We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Harbourview Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Harbourview Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Harbourview Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.4 Harbour Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 737 Reviews
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel. The hotel service was average. The location of the hotel is very convenient. However, the room is very small, and felt claustrophobic. My room was overlooking the back of two buildings nearby, and it was very close to those building. I was not looking for a view in the room, but it felt horrible to be staring at a dirty grey walls at nearby building.

The room was so small that I had trouble getting to the safe and the closet. And I am only 5'2"! The washroom was so small that I am constantly hitting the walls as I shower and getting changed in the washroom. I was given a room with two single beds. And with my height and size, I still manage to almost roll out of the bed. My legs touch the end of the bed.

My biggest issue is that while it smells fresh and clean at the lobby, once you get onto the upper floors, there is this stale and stuffy smell in the hallway and also in your room. It just did not feel clean. The carpet was dated and does not look clean either.

Given that they claim that this is a business hotel, I am surprised that there is no free wifi at the lobby or in the room. They charge a premium price for wifi access.

Overall, this was a poor experience, would not come back here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write us a detailed comment and we are happy to know that you are satisfied with the location of our hotel.

Regarding the room size, kindly note that our hotel has two other room categories, namely, Executive Room and Executive Deluxe Rooms which are larger than regular rooms and face the Victoria Harbour that you might consider for your next visit.

For the bed size, please be informed that our single bed is 4 feet (width) x 6 feet 3 inches (length) in size, which is the industry average in Hong Kong. We can arrange bed extension for 12 inches for guests upon request. You are welcomed to contact our Reservation Department (e-mail: reservation@theharbourview.com.hk) to make your bedding request prior to your arrival or request upon checking in and we will try our very best to arrange for you.

Kindly also note that the hotel offers free internet access for guest who makes reservation with our hotel directly. For details, please contact our Reservation Department.

In fact, we will replace all carpets at the corridor on each guest floor with new ones in different phases and this process is expected to be completed by March 2013. Please be assured that hygiene and sanitation are the key concerns of our hotel. Your comment is well noted and we have shared with the concerned department and they will make necessary improvements accordingly.

Your comment is important to us as through which we can find rooms to improve. We will take your words seriously and improvement would be made definitely. We sincerely wish that you could give us one more chance to do it better next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    380
    185
    34
    18
See reviews for
73
174
78
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hanoi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I went with my family to take my kid to Disneyland and ocean park and to do some shopping. Hotel location did not work for me. You cannot walk down to the street and find food or shopping. Everything is a walk away. I prob should have stayed in Kowloon
Other than that room is ok, clean but quite small.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor.com and we are delighted to know that you are satisfied with the cleanliness of our hotel. Comparing with other hotels, our guestrooms are not big in size, however we have been trying to offset this weakness with our reasonable price and stunning harbour view.

Regarding your points on our hotel’s location, it is true that there is no extensive shopping mall nearby; however, there are plenty of restaurants within 10 minutes’ walk from the hotel across the main road, which you might be interested to explore during your next trip to Hong Kong.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we sincerely hope that you could give us a second chance when you visit Hong Kong again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Harbourview is a reasonably priced hotel just down the road from the Hong Kong Convention Centre in Wanchai, and the Wanchai ferry. It has all the features you would expect of a decent business hotel in Hong Kong, plus, as the name suggests, views over the harbour. It is reasonably priced, clean, and with efficient and pleasant staff. I wish you didn't have to pay extra for internet access in your room -- but you do in most Hong Kong hotels. Wanchai is a noisy neighborhood, but this is a quiet and peaceful corner of it, and I enjoyed my time here. The Hong Kong Arts Centre -- with plays, movies, exhibitions and a nice cafe with excellent coffee on the 4th floor -- is an added bonus right next door.

Room Tip: pay the extra for the harbour view. Victoria Harbour is one of the most spectacular in the world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for writing us this valuable piece of compliment.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our harbour view, location, cleanliness, service, price, nearby attractions and transportation network. We will keep up the good work definitely and continue to strive for higher standard of service.

Regarding the internet charge, please note we can offer a special price if you make reservation directly with our hotel, you may contact our reservation department: reservation@theharbourview.com.hk if you would like to know more.

Thank you again for your positive comment and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was our second stay at the Harbourview. We did not book a room with harbour view as we spend so little time it did not matter. I read other reviews that there was disappointment that the view was a brick wall. You need to pay more for a harbour view. The room is compact but not as small as other Hong Kong rooms. The star ferry and the convention centre are all within walking distance. If you walk to the left of the hotel on Fenwick over the foot bridge you will find the MTR station on Lockhart Road to your left. There are several bars and restuarants. While Lockhart Road is partially in the "Red Light" district I never felt unsafe especially during the day walking back. The front of Harbourview has an outdoor siting area. The staff was helpful. The breakfast is amazing. Typical western and Asian breakfast. We were not inconvenienced by the renovation except maybe less elevator in the morning. I liked that it was quiet around the hotel. No traffic like in Kowloon. You have to walk only a short distance for the traffic and noise. We stayed on Lockhart road on another trip and will not do it again. Yes, the beds are hard but so are all the beds in China. (Not fond of soft beds anyway). The hotel is very clean and well maintained. I agree that the charges for wi-fi are high but many other hotels in Hong Kong charge the same. At least, at the Harbourview you are starting at a lower base.

