We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great trip, stunning views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon's Back

Dragon's Back
Hong Kong, China
Improve this listing
Visit Dragon's Back like an insider
$115*
and up
Ranked #15 of 712 things to do in Hong Kong
Activities: Hiking
Attraction details
Yangshuo County, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great trip, stunning views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

With the hike you escape the busy Hong Kong and you can find your inner peace again. At the end of the walk just across the road you can take ANOTHER 'few' steps (15-20 min) to have a swim at a deserted beach! Just great to relax and enjoy

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    222
    20
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“A great walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Fabulous walk, not to strenuous, clearly signposted, with great views, and can end with dinner and drinks in Shek O

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Great hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hike was more strenuous than my friend and I imagined. We are both athletic, however, and appreciated traveling along the spine of some of Hong Kong Island's more rural bits. I recommend you bring a swimsuit so that you can visit the Shek-O beach afterwards for a swim. The Thai restaurant at the intersection at Shek-O is also popular with the local expat scene. We enjoyed it too.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous walk - worth the effort !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

this route is perfect for families - if you are feeling energetic you can take the steeper route (left turn coming from Tai Tam starting point / Correction centre) or the lower route (less spectacular views) for an easier stroll. Highly recommend the steep climb up - views are wonderful and often there are microlight fliers which are fun to watch. Walk down to the road afterwards and take a relaxing casual lunch in Shek O. Great way to spend a day out for everyone.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Wow a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We did this hike and then went to Shek o beach. The hike was moderate intensity with some nice flat walks mixed in. The incline at the beginning makes it seem harder than it is. There was a walk about 10 minutes up a steep hill then a nice walk along a very well maintained trAil. There were some springs you had to get over by climbing a few rocks but they were easy. We saw lots of birds and a ton of butterflies. Then there was the dragons back Part with rocks and lots of steps but again it was not bad. We don't work out and were out of breath a couple spots but there were lots of scenic parts to look out at the view and rest. Shek o beach was perfect after to cool off And rest. It is a beautiful beach and the water was clean when we visited.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon's Back also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Dragon's Back? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragon's Back, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.