We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must See for Hong Kong Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park

Ocean Park
Aberdeen, Hong Kong, China
852-39232323
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Ocean Park like an insider
Top Rated
$83*
and up
Ocean Park Hong Kong Full Day Tour
Ranked #20 of 712 things to do in Hong Kong
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the world's most beautiful theme parks and ranked as the 7th most popular theme parks in the world by Forbes - the home-grown destination includes an iconic Marine Land, Amazing Asian Animals (giant pandas, red pandas, asian otters, etc.), and cable cars as well as state-of-the-art, world-class facilities such as Polar Adventure, Thrill Mountain, and Aqua City.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Must See for Hong Kong Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Ocean Park overs a wide range of attractions from aquariums to rides. This theme park offers something for visitor of all ages. Buy tickets from travel agencies as they offer discounts. Ocean Park is big enough to disperse huge crowds so the park does not feel congested. Make sure to wear comfortable shoes as you will certainly do a lot of walking. The good thing about this place is that you are not required to rent lockers for rides because yet have compartments/places to leave your bags before you board the rides. Clean washrooms and good souvenir shops. Avoid rainy seasons as this might ruin your vacation. The view of the cable car is enough reason to go here. Went there as a couple May 5, 2013. Transportation to and from Ocean park is now issue as frequent buses cater people to and from Admirality MTR station for just 3.5 HKD.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,278
    1,672
    549
    124
    81
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Pandas!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I went to Ocean Park for one thing and one thing only.. the pandas. I came all the way to China in search of them and here they are!

The girl panda was sleeping but the boy panda was out munching on bamboo. It was awesome! They also have a red panda which I decided was super cute. :)

About half the rides were closed on the thrills side. :( I did go on two of the rides and they were ok. Older and pretty shakey.

I was amazed and thrilled to see the seals and penguins, but the poor Walrus just looked sad.

I had lunch at the Aquarium restaurant, Neptunes, and it was ok.

Overall, pretty over-priced. Also side note: the Ampitheater is closed for repairs until June.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

As far as this kind of park goes it was ok...we really went for the pandas and that was worth the trip for sure...they were amazing, particularly the red pandas which are so very different. One can really get up close and personal with them which is also fantastic. Also the view from the top was stupendous but apart from that it was pretty ordinary and touristy. The food was also pretty ordinary there...

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesena, Italy
Top Contributor
911 reviews 911 reviews
477 attraction reviews
Reviews in 266 cities Reviews in 266 cities
2,033 helpful votes 2,033 helpful votes
“cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

directly from mydiary: "Sitting along the cliff on the South Chinese Sea, I rest after a day at Ocean Park's where my stomach was tested after the American breakfast with bacon & eggs and Chinese rolls of spring, the bad road on the bus to get to this place and the luna park activities... However we have had fun like two kids!
The thing that struck me the most was seeing the panda in the park... they were enjoying crunch of twigs! Exciting! They were so tender! " born2travel.it

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marikina, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“true! this is much much more fun to go to than hk disneyland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

we had so much fun here at ocean park than hk disneland we enjoyed alot of rides n sceneries here the only thing that i wish we did was i wish we went there a bit more earlier so that we had d chance to see more but still we enjoyed it n d best part is that we waited till d last show fireworks display i so love it! i was smiling the whole show :D beautiful!!! best place for a family to go here we had alot of good memories here <3

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Park also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Ocean Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.