We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Hotel Kowloon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Empire Hotel Kowloon to your Saves list
Empire Hotel Kowloon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.62 Kimberly Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights before our onward trip to China. Very convenient for getting around and the airport bus stopped outside each way bookable in the foyer at the airport.
staff were friendly and efficient. Woould have liked more lounge area and seating arrangements but not in the hotel too often except when the typhoon hit !!
In all a good place to stay breakfast very substantial and rooms very clean and spacious.Cityscape view from the window.We were verrrry high up
Tuscany

Room Tip: Get a room not too high
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    145
    105
    26
    12
See reviews for
27
54
23
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Like what everyone said, customer service was very poor. We were waiting for our room for almost an hour when we reached there after check-in time around 2+pm. From the way the staff talked to the housekeeper, he was trying to ask them to get it done soon but the housekeeper was actually delaying. But I am glad that they gave us complimentary upgrade to club room. Can't complain at all. I was surprised that the room was very spacious with good view of HK city but then there was lots of banging noise above us. This club room was actually perfect for business travelers. There is a mini pantry where you can boil water, big bathroom with bath-tub and shower area and cosy king size bed with warm comforters (specially for winter time). Don't expect much on house-keeping. They only manage to clean up and top up necessity for 1st 2 days, after that they did not bother to top up anything including water bottles except changing bedsheets and towels. For location wise, it is very near to TST MTR and many restaurants / supermarkets can be found there. Free shuttle bus to Airport Express Kowloon is available across the street. We did not spend whole day in the hotel room so basically the price is quite alright since we got complimentary upgrade to club room instead of superior room. It depends on how much time you plan to spend in the room so basically it is alright for a couple like us.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Our first time to Hong Kong so we were a bit shocked at first with the size of the room but we got used to it after a while. Apparently we were also upgraded to a Superior Room so bit of a worry if the standard rooms were smaller (??). The room was very clean with a modern bathroom, we had some issues with the bathroom, the toilet wasn't flushing properly and shower was blocked but they attended to these issues promptly when we complained. Agree with many of the comments in the other reviews; service is very poor, the hotel is outdated and the breakfast buffet left a lot to be desired, not a great deal of choice. The food seemed to run out (ie OJ, pastries etc) and the manager of the restaurant seemed more interested to stand and talk with the same asian guests every day rather than attend to the other guests. We had to get our own tea and coffee although we did notice he sometimes filled up some guests cups on an adhoc basis. We were very busy sightseeing so did not spend a lot of time in the room so it was okay but we would not stay in this hotel next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This is a very bustling hotel- very fitting for a city like Hong Kong.

The Empire is perfect for a business traveller everything was very satisfactory. Choosen for it's location near a great street of restaurants.

Would not hesitate to book again, for Hong Kong rooms are a very reasonable size for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This hotel is difficult to review because it is all about your expectations. Hotels in Hong Kong are expensive and we were there over New Year. This hotel is not cheap and you do feel that you should be getting more for your money - the rooms are very small, the customer service is rather limited, the overall condition of the hotel is relatively poor. However, the location is good, within easy walking distance of the shopping in Kowloon and TST. We walked to and from the NYE celebrations on the waterfront in no time at all. It depends on how much time you plan to spend in the room. If, like us, you go to Hong Kong to get out and about then this hotel should be OK but don't have high expectations!

Room Tip: The rooms are very small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Firstly i must say that this was our first trip to Hong Kong and it was hard to work out exactly where was the best location to stay. The location of the Empire Hotel was great, just off Nathon rd and not too far away from the MTR...
The hotel itself wasn't too bad, but the customer service is dramatically lacking here (simple things like taking your luggage or even opening the door for you while trying to get your luggage into the hotel didn't happen here) Also we were left waiting at the concierge desk for over 20mins without being seen when we wanted to enquire about getting Wi-Fi (and it wasn't particularly busy with people checking in or out at that time either)
Our room was absolutely tiny, but due to us spending most of our time outside of the hotel exploring this wonderful city and only really returning to sleep it wasn't a big issue for us..
I would suggest to anyone looking to come to Hong Kong for the first time that this hotel could be an option if the location is the most important thing and you're not planning on spending much time in your room other than to sleep. If however you are expecting great customer service as well then unfortunately you will be extremely disappointed

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainan, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Well, the price is five star price but the facility is not as good as it costs. It can be better than expected. However, the location is good and near by MTR station. Free shuttle bus to Airport Express Kowloon is available across the street.

Room Tip: Room is big enough for such price in Kowloon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Empire Hotel Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel Kowloon

Address: No.62 Kimberly Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel Kowloon 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Empire Hotel Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hotel Kowloon Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Hotel Kowloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.