We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, clean rooms and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden View Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Garden View Hong Kong to your Saves list
Garden View Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 MacDonnell Road, Central, Hong Kong, China (Central)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 506 Reviews
Paranaque, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great view, clean rooms and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

One of the hotels where we felt most comfortable. The hotel is close to everything- shopping, food and the view is fantastic. Our hotel room view had the skyline of Hong Kong which looked even better at night. From below, you could see Botanical Garden.

Catching a cab from the hotel isn't a problem because when you get out, there's one already waiting. There's a good restaurant from below too. The room is very clean and well lit. the bathroom as well. You could clearly see how the hotel is very well managed.

The staff, tho they have difficulty speaking in English, tries very hard to accommodate you and entertain you with your needs. The service is pretty fast and works on your request right away.

The only difficulty was because it seemed to be on an uphill, so walking downwards was kind of hard. but other than that, the hotel had the perfect spot, very convenient as it is near everything. Even walking distance to the Peak Tram.

The next time we go back to Hong Kong, we are definitely staying here.

Room Tip: Best view is overlooking over the skyline. Breathtaking view even at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    286
    80
    17
    12
See reviews for
51
110
46
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were a family of 3 couples and 2 children and stayed for 3 nights and 4 days at YWCA, HK during our HK-SG holiday.

On the location, it’s situated at mid-levels, so it’s quite an uphill walk from the central, difficult for elderly people. Getting taxis outside the hotels is not a problem until it starts raining and the taxi frequency just dries up, us having to wait for over half an hour to get a cab on occasions. It’s close to Peak tram, HK garden, but walking it out with kids and elders is still difficult and taxis refuse to ply these short distances.

Rooms were spacious by HK standards, big enough to fit an extra bed for kids. Rooms were clean, well-furnished and well-kept. We had a good view from one of rooms from where we could see flamingos in the HK garden nearby. The rooms could use some sound-proofing as the sound from the corridor could be heard inside the rooms all too well.

They don’t have any restaurants, esp from a vegetarian’s perspective. It had a swimming pool which was shut for maintenance all throughout our stay there. Room keys were a problem and would stop working if placed near other cards. We ended up going back and forth quite a few times for this. There is a convenience store nearby, which is helpful.

Staff was courteous. However, one of the uninformed receptionists guided us to a horrible joint when we asked for suggestions for Indian cuisine. This aside, they were helpful and patiently answered our queries on various occasions.

But for the rain related issues, we had a pleasant stay. Overall, nice hotel and a decent option among 3 star hotels on the main HK island.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is my second stay since 2011. I traveled with a small child so we don't bother using the MTR most of the time and so this hotel just fits in -- taking a taxi from hotel is easy as there's always a taxi waiting in the front door. Cost is only around HKD 30 to/from Causeway Bay/Central.

The room is decent sized but really not much else. During my stay it was always quiet in the room as there were not a lot of rooms per floor so not that many foot traffic outside in the corridor which is great. Check in/out was a breeze as again there aren't that many guests as it is a small hotel.

Check out the Hong Kong Park nearby (only 2 minutes walk from hotel) which is free and has a zoo, a bird garden and a botanical garden:
http://www.lcsd.gov.hk/parks/hkp/en/index.php

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level floor which gives you a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed at the Garden View YWCA Hotel in March 2012. The location was good - 1 Macdonnell Road. Easy to get a bus to the city or to catch a taxi. The local metro is a short taxi ride away. The rooms were clean and there was a supermarket close at hand. Swimming pool was non-functional during my stay but that wasn't reflected by the Booking Agents. As it turned out, I extended my stay through Agoda by a few days after considering the +s. As the Agoda site came up in Chinese, I ended up booking 2 rooms for 2 nights, instead of 1 room for 2 nights - a double charge! Immediately had I done that, I went down and appraised the girls at the counter who told me that the Managers were now away being Friday night, and the matter could only be considered after they re-appeared on Monday. I notified them of the error and said that the extra room should be made available to anyone who cared to book. They seemed clueless about how to handle the matter. I also notified Agoda at once about my error, but they too were slothful in replying, and even so, said I would simply have to cough up - too bad it was a mistake. The expression "grin and bear it", came to my miind. As I've managed a 5 star accommodation with 210 rooms myself, I wasn't going to take such poor attitude on the part of the Garden View YWCA Management, or Agoda at face value. The Duty Manager at the Y, said it could not be helped. I ranted. A girl at reception to her credit, then told the manager that the booking team were in contact with Agoda, He promptly changed his tune and repeated what she had conveyed, like a parrot. Customer Service - management doesn't know what that means. Christian Association? In what way please? Would I stay there again? Yes I would! Good location, clean, has a pool, good transport connections and a reasonable price for Hong Kong. I only hope that someone in the YWCA's top management will shake branches at the Garden View YWCA in the meanwhile!! [Good news was that after several Emails and protests, Agoda agreed to refund the double charge] The Y management had no system in place to handle such matters, and seemed disinterested to your face!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Nice room overlooking the gardens, well appointed for two. The bed was comfortable with two mattresses one softer than the other so you could have hard or softer. Very helpful room staff. Good position and easy taxi availability. Great pity about the other guests on floor 9. If staying for a short time then a superior room will be ok as all the rooms are the same only the de luxe has a view of the gardens.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Loved the big window in our room, overlooking the botanical gardens. The hotel is in a great location and we were very comfortable here for 4 nights. Only complaint is that WiFi is not available in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I have stayed few times in their Deluxe room. And found the price value rather good. I have paid way below 1000 HKD per night, around 700-800 including taxes. Not bad for HK.

The pros
-Rooms I have stayed have had simple and working layout
-Rooms are in good condition (Deluxe rooms I have stayed)
-Hotel is quiet
-Location is ok in Mid Levels (living area), and it is not too long walk to Central / Admiralty MTR.

The cons
-This is no frills hotel, so do not expect superb service or big restaurant selection
-Attitude at front desk is not really helpful
-At check-out it took longer than normal for them to check, if I had consumed anything out of mini bar

Under hotel there is a good supermarket (Fusion by Parkn Shop). Whatever you need, you will find over there. I think this is very decent 2 star, almost 3 star kind of hotel. Excellent choice for budget traveler or business traveler who is looking for good price value. Select Deluxe room.

Room Tip: Go for Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden View Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Hong Kong

Address: No.1 MacDonnell Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden View Hong Kong 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden View Hong Kong has 141 spacious hotel rooms and suites overlooking the city with panoramic garden view, offering optimal comfort with full service yet reasonably priced accommodation ideally for business or leisure visits and extended stays.Hotel is in walking distance to Hong Kong business, financial center and shopping malls. Peak Tram Station and the trendy nightspot "Lan Kwai Fong" are all at your doorstep. It is easily access to all public transportations and nearby MTR Central subway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Garden View Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View International House Hotel Hong Kong
Garden View International Hotel
Garden View International Hong Kong
Garden View Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden View Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.