We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located hotel, small but certainly comfortable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Hotel Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stanford Hotel Hong Kong to your Saves list
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.118 Soy Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Mong Kok)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BookDirect Save 15% Extra
Ranked #120 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Conveniently located hotel, small but certainly comfortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stanford Hotel is conveniently located along Soy Street and a stone's throw away from the Fa Yuan and Ladies Market and about 5-7 minutes walk from Mongkok MTR. You won't need to worry about going hungry here as there are food options around the corner. Nearby there is also a wet market where you can get fresh fruits.

Was given a free upgrade to the premium room on the 8th floor.

The room was pretty small but sufficient for two people. Its clean and recently refurnished and the housekeeping do a good job of maintaining the place. Shower is slightly cramped for a larger person but water pressure was good and the supplied soap smelt like (mmm...) bolo buns.

Wifi internet is sufficiently speedy for my use. What I really enjoyed was the Samsung TV in the room which I could hook up my HDD to enjoy my own videos.

Water is provided daily by housekeeping along with tea and coffee satchels. Do note the Fiji water in the room is $40 per bottle.

Overall lovely stay, the fresh fruits provided when we checked in and the goodbye chocolates were a thoughtful addition. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The Fiji water is $40 per bottle! Better to drink the free bottles =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    208
    70
    13
    2
See reviews for
66
95
47
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gistel
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Nice modern hotel in Mongkok, a busy part of Kowkoon and well situated close to 2 different Metro ( underground )-lines;
Hotel-reception was friendly and check-in was fast. Knowledge of english was good.
Room was small ( as most Hongkong rooms ) but very clean with modern furniture, coffee-machine, free WI-FI.
Bathroom was well equipped
Breakfast was OK but choice was not to big and if you arrived late, choice was rather limited ( croissants and Danish were no longer available )
Eggs could be ordered but took long to arrive.
We liked nevertheless this hotel because it was walking distance to the Bird, Flower and Tropcal Fish- Markets. Hotel is also close to the famous Ladies-nightmarket.
The Red Metroline takes you in minutes to Tsim Sha Tsui, the very heart of Kowloon were you can shop in Nathan road or in Harbour City Ocean Center.
A walk harbourside or a crosing with the Star Ferry is only minutes away.
All in all a nice stay before the start of our cruise to Taiwan and Vietnaml;

Room Tip: ask room on high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseStanford, General Manager at Stanford Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip and your valuable comments that help to make improvement in the accommodation for our guests.

We appreciated for having you with us and we look forward to be of your service again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

The Stanford Hillview Hotel is a mid range (based on room price) hotel located near the top of a short steep hill in Kowloon. Because the hotel is the last building on the street there is very little traffic around the hotel. The location is great. From the hotel it is about 15 minutes walk to the harbor front of Kowloon. Because of its location on the top of a hill and the hotels height, many rooms have a view of the harbor and Hong Kong island. There are also considerable shopping options in the area around the hotel. The rooms are on the small side but perfectly adequate for the price (one of the major reasons to stay at the hotel in high priced Hong Kong). The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was also small. The hotel staff are friendly and speak good English. There is a bright restaurant located at the front of the hotel which serves a very good breakfast. The restaurant is one of the few facilities available at the hotel itself. There are many other restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseStanford, General Manager at Stanford Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 19, 2015
It’s our pleasure to welcome you to Stanford Hillview Hotel. We strive to provide you a cozy accommodation with friendly attentive service. And we always be your first choice.

We would love to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Upon arrival we were given a free upgrade to premium room from superior, staff are friendly and attending. Free unlimited WIFI connection and speed is ok. Room is a bit small but looks brand new and very clean, the daily room service is done like everyday same as check in condition. Good location just less than 10mins walk to MTR and popular street market and food nearby. We stayed for four nights and are very satisfied with the services provided, will be back again for next visit to Hong Kong.

There is a renovation ongoing till mid April 2015 and before arrival Hotel is kind enough to inform us on this, works starts from 9am till 6pm but heavy noisy works only starts after 10am+ so only the last day when we slept a bit late is noticeable. This is quite a good point that the hotel is keeping up on their maintenance and quality of their room.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking and high floor, most probably you'll get a free upgrade if there are room av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseStanford, General Manager at Stanford Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 19, 2015
It’s great to hear your encouraging comments as it allows us to continue to maintain and improve the guest experience.

