We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An immersive historical experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Kong Museum of History

Hong Kong Museum of History
100 Chatham Rd S, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
852-27249042
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 409 attractions in Hong Kong
Type: History Museums
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Mountain View, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“An immersive historical experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I visited the museum on a Wednesday, when admission is free. There were a few school groups, but they mostly congregated towards the Museum of Science, on the other side of the complex. The main exhibition is called "The Hong Kong Story" and traces Hong Kong's history from prehistory all the way up to the transfer of Hong Kong from the British colonial rule to China. It's a well-curated experience that highlights a lot of the essential historial points, filling in the many holes a tourist or visitor might have in understanding the complex and colorful past that makes Hong Kong special.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    691
    365
    42
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Labasa, Fiji
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A little bit of Culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Amazing stuff in there. the civilization is so old!!! seeing the timeline going back several years BC was amazing and their craftmanship is aplaudable given that in those time they did not have modern day machinery to help them make those ceramics and jewelry. Calliograpy is also amazing to see. thousgh i didnt understand it at all. My interest in Japanese culture from earlier trips helps me appreciate this particular tradition though....truly mesmering

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Went there to read up on Hong Kong's history as I had enough walking through the shopping streets and I wasn't disappointed. It starts all the way from prehistoric times and is like said, pretty complete. Had to rush my visit though as I went in with 90 minutes to go till closing time so if you want a real good look at the place, do plan more time for it.

One thing: when walking from the Austin Road I couldn't see where the entrance was. An extra sign would be ideal. It would have saved me a walk around the back (or maybe I simply missed the sign)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
101 attraction reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you have to choose only one museum in HK, go for this. The place has an excellent curator and is a lot of fun, showing from the geographic formation to folklore and contemporary days. Save at least two to three hours to this museum and make sure you don't miss the opium war section. You'll learn a lot about HK and China history.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

For someone who's interested in getting to know the Countrys Culture this place is great
You'll learn a lot from it.

We went here together with a tour guide , it'll take you more than an hour or so to have a good look at the artifacts but since I was soo excited to go on shopping already it bored me right away
(No offense!)

It's just a walk away from Hotels and Boutiques and local restaurant
It's in a very good location easy to find


Been here June 2008

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong Museum of History also viewed

 

Been to Hong Kong Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Kong Museum of History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hong Kong Museum of History to your Saves list