We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a nice view...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau to your Saves list
Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Bay, Cheung Chau Island, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #424 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Moscow
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Just a nice view...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Old and not comfortable hotel. Located on a hill, the heavy lifting if you have luggage .. Reception in the basement (here is a repair) - not a ladder handy .. The hotel is good for a one-day visit, dine at a restaurant on the beach and swimming / sunbathing. In addition to shower, change clothes and go....

Room Tip: If you want to stay in this hotel, ask for the highest floor (6)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
19
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

The Warwick Hotel has been around for long but rooms were recently refurbished. The interior decor was simple yet pleasant. The best thing I liked about the room is that it has a balcony that overlooks the beach.

Beakfast was delivered into your room and we had a nice meal at the balcony. The food was good- with basic stuff such as ham and eggs, toasts and cornflakes.

The location is good- a nice short walk from the Cheung Chau ferry pier. You can also swim at the beach and go back to the hotel room for a shower.

The only downside about the room was that the bathroom was quite old. It was clean but has clearly not been refurbished since the 1980s.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Spent a night with pleasure.
very nice sea view, quiet, nice bed room and bath room, nice staff.
Renovated recently I guess.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We had one night on the island to get away from it all, nice location on the beach and great views back to Hong Kong at night. Getting to the hotel is a treak in the heat, there is no transport on the island so its a 10 minute walk, the hard part is when you see the hotel, up the hill and down the steps inside to the reception area. I have a disability and this hotel is not disability friendly! Getting from the hotel to the beach and back is a mission. Still its quiet, away from it all and the breakfast is nice looking out over the ocean. The corn flakes were stale but the rest was very nice. We had dumplings in the restaurant for lunch before leaving again nice looking over the beach, food OK. Overall we enjoyed our stay and the view but the hotel is tired. Even though it was very hot the pool doesn't open until July and you got the impression the staff had a good life! Would we stay again, its the best on the island so I guess we would. If you go expecting a basic island break you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Ok, been many times to Cheung Chau Island and from their new website, looked like this hotel renovated the rooms, so decided to give it a go for a week-end break away from HK island.
Well the website pictures are quite misleading to say the least, and they must know about it, as we have been asked to pay for our stay at our arrival. (yes we already had a deposit from our reservation)
The room wasn't very clean, an empty cigarettes pack was left on the terrace floor, one of the towel and the shower curtain were torn. Terrace is nice, but covered not entirely by a small wooden floor, which makes sitting there or putting a drink on the table an acrobatic trick.
The shower flooded many times as the shower drain was partially plugged (before we used it).
Service wasn't friendly at all, never saw any of the staff at the hotel or the restaurant smile. Breakfast in the room was ok, but the delivering staff was like a robot, pouring milk and orange juice on the floor everytime (still don't know why she wasn't doing it on the table, seeing as clumsy she was) and having to be asked the same question 3 times before she stops ignoring us (it wasn't a trick question and my wife being from Hk, there were no language issue).
I can understand that the hotel is quite old, but frankly I don't think the staff/management is doing any effort. And it's not especially cheap.
We had an easter discount, but our room was around the same price as one in the Gold Coast hotel, with no comparison possible on service and anemities.
So will definitely be avoiding the place and will advise my friends to do the same.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

Went there for an overnight trip and found out that while the room was clean it was small. The sliding glass window opened up to a balcony that was small and had a small table and 2 chairs on it. This made it hard to do anything except sit down and try to enjoy the view.

When we were there it was cold and we were told that the rooms didn't have heat only a/c. So they had to bring up a space heater. The plug ins were on the opposite side of the room and the heater cord was short so we couldn't move it where we thought it would be of most usefulness.

The shower was also small. The hotel put a towel at the entrance to the shower to catch any water that would spill onto the floor.

On the other hand, the staff was friendly and the food was good. Just don't expect much if you go there.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau

Address: East Bay, Cheung Chau Island, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hong Kong
Warwick Hotel Hong Kong
Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.