We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the name” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Empire Hotel Wan Chai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Empire Hotel Wan Chai to your Saves list
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.33 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
1 review
“Don't be fooled by the name”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This is as far the worst hotel I have been to. For starter, room especially the bathroom is not clean, stains on the bathroom wall. And there is no heater in the room can be really cold in the winter in Hong Kong. Hotel is by a bar district, window is double layer window, you can feel cold wind just pouring in and very very noisy in the evening. No wired Internet connection port and wireless connection is really slow. Front desk staff is not friendly, won't admit clear mistakes they made on their bills. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    234
    157
    56
    31
See reviews for
21
51
38
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Service was decent by US standards but was terrible by the standards I've experienced in Asia. We actually had to change hotel rooms because the first one smelled like vomit. In hindsight, it most likely was vomit. The hotel is located across the street from a strip of what what can be mildly described as gentlemen's clubs. The girls at the clubs stand outside, scantily clad picking up customers so this hotel probably isn't the best for families with children, i would even spare your teenagers and young adults the awkwardness of having to witness that. One of the 4 nights we stayed here we actually entered the elevator with one of those girls and someone who was very obviously a tourist, heading to their room. Fooling around in the elevator the whole way up. I know that is not the fault of the hotel's but it's what you probably will encounter here, and in my mind, possibly what I'm sleeping in. I was glad I witnessed that towards the end of my stay.

The rooms are dated, the furniture looks like its mostly from the 80's possibly even the late 70's, some parts look like they were renovated but not the entire room received the much needed refresh, which was bizarre. I'm a stickler about clean hotels so I was really uncomfortable during my entire stay but I'm sure some people will be fine. I wish I was in the mood to take pictures when I was at the place, but unfortunately I don't have any.

All things aside, it's in a really convenient location, great night life, bars around the corner. However, my expat and local friends tell me that's not where they would hang out. The area is known for a crowd that's more on the sleazier side.

Room Tip: Find one that doesn't smell like vomit, and bring your own black light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staffs there are unfriendly not helpful as they should be. They won't be able to serve or give any hands at all. I stayed there 3 nights 4days, I didn't get any greetings from anyone. They work like robots not by service mind but the location is convenient to go around not far from the tube & accessible.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros:
A great hotel in a great area for shopping and night life,
the place is very nice and clean also amazing friendly stuff,
its just 5 minutes away from the Wan Chai MTR (Metro station) and very easy to access everywhere.

Cons:
A real slow internet I wish this can be fixed as it was the only bad experience I had :)
Also if they can offer shuttle from\to hotel this will be great as Taxi was a bit expensive.

Room Tip: Choose high floor room to avoid some noise might come from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Berkshire
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Its a busy hotel that seems favoured by Chinese. The staff didn't seem that friendly. The executive lounge is poorly supplied with a few soft drinks on offer and the nibbles and food is a poor effort. You have to ask them for the wine and beer. The breakfast area was arrange badly and you had to keep going round people to get anything. The selection was sufficient but nothing special. I didn't get a feel for this place and the staff were not very engaging. Theres a free shuttle service to and from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 2 nights in December 2014. Rooms are very cosy. One of the most comfortable beds I ever slept on. Location is extremely convenient. Choose a high floor or floor away from Hennessy road as there is some noise spill from the traffic. I've stayed here before but they seem to have done extensive renovation. Also due to the student protests they've temporarily stopped the free Airport Express shuttle that used to serve Wanchai. Options now are taxi or MTR from Hong Kong station. Free wifi in the rooms. The one annoyance is the keycard security system in the lifts. Sometimes it works first time and sometimes it takes four or five goes for it to recognise your card.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Hennessy Road as there is a lot of heavy traffic and double decker buses that go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room decor was beige and so was our experience of this establishment. Everything from the bedding to the view of crowd-thronged streets to the standard breakfast offerings was average. Most staff tried to be helpful, but unfortunately the male check-in staff member was quite surly and seemed to have received his training at FawltyTowers ! A classic 3 star experience. Don't expect more and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go higher up to avoid excess noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Empire Hotel Wan Chai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel Wan Chai

Address: No.33 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Empire Hotel Wan Chai 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighteen-story Hotel located downtown, minutes from Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Empire Hotel Wan Chai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hong Kong
Hong Kong Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel Hong Kong
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Empire Hotel Wan Chai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.