We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do this if nothing else!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Peak (The Peak)

Victoria Peak (The Peak)
1 Lugard Rd, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Tai Ping Shan)
852-28497654
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$77*
and up
Hong Kong Super Saver: Hong Kong Island Tour plus...
Ranked #13 of 394 Attractions in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 9,283 Reviews
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers, Trams, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Hong Kong's number one tourist destination features the Peak Tower and the Peak Tram, the city's oldest mode of public transport.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access
Sooke, Canada
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“do this if nothing else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a fantastic trip up the steep slope. The optical illusion of tilted buildings can be rather frightening, but well worth the experience. Going up while standing is not for the faint hearted. We went on mid-Autumn Day, very busy, loads of people but well organized. Fabulous, short trip of a lifetime - if you only have a short visit do not miss his ride.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,917
    3,274
    905
    146
    41
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing view of Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Take the tram up, it is a cool experience being pulled up a mountain at almost a 45 degree incline. We had pho at the top of the peak and it was amazing. The view what does it for me, one side is the urban view of Hong Kong and the harbour and on the other side, it's a secluded mountain top view with beautiful greenery and a bay for great pictures...you forget you're even in Hong Kong.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trimdon
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great views from the top, even better than the sky 100 which was a bit disappointing. Some fab souvenir shops which were cheap and we bought most of our pressies from one of the souvenir shops here which was very resonably priced. Good selection of cafes. Some nice walks if you have the energy. Madame Tussaud's can be visited here. Spent longer here than intended as was enjoyable, easy to get the tram and Octopus card a bonus as didn't have to bother with getting a ticket. Pleasnat experience overall.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“An excellent day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were staying in Kowloon but thought we must see The Peak. We got the MTR to Central, walked to the piers and caught the no. 15 double decker bus to The Peak, quite inexpensive on our Octopus cards. The ride was fabulous, winding up steep little roads and round almost impossible corners. At the top we baulked at ludicrous prices for bottled water at the first kiosk shop but found a 7-Eleven in the mall. Nice views from the top floor. We then found the visitor centre (in the green tram car) and set off on the circular walk, around 3.5km, much of it shady and with lots of wonderful views over Hong Kong and Kowloon. On the way up we'd seen that there was an appalling traffic jam going back down (some friends recently all but missed their plane because of something similar) so we went back down on the funicular tram - a very steep and scenic descent that bypassed the traffic jam entirely. At the bottom we stepped straight onto a 15C bus that whisked us back to Central. A lovely, scenic trip, all done without having to go on some expensive organised tour.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“what a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Victoria peak is a must for any visitor to HK. I did both day and night. . . . . the night visit being the best for the night show

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Peak (The Peak) also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Victoria Peak (The Peak)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Peak (The Peak), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.