We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Peak (The Peak)

Victoria Peak (The Peak)
1 Lugard Rd, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Tai Ping Shan)
852-28497654
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$77*
and up
Hong Kong Super Saver: Hong Kong Island Tour plus...
Ranked #13 of 394 Attractions in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 9,278 Reviews
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers, Trams, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Hong Kong's number one tourist destination features the Peak Tower and the Peak Tram, the city's oldest mode of public transport.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stroller parking
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great ride up on the team - incredible feat of engineering. But once at the top....well....it's the top of a mountain. It's rarely clear so the view is a bit of a risk. Regardless, a fun way to spend some time.
Friends tell me you should hike down and make the most of the journey and if we'd had time and the inclination (it was ~33 degrees C that day) we would have.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,913
    3,274
    904
    146
    41
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Riding to the peak in the cable car is an essential experience in Hong Kong. The queue was huge but it was a public holiday on the China Mainland so every Chinese person was going where we were! But it only took 40 minutes to be on the tram going up! It was a great view ... except for the ever present pollution that is all around. We went at dusk and watched the sunset and the lights come on. That was a great experience. We had dinner at Bubba Gumps with a window table. Most enjoyable. There is a wide choice of restaurants and shopping at the top. Going home was most difficult. The queue to go back on the tram was enormous ... the taxis were plentiful but charging ridiculous prices. So we queued up for a bus and that took about 30 minutes in the queue and then 30 minutes by bus back to the bottom. But it was all part of the fun. However if we had known about the queue at the top coming down we would have just purchased a one-way ticket to the top. Never mind! It was an excellent afternoon and evening.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Morning walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you are looking for a little quiet and peace, the walk around the peak is a good choice. It is not challenging as long as you can walk. The full loop will take about an hour. If you are hard-press for time, then take the Lugard road from the Peak Tower and walk for a short distance and you will be rewarded with some interesting sights of Hong Kong and Lamma Island.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, SC, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The view was breathtaking, and the trolley ride to the top was fun too! Be prepared...it is VERY WINDY up there!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Selangor, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Breath-taking view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The night view is superb! our visit was winter time, hence it add on more value of visiting! The only negative was the loooooooooong Q for the tram....luckily we bought our ticket for the tram from our local travel agency here, hence save some time for the ticket Q, straight away can Q for the tram, but still, very long Q.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Peak (The Peak) also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Victoria Peak (The Peak)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Peak (The Peak), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.