Thank you for having you with us and we look forward to be of your service again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and the overall experience was none other than pleasant. Check in was prompt and staff was very friendly and helpful, patiently answering all our queries. The room wasn't too spacious, but I'm not complaining as this is Hong Kong - every cm matters. It has everything that we needed, clean bathroom, hair dryer, fridge and a comfy bed - all with a reasonable hotel rate. I also love that they have storage Service so that you don't have to worry bout your luggage a after check out - and continue strolling for another few hours before boarding. Will definitely be my choice if I were to visit HK again.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseStanford, General Manager at Stanford Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 19, 2015
It is our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel. Really love to hear that you had a wonderful stay here. Our staff are always available to ensure the best service for our guests.

We look forward to serving you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

The Stanford, located in the Mong Kok region of Kowloon is a great little hotel with modern facilities, and a location central enough to bring any of central Hong Kong’s attractions within easy reach. The three-star label is more a reflection of the available amenities rather than a statement of the hotel. The fresh appearance of the surprisingly spacious lobby is welcoming, and the rooms are clean and modern if a bit small. The firm beds provided a comfortable night’s sleep, and the upper floors of the hotel are far enough removed from the hustle and bustle of the street that street noise is not an issue. The bathroom is clean and modern, and the shower head was fantastic – one of the best I’ve ever experienced in a hotel. In-room wifi was available and had a strong, reliable signal.

The breakfast buffet is located on the second floor just above the lobby, and offered a wide selection of food ranging from western fare (eggs, bacon, sausages, baking, etc.) to foods more familiar to Eastern tastes. All in all the food was excellent – even though we did not eat evening meals at the hotel, the buffets laid out for supper looked just as excellent as the breakfast.

Shopping and eating opportunities abound – the famous “Ladies Market” set up along several blocks of Tung Choi Street in central Mong Kok is only a couple of blocks away and if that doesn’t meet your fancy there are still plenty of shops and shopping centres within an easy walk. Street food and noodle houses are seemingly everywhere. If one wishes to venture further afield most public transit facilities are close by – rely the helpful staff to offer suggestions on the best way to get to where you wish to go.

To summarize, the Stanford is a great little modern hotel well-situated for exploring Kowloon and is in easy reach of the mainland and HK island via public transit. I had no issues with noise in the hotel, and did not notice any “mainland tourist groups” as have been described in other reviews. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors remove travelers from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseStanford, General Manager at Stanford Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 19, 2015
Nice to learn that you had a pleasant staying with us. Our hotel offers an unforgettable hospitality that would make your experience so exceptional. We expect your staying in the Hotel will be your wonderful recall.

We would love to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

I stayed here over Chinese New Year 2015. My 5th time in HK. I chose this hotel as it was conveniently located to the MTR less than 5mins walk, Sneaker St, and nearby markets. The rooms are quiet at night also. My flight into HK got delayed and didn't arrive till after 1am, the staff were so helpful and friendly which was great as i was so tired. The room was a nice size, bigger than most other hotels I've stayed in HK. Everyday the room was cleaned immaculate, and they even left some tasteful snacks each day to try. When i go back next year it will be to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseStanford, General Manager at Stanford Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
Thank you for having you with us. It was great to know that the accommodation and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is always our goal.

We are looking forward to your next visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanford Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.118 Soy Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#65 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanford Hotel Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong offers comfort and convenience with our traditional gracious hospitality. Situated beside Ladies' Market, located in Kowloon in one of the most colourful and vibrant areas of this lively, cosmopolitan city. Stanford Hotel Hong Kong is well served by public transport. It is just a few minutes' walk to the MTR Station as well as the Mong Kok East MTR Station, which connects to Mainland China. The Hotel offers complimentary scheduled shuttle bus service to Hung Hom MTR Station, Airport Express Kowloon Station, China Hong Kong City Ferry Terminal and Stanford Hillview Hotel. Our 194 guestrooms are decorated stylishly, with a view overlooking the most popular Mong Kok area and its night light. Our business centre is located on lobby level, provides instant connection to every business associates and its partners. Offering 24-hour reception, staff can also assist with childcare and business needs for guests' convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Stanford Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Motel Hong Kong
Stanford Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford Hotel Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.