We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HK markets in Kowloon area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bird Street

Bird Street
Hong Lok St., Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Mong Kok)
Improve this listing
Visit Bird Street like an insider
Special Offer
$116*
and up
Hong Kong Super Saver: Hong Kong Island Tour...
Ranked #234 of 712 things to do in Hong Kong
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This exotic market is also a place where locals bring their own pet birds for airings.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“HK markets in Kowloon area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I followed the route suggested in an online Frommer's guide to see flower street, bird market, ladies market and goldfish markets in a single afternoon. Interesting sights, sounds and smells. The bird market was the one I liked most as there were tiny birds flying all over the place, with large and small birds in cages singing, unlike anything I've seen in a Western city. The ladies market was much about 1 km long and if you like shopping will probably keep you occupied for hours.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    31
    14
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Having caught the MTR (to Prince Edward) we visited the Bird Market / Goldfish / Ladies and Temple Street markets in one afternoon / evening.

The Bird Market was amazing - lots of different birds in cages - well worth a visit - something I don't see everyday in Australia.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Not much to see..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Pet birds being sold... atmosphere is so-so... unique but only if you have the extra time.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cruel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Don't go here if you care about birds. Terrible conditions and very sad to see.!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A different sort of cultural walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Having an image in my mind of the traditional Chinese custom of elderly men sitting in tea houses with their caged birds, a trip to the bird market in Hong Kong was on our list. Browsing through this open-air market was a unique experience. Bird cages hang or are stacked in the various stalls, each containing a single or groups of birds - from small finches to love birds and mynas. You might find a craftsman putting the finishing touches on a handmade bamboo cage while people scrutinize the various bird breeds. I loved the careful consideration involved in buying a bird, not just as a pet, but as an objet d’art. I couldn’t resist the beautiful ceramic feeding and water cups in various shapes and sizes that are typically used, some of them hand-painted and pretty enough to sit on your coffee table. I bought a pair for just that reason. This market is right near the flower market so the two together make for an interesting walk.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bird Street also viewed

 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Bird Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.