We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right spot for the right price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shamrock Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shamrock Hotel to your Saves list
Shamrock Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.223 Nathan Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Jordan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Cape Breton
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The right spot for the right price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We tried this hotel on a whim. It is located in a great spot in the thick of things in Hong Kong. The rooms are very clean and the staff, for us, on two occasions has been nothing less than fabulous. They greeted us, opened the doors for us and helped us in numerous ways. The price is very reasonable for downtown Hong Kong. The room is not huge,but adequate.
the buffet is a 6/10 for westerners. They do however offfer an egg/omelet or pancake cooked to your specs for you. our only complaint is paying for wifi in the room. We have stayed in a number of places in Hong Kong and feel that for location and price it cannot be beat. Other places are cheaper,but not as centrally located. We commend the staff there for their courtesy and great service.

Room Tip: Higher up due to possible street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    159
    58
    11
    4
See reviews for
105
59
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

we had a very nice stay at shamrock, the location is also good (near MTR, 711, watsons, etc). Staffs are nice and friendly. The breakfast is good for everyone, the food choice is not that wide, but it can accommodate any religion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Got a really unforgettable experience in HK, I traveled with my family for a supposedly relaxing trip and ended up being stuck due to typhoon Usagi.

We booked in Shamrock during our 4 day/3 night stay and when our flight was cancelled, I opted to book in a cheaper bed and breakfast, turned out to be a wrong decision as we got lost finding it (roamed around the place for two hours under heavy rain and wind! and we got separated along the way, it took two hours to finally reunite, with them <my parents and son> back to the airport and exhausted, while me and my husband checked the hostel), when we finally saw the property, it was not worth it, I gave away the $800 I paid for the night and did not bother for a refund...we called Shamrock to book the night and they not only gave us a discount (from $1,650/night to $1,100/night, they also upgraded us to de luxe and to think there were a lot of people stranded and looking for a place to stay! They did not take advantage of the situation. After all the stress and worries of the storm and getting lost and separated in the heart of the city (and in such highly populated area!), we were again greeted by the warm welcome and homey atmosphere of the hotel...can't thank them enough, special mention to their staff named Lilian.

Very accessible also...From Airport, take bus A21, it will bring you straight to the hotel (you just have to cross the road), and from the hotel, you take A21 also (walk through your right upon exiting the hotel, in front of the police station is the bus stop), it will lead you to terminal 1 of the HK International airport, fare is HK$33 (as of Sep 2013).

There is a Mc Do nearby, we take our breakfasts there, and KFC in the building very close to the hotel, there are Mannings and 7-11 stores everywhere.

The hotel is also steps away from Jordan station.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were booked in 6th and 8th floors, both floors were highly maintained, clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

For the price, not worth it. Staff were unpleasant, like they didn't want to be there, like I was annoying them by just talking to them. I get treated better at $10 a night hostels. Room, while clean, was cramped with no windows. They charge you for water. Worst breakfast buffet I've had. I don't know where the good reviews for this place are coming from to be honest. All in all, while not a 'hotel from hell' there are much better places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Wat an area to stay !!!! You are in heart of TsimShaTusi.
Austin , Jordan , Temple street and Nathan Road just around your hotel. It is a great experience to stay in this hotel. Shopping you are right in the heart of the market. Nightlife is just around you.
The hotel is on the main road . Great place to stay and the breakfast too is very good. A good property to stay with family or if you go on a business trip.
Rooms are a little small but still comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I liked it, staff were attentive and nice, near the centre, some rooms don t have windows or have them just in the toilet. Small rooms, and very good location. Near parks, restaurants and places to visit.

Room Tip: ask for one with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Im actually writing this review from the Shamrock Hotel. If you only care about a place to stay and dont expect any fancy amenities then this is the perfect hotel because its right in the heart of Mongkok.

PROS:

- excellent location (every nearby building has got a mall in it with several floors of stores and restaurants, much like the old department stores of New York City- you wont have a problem with shopping or finding a decent place to eat)

- all the major attractions of Mongkok are nearby (The Hong Kong Cultural Center with its museums and the parks are just a 10 minute walk away, the entrance to the HK subway is right outside the hotel so you wont have a problem getting anywhere, along the harbor with the ferries is down the street and you can go to the night markets after dark).

- decent rooms (the room is clean), aircon is strong and crisp

CONS:

- the rooms are pretty small, some dont have the street views rather their windows are just tinted out.

- WIFI internet is only free in the lobby area.

- The hot water is more like lukewarm, and the drain in my tub was working very slowly.

- its only a 3 star hotel so no major amenities like a gym or a swimming pool.

All in all Im glad I chose this hotel, I only use hotels for sleeping in and this one is right smack dab in the middle of everything. The classy Peninsula Hotel is down the street and costs three to five times more but if you can do without a gym, a pool and are willing to make a little sacrifice, then this hotel is adequate- you can take the money you saved and use it to buy more stuff; once youre exhausted just head back to this hotel and sleep it off, then start the whole thing over again.

Room Tip: - ask for a street view if you can so at least you can look out the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shamrock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Hotel

Address: No.223 Nathan Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Jordan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shamrock Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Kowloon on Nathan Road, which consider as the backbone of Hong Kong that is always brimming over with the glamour of urban life and fabulous shopping selections, just a step away from the Jordan Station (Mass Transit Railway),giving easy access to most parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Shamrock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hong Kong
Shamrock Hotel Hong Kong
Shamrock Hotel Hongkong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamrock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.