We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picasso Exhibit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Kong Heritage Museum

Hong Kong Heritage Museum
1 Man Lam Rd, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Heritage Museum)
852 2180 8188
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 394 Attractions in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 151 Reviews
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Heritage Museum houses exhibits covering art, history and culture. Guided tours and activities for children are offered.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Picasso Exhibit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Went to the Hertitage Museum to see the Picasso Exhibit; it was very impressive! Several of his most famous works were there and the need to purchase tickets is a wonderful change from the normal crowding of most Hong Kong events. Go see it before it goes away. The permeant displays were also very impressive. The Cantonese Opera Exhibit is wonderful as well as the Chinese Art section.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    63
    17
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
“Museum very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I visited the HK Heritage Museum with my husband to see the Picasso exhibition. First things first, I bought the tickets online and it was very cheap...$20 each to see a good selection of Picasso's work..Sessions also limited to 2 hours each so good crowd control....Bad point - trying to find the place, we got off at Sha Tin MTR, went into the shopping centre and spent about 40minutes trying to find the place....signage extremely poor...eventually got there. Museum very big, friendly staff, I used my phone in the exhibition (just texting) and security was friendly polite in telling me this was prohibited...after Picasso we checked out some of the Chinese exhibits upstairs...impressed....definitely worth a visit but museum please invest in some more signage on the way!!!!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth going”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Different theme exhibitions
Definitely worth going if you want to know more about the heritage or culture of Hong Kong

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“catch the picasso exhibit until july 22”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I went to this museum specifically for the picasso exhibit on display now... It was well worth the trip! The permanent exhibits are also worth checking out ...To get to the museum, take the MTR with a couple of transfers... from the shatin station.. you will need to walk for about 10minutes which is okay as it is mostly done inside a mall..Be sure to obtain tickets for the picasso exhibit ahead of time online for HK$20 otherwise you might have to apply for a museum pass which cost HK$50 good for 6 months and valid to 6 other museums which is still a pretty good deal.. A good way to spend a few hours...

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Interesting couple of hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

A good place to escape the heat and get an insight into the history of this fascinating city.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong Heritage Museum also viewed

 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Hong Kong Heritage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Kong Heritage Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.