We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decay ..decaying ..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Empire Hotel Wan Chai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Empire Hotel Wan Chai to your Saves list
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.33 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #221 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 519 Reviews
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Decay ..decaying ..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Have been staying in this hotel for over 15 years because of its proximity to HK Convention Centre .The demise of HK by the rise of China is perfectly reflected in this hotel every time I stay here ,and this was last time I would,in last couple of years .The China grioup tours has spelled doom for the guests from other areas to this hotel as the staff is happy servicing Chinese speaking no-complaining group tours guests .We checked at 11 and were told to come back at 2 p.m. despte request for early check in and being such loyal 15 year plus old staying guests .At 2 we were asked for reporting at 4 then 5 then 6 and finally had to create a ruckus caused by waiting for nearly 7 hours and were given double bed room instead of twin room requested ..on complaining were shifted to another room only to realise the in room safe not working .On complaining were told we will have to change room for this next day ...we decided we will change our hotel from next visit .

Room Tip: choose other hotels nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    235
    157
    57
    31
See reviews for
21
51
39
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at the Empire on a recent business trip to Hong Kong. It is in a very good location for both business and exploring the island.
The staff were all very helpful and attentive. The rooms were small and the glass bathrooms a little quirky but it was comfortable.
There were occasional influxes of Chinese tourists who flooded the foyer and took over all the seating areas.

Room Tip: Take a high room for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at the Empire Hotel during a business trip. The Hotel is ideal to stay overnight but not to enjoy the services. The Breakfast is quite limited and very small business corner.
The rooms are neat, but rather small for the standard ones.
However, its central location in Wanchai is perfect to explore the Island. I would recommend it for short stay and when you don't come there to get spiled by Hotel services, but to enjoy the area and the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here while attending a conference recently and found it conveniently located, if you are prepared to overlook the occasional local lady of the night or Western drunk. There were a few sports bars and pubs where Westerners (mainly men) frequented, and so I wouldn't really recommend it for families based on its location - try the Causeway Bay version of the Empire a few kms up the road. But for open-minded adults it was fine, with good room service and complementary, good quality buffet breakfast.
But what gives with the bathroom door? They need to replace the inward opening doors with sliders, as it made manoeuvring in the small bathroom impossible.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

great location and nice hotel which great staff. stayed there a few times so would recommend. very close to MTR and fairy service. the rooms are small and the bathroom very small but not uncommon in HK but was good value found the staff ok. close to main shopping area on hon kong island

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We chose this hotel for its location having previously stayed in Kowloon on our way to mainland China. Near the MTR station and the Express Airport Bus and Mainland China stop even closer. As other have said its a nice hotel with small rooms but pretty much standard size for HK, could do with a makeover, particulary the bathrooms. Shops, Restaurants and nightlife all on your doorstep and the good old Tram service rattles up and down the street nearby to take you to either end of Hong Kong Island.
We had a couple of little hiccup's, we returned to our room in the late afternoon one day to find our security swipe card ouldn't open the door, we pushed the door and found it was open and looks like it had been open all day after cleaning. We had a laptop inside so were a bit concerned, they first sent tha housemaid, then the maintanence man who tried recycled lock after lock to no avail until the reception guy came up and managed to fix.
The other issue was our checkin, we arrived before 2pm to a very full lobby of Chinese tourists, they all seemed to get their rooms without a problem, the girl told use our room wasn't ready and we need to wait as the machine cannot do the key until after 2pm. Despite watched two Chinese couples standing next to us have their keys issued without a problem. My wife is Chinese so protested and the guy who just served them issued ours, incidentally the same guy who later fixed our door.
Buffet breakfast in the basement was OK, not a great selection and no egg station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Located very near to the MTR and within walking distant. Many bars, massage parlours and eateries nearby. The room that I stayed was very big and high floor. Very clean but the aircon was not cold enough and I could hardly sleep every night! The staff did not seem very approachable too. There were many china tourists during my stay and it added on to my frustration due to the level of their noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Empire Hotel Wan Chai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel Wan Chai

Address: No.33 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Empire Hotel Wan Chai 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighteen-story Hotel located downtown, minutes from Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Empire Hotel Wan Chai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hong Kong
Hong Kong Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel Hong Kong
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Empire Hotel Wan Chai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.