McDs, and 7/11 are all a 5 min walk away, and the Millennium City Mall is a 15 min walk or one MTR stop away. The closest MTR stop is only about 3 min away, but beware if you are toting luggage - there are quite a few stairs to conquer.

The rooms really are as you see in the hotel website pictures - the bathroom is fabulous, sparkling clean, lots of room, and comfortable. Housekeeping service was also thorough and consistent. Elevators are fast and efficient (just don't accidentally get on the service elevators behind the lounge next to the change rooms - the staff will be quick to censure you!) However, compared to some hotels that really have to squeeze everything they can out of every square inch, the space utilization just wasn't there in our room. There was great potential for a nice comfortable window seat to view Kowloon Bay, but it instead was finished with laminate and a tiny useless cushioned area. The upside is, if you have a lot of luggage, these rooms will serve you well.

The lounge area really is quite fantastic - there is a gratis espresso machine and some cool seating areas, so be sure to take advantage. Again, design could have been better, as the gym and the lounge are together, but the gym has the view of the Hong Kong skyline, and the lounge has a view of Ikea. Also, the pool is beautiful (small, but beautiful), but we didn't dare go in until after dark, as everybody checking in and out or going to and from the lounge has a bird's eye view of the pool area. That said, a night swim was wonderfully refreshing.

All in all, for the price this hotel really is quite a good deal in Hong Kong. The services are everything they advertise them to be, and I would definitely stay here again and recommend my friends to do the same. That said, there is still some room for improvement (hey, we all have room for improvement!), and that for me is in the front desk staff. It wasn't until we checked out on the last day that we received a warm smile from the friendly clerk that served us - we hadn't seen her during our stay, but her friendly service gave us a glimmer of hope that maybe next time we stay here we won't feel quite as unwelcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotel_elan_hk, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel elan, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear copingNcanada

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, and please accept our sincere apologies for the shortfall in room arrangement. Although special requests are subject to hotel availability, we will do our best to make arrangement accordingly. If booking via a third party instead of directly making reservation with us, it is recommended to inform our Reservations Department via rsvns@lhotelelan.com regarding special requests. Meanwhile, please rest assured that your constructive comments have been shared among our associates for review and improvement. We apologize for any inconvenience that the situation may have caused you. We truly hope this isolated incident would not impair your confidence and look forward to serving you better in the future.

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel élan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel regularly on business trips from when it first opened. It is a value hotel, not a luxury hotel. The rooms are comfortable and reasonably well equipped. The breakfast buffet is pretty good (compares very favorably to most hotels in Hong Kong). The hotel is located just a short walk from an MTR station which means it is easy to get pretty much anywhere in HK easily. The downside is that the room service menu is very limited (both on Western and Eastern food).

Room Tip: The corner rooms are a little bigger and have an additional small table and chair compared to the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotel_elan_hk, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel elan, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear MarkM503869

Thank you for staying with us again at L’hotel élan and we are more than delighted to learn that you have been having comfortable stay with us since we opened last year!

We are sorry to hear that our room service selection has not lived up to your expectation, and rest assured that your feedback has been shared among our team for review and improvement. Once again, thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel élan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

L Hotel in Kowloon, Hong Kong might not be the most conveniently located hotel but the efficient MTR system makes it easily accessible to other parts of Hong Kong where tourist usually converge. The design of the entire hotel including the rooms is modern and minimalistic. Having the iPad in the room that comes with its own hotel app is a wonderful touch of technology. This hotel is probably the first that I have come across with having their check-in counter on the 35th floor. If one pays attention then it is fine but for unknowing patrons, checking out might turn out to be more stressful than usual. This happened to an elderly couple as I was heading out the door. Although the swimming pool is rather small to begin with; the choice of putting it right in front of the check in counter is a big "turn off" as no one would enjoy a morning/afternoon dip in front of the watchful eyes of the frontdesk staff. However, I must add that despite being a small sized pool; the hotel assigned two lifeguards to be on duty which is pretty impressive and goes to show how much importance is given to safety of the hotel guest/tourists which resonates all over Hong Kong as I soon discovered. The rooms are amazing and the bed comfortable. However, as useful as the hotel app is; I ordered in-room dining and waited for 45 minutes with no sign of my burger. Called the in-room dining number and was told that it did not appear on their system which is quite a surprise considering the fact that it was supposed to be integrated. Apart from this, it was quite a lovely experience. The bathrooms clean and room service wonderful. Breakfast buffet is limited but ambience of the cafe commendable. There are not many nearby restaurants to pick from but then again, one always travel to the centre of Hong Kong for more variety of food. There is a nearby MTR station (Ngau Tau Kok) which is a 5-10 minutes walk away complete with 2 convenient stores. One extra plus point is that the beverages in the mini-bar is free of charge and they are reloaded daily.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotel_elan_hk, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel elan, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Wilson1982_KL

Thank you for your comments and we apologize for the in-room dining service shortfall. Rest assured that your feedback has been shared among our team for review and improvement. Moreover, please note that we also offer complimentary beverages and snacks in the refreshment corner located next to our 24/7 gym named “twist”, in addition to the complimentary in-room daily mini-bar beverages.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L'hotel élan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estancia Grande, Argentina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We are extremely picky about amenities and comfort when we choose a hotel, but we truly did not find anything lacking, and were pleasantly surprised by the many extras this place has to offer. The hotel, rooms and service all great. We hope to return in the future, and will definitely choose this place again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotel_elan_hk, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel elan, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear arabela e

Thank you for your lovely comments and we are thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us! When you plan for a revisit, don’t forget to check out our latest accommodation and dining offers available on our hotel official website!

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel élan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My experience at elan was pretty pleasant until I decided to order a bottle of wine through room service. the lady i was speaking to was very nice but had no idea on what i wanted and hence referred me to a male colleague who was outrageously rude. first of all, he was already shouting at his other colleagues before he picked up the phone, and the first thing he said was 'you want a 300 dollar bottle of wine right?' with no greeting or whatsoever. when I asked him about what wines I could choose from, he immediately asked me rudely, 'how much do you want to pay?', then when I asked him what ranges did they have only did he tell me that the wine list was under construction. He suggested an italian wine.. when i asked him what kinds of grapes it was he mumbled something and said 'that's what everyone usually drinks when they order italian wine'.
I told him ok, i'll have it and then he said, 'you want it right?', I said yes thanks and he slammed down the phone without saying bye or anything.
apart from this encounter with this individual i have to say the food was great, the room was nice and other service in general was value for money.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'hotel elan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel elan

Address: No.38 Chong Yip Street, Kwun Tong, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Kwun Tong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#46 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — L'hotel elan 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel elan, the latest development of the L'hotel Group under the Chinachem Group, is now opened. Located in the vibrant new business hub of Kwun Tong, the Hotel offers 254 superbly appointed guestrooms and suites, a gym and an outdoor pool, a contemporary casual dining restaurant offering international cuisine, and banquet facilities. It is a design-led boutique-inspired hotel with an array of seamless e-tech services, from unparalleled eCheck-in, eKiosk information services, to user friendly eMenus. The hotel is also enriched by an exciting collection of contemporary art for a private gallery atmosphere amid the welcoming spirit of modern Asian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your L'hotel elan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Hotel Elan Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'hotel elan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.