Room Tip: when booking decide whether you want to pay extra for the harbour view. If you decide not to pay ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for staying again at The Harbourview and writing us this valuable piece of compliment.

We are happy to learn that you appreciate the convenient location, breakfast, cleanliness, quietness, nearby attractions and transportation network of our hotel.

Kindly note that the renovation works we are now undergoing will improve the facilities provided to our invaluable guests significantly and works will be completed within this year. Meanwhile, we are glad that the renovation didn’t cause you too much inconvenience during your stay.

Your comment about the bed is well noted too, actually we can provide a topper on the mattress for guests who prefer softer mattress. Kindly drop us an e-mail at marketing@theharbourview.com.hk and let us know your name and period of your previous stay, so that we can make proper arrangement during your next stay.

Regarding the internet charge, please note we can offer a special price if you make reservation directly with our hotel, you may contact our reservation department: reservation@theharbourview.com.hk if you would like to know more.

Thank you again for your positive comment and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Location in causeway bay is good, but rooms are small and views are a brick wall unless you pay extra for a slightly better view (views don't usually matter to me but because the rooms are small it all adds to feeling claustrophobic!)
There is a small fitness facility with 2 treadmills, a cross trainer and a few weights. You have to pay to use wifi although there is a computer you can use for ten minutes if the staff log you in. The service is quite good, doors held open for you etc. however for the price I paid I would rather pay £15 more and stay in another 4 or 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to learn that you are satisfied with our location and service provided.

Comparing with other hotels, our guestrooms are not big in size, however, we have been trying our very best to offset this weakness with our prime location and stunning harbour view. Our hotel has two other room categories; namely, Executive Room and Executive Deluxe Room, both are larger than regular rooms and face the Victoria Harbour that you might consider for your next visit.

Regarding the internet charge, please kindly note we can offer a special rate if you make reservation directly with us, you may contact our Reservation Department: reservation@theharbourview.com.hk if you would like to know more.

Thank you again for your comment and we hope that you could offer us a second chance on your next visit to Hong Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTP, NC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Well I wish I would have booked my own hotel but this one was chosen by the group doing the expo here in HK. First of all Internet is extra... If this is a business hotel how about making it business friendly like free wifi. Second the beds are uncomfortable, mattresses are hard and pillows are like mush. The biggest disappointment is the TV it's the same size as my laptop screen! I travel so much for work I like to lay down and watch TV at night this is ridiculous! Also no CNN no movie stations nothing to watch no sitcoms or international stations! . I have stayed at several other HK hotels in the Monkok and Kowloon area those are much better and provide better amenities. I will not stay here again wish I would not have prepaid because I really would change hotels!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We are most grateful for your feedback, which is valuable and important to us.

Your suggestion on free Wi-Fi service will be forwarded to our management for consideration. Meanwhile, please kindly note we can offer a special rate if you make reservation directly with us, you may contact our Reservation Department: reservation@theharbourview.com.hk if you would like to know more.

Your note about the bed and pillow is well taken too; we can provide a topper on the mattress and pillows for guests who prefer sleeping on softer mattress and we also have different kinds of pillows for guests to choose from. Please kindly drop us an e-mail at marketing@theharbourview.com.hk and let us know your name and period of your previous stay, so that we can make proper arrangement during your next stay.

Also, we are replacing the small in-room televisions with larger screen TVs in all our guestrooms in different phases and this process will be completed by March 2013. For TV channels, we are sorry that the variety of channel is not up to your expectation. We will try our best to improve in this area.

Thank you again for your comment and we sincerely hope that you could offer us a second chance on your next visit to Hong Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The location in Wan Chai is perfect - 5 minutes or so from the MRT or Star Ferry, and a good selection of restaurants and pubs all within 10 minutes walk.

The staff are simply amazing - helpful, friendly, well-trained, and give 110% service, 24 hours a day.

The room was not big, but certainly big enough. It was very comfortable, well maintained, and spotlessly clean. It had a huge window with the most amazing view of Victoria Harbour. Breathtaking.

The restaurant is pleasant, and the chef is good. Breakfast is good, but lunch and dinner let down by limited choice.

In conclusion, this is not a large, flashy hotel, but it is sensibly priced, well located, well run, and definitely a place to stay and return to.

Room Tip: Pay just a little extra for a Premium Harbour View Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for writing us this valuable piece of compliment.

We are delighted to know that you are satisfied with our location, price, breakfast buffet, friendly service and cleanliness of our guestrooms, and we will keep up the good work definitely. With our prime location, guests will have easy access to many popular shopping and entertainment hubs.

For the food variety issue, your comment would be communicated to our Food and Beverage team for further improvement.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you during your next trip to Hong Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Harbourview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbourview Hong Kong

Address: No.4 Harbour Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbourview Hong Kong 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Harbourview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour View International House Hong Kong
Harbourview Hong Kong
The Harbourview Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbourview Